Audi 90 Reviews from UK and Ireland - Page 2 of 3

1992 Audi 90 2.3 sport 20v

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 20v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

What can you say? Simply the best!!

Faults:

Rear calipers changed at purchase, also replacing timing belt and water pump. Due to m.o.t failure also had to change brake master cylinder.

Apart from above failures no problems.

General Comments:

I have never driven a car that pulls like a freight train, now I have.

Handles like a roller skate, even better on Toyo tyres.

Only paid £350 for the car, what a bargain.

After minor engine modifications, car at rolling road putting out 227bhp @ 6100rpm.

I would sell my mother before selling this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2005

1991 Audi 90 e 2.3 petrol

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 petrol Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 600

Summary:

A classy old car for peanuts

Faults:

Nothing major. Have changed the oil and the front brake pads and put 2 new tyre's on the front.

General Comments:

This is a ace car for the money! much better value for money than newer cars.

Have had it 6 months and hasn't missed a beat has a lovely 5 cylinder 2.3 engine which is quiet and smooth and quite rapid when you require it to be.

Bodywork has no rust after nearly 14 years and only a minor scuff where a trolley hit it in tesco's.

My only gripe is that it doesn't have a sunroof, but it has most other mod cons you get in newer cars.

Servicing and parts are reasonably priced, but avoid main dealers of you can.

A highly recommended car if you can find one, i travelled 80 miles to find this, and a bargain at £725.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2004

10th Jul 2004, 18:33

Agree with every word, they are a bargain at that sort of price - especially a well looked after one.

I paid £500 for 1990 2.3 E. I'm loving every minute of driving it also.

2nd May 2006, 11:20

Just arrived home with my newly acquired Audi 90 2.3 E (H plate).

Absolute bargain at £380 (The seller thought it was an Audi 80)

Previously had a BMW 316i of similar age. The difference in quality is remarkable.

25th Jun 2006, 21:15

I had to look long and hard to find mine. £600 but worth it though - 88 audi 90, one owner and 61k on the clock. I love em.

14th Oct 2006, 13:19

I agree with everybody, these are underated cars. I have had Audis for years. I have a 2.2 Audi 90 1989 with 63000 miles, one owner from new, black with 17inch alloys, a very nice motor.

18th Nov 2006, 11:11

I have just bought a 2.3 20v quattro sport, for £200 drove it home fine no problem, getting lowered next week, already has custom inlet and tubular manifold soon to have stainless. Cheap for parts etc only thing I reckon will be a bit expensive is fuel.

22nd Nov 2006, 15:05

I'm the original reviewer on this thread and the old 90 still refuses to die! its just flew through an mot first time of asking at 16 years old and has NEVER let me down thus far. £725 for 3 years reliable motoring who can grumble at that? I will never buy a new car ever. And the best part of all (bar the sweet 5 cylinder lump) is I've sufferered zilch depreciation!

5th Aug 2010, 20:21

I've got a J-reg 90e 5 cylinder. I paid £500. It belonged to an elderly gent who looked after it, and it was not far short of showroom condition; what a find!!! I used to have a 1.8 A4, a T reg, and it wasn't half as good as the 90e.

1990 Audi 90 E 2.3

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Luxury, performance, reliability and looks in one affordable package!

Faults:

So far nothing has gone wrong with the car. Hopefully it will stay that way since it has been well looked after and not neglected.

General Comments:

This car is awesome, it's a very smooth drive and the 5 cylinder engine makes a unique and very pleasant sound.

Passed an MOT with no failures at all, not bad for a 14 year old car in my opinion.

Everything under the bonnet is clean and tidy.

Fuel wise I expected it to be expensive, but it surprised me, I'm managing 30 miles per gallon - which for a 2.3 is nice.

If you can get hold of one of these cars - don't let it go, its luxury at a decent price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2004

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 13 reviews