2006 Audi A8 Quattro Sport turbo diesel

Summary:

Wonderful to drive, and the best way to get top luxury motoring at minimum cost

Faults:

Nothing - just routine brake discs and pads.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have ever driven, and I have driven a lot. I bought it for £7000, so depreciation is tiny now, which offsets higher fuel costs (my previous car was a Toyota Prius). However, fuel consumption is not bad. It does 40 miles per gallon on a long run and the Prius only did 50 (despite what Toyota say). If you buy the right car at this age, it can still be very reliable, and this car gives very cheap luxury motoring.

I chose to refurbish the wheels when I got it, as the alloys were tarnished and I spent a bit on a few minor body blemishes. I have a full service history, and the car has never needed anything serious over its life. It actually drives better than some newer cars.

I particularly like the power, 4 wheel drive, electric heated sports seats, and the easy of using the telephone, CDs and sat nav.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2015

2nd Jan 2015, 08:52

I agree with this approach to buying a car. I bought a luxury coupe for 10% of its original price, and now that fuel costs have come down, it's not costing a fortune for me to run.

2nd Jan 2015, 12:53

I followed this approach with on an old Honda Accord with top spec (OK I know, not a real luxury car). I followed these rules:

- Look for a full service history.

- Choose a good brand of car.

- Look for a car with good brand tyres. If the previous owner neglected tyres, then what else was neglected?

- Not too many owners.

- How long did the last owner keep the car? If the previous owner kept it for less than two years, then why did they get rid of it?

- Keep some cash spare for consumables (tires, brakes + unforeseen costs e.g. I needed a minor electrical repair).

- Buy with your head, not your heart. There is never one perfect car, but loads to choose from.

It worked OK, I got a good car at 10% of the original price for 25K+ miles. Only problem, a minor car crash meant the insurance company just wrote it off before they looked at it.

3rd Jan 2015, 12:30

Absolutely, I bought a £70k Mercedes 1 owner car for 10% of that figure and it's really indistinguishable from new.

2004 Audi A8 4.2

Summary:

A fantastic bit of kit

Faults:

Needed a new coolant temperature sensor.

General Comments:

Beautifully built luxury exec car that allows you to cross huge distances in total comfort. For me, it is practically a mobile office.

The keyless entry and finger print recognition are a particularly nice function.

The steering is solid and direct, but does not have the feel of a BMW. It is worth playing around with the tyre pressures, particularly on the fronts as that improves handling no end. The paddle-shift also make it good fun on an A road.

Petrol consumption is high. I'm averaging 21.4 at the moment. I can get about 26 on a motorway run, but that is the absolute best I've had. I'm thinking of LPGing it to make it more affordable.

The build quality is great, and the MMI system works well, as does the SATNAV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2010

2002 Audi A8 Quattro Sport 2.8 V6 30V

Summary:

Can be expensive to repair... but what a great luxury car! Solidly engineered and good looking

Faults:

Squealing from the front brakes; new discs and pads fitted at no cost to me.

Front off-side brake caliper seals perished; replaced.

Rear near-side brake caliper seals perished; replaced.

Water ingress in front foot-wells; this was caused by blocked plenum tubes in the front bulkhead; fixed by removal of the tubes.

Rear exhaust mount failed; required new rubber mount.

Battery replaced at huge cost by Audi; 3rd battery in this car. Previous battery was installed by Kwik-Fit and was the incorrect rating.

Knocking noise up through the steering column; investigated by Audi but problem was never traced. Most annoying!

General Comments:

Having previously owned an Audi A6 2.8 SE, I decided to go for the more luxurious A8; I had always loved the shape and look of this car.

It turned out to be one of the best cars I had owned; it had everything I wanted in a car; the cabin was comfortable and airy, well equipped, excellent Bose sound system, quality leather, front / rear parking sensors, SATNAV, Ronal alloys which gave the car a lovely look, etc.

It wasn't an out and out performance machine; in fact, the 2.8 struggled from standing start but once it was rolling, it was quiet, smooth and efficient. It was quite economical as well. And the four-wheel drive set up with the sport suspension, and excellent Tiptronic 'box, gave it a reassuring ride on wet roads and in heavy rain.

I now have a Lexus GS which I'm still getting to know, so for now, I would say the Audi is up there with previous cars that I've owned (BMW 540, BMW 535 Sport and Audi A6 2.8SE).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2009

26th Feb 2009, 09:51

A 2.8? I thought that all Audi A8s had a 4.2 V8.

15th Mar 2009, 16:38

Sounds like a lot of issues for a car. Are you sure it was the best car you ever owned? I need to mark the others you have owned off my "desirables" list... My 02 Maxima has had almost no issues, 1 O2 sensor, 1 wheel bearing, other than that just tires, brakes, gas. That's it... has well over 100,000 miles now.

2nd Oct 2009, 16:36

The Audi A8 (up to 2002) was made with a 2.8 V6, 3.7 V8 and 4.2 V8, all petrol for the UK. Only later, did Audi add diesel to the line up...

3rd Oct 2009, 06:54

The A8 had around 127K miles on it when I eventually parted company with it. The Japanese certainly have the reliability aspect of to a tee, however, the Germans used to build better driver's cars than the Japanese. Having said that, I drive nothing but Japanese now (2005 Lexus GS300 and a 2009 Mazda 6 TS2 TD)...