Daihatsu Fourtrak Reviews from UK and Ireland

1999 Daihatsu Fourtrak TDX 2.8 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Previous carDaihatsu Fourtrak

Faults:

A bit of trouble starting on mornings, but a new set of glow plugs sorted this out; only cost £25 for set of 4.

Sometimes hard to get 2nd gear, especially when cold - sorted this out by tightening a nut at back of gearbox. This also happened to my previous Fourtrak; it's quite a straight forward job. Plenty of good Daihatsu Club sites on the Internet, which explain how to do this.

Overheating when towing up hills - also sorted this out with modifying the viscous fan, it was slipping - quite a common problem.

General Comments:

The Daihatsu Fourtrak is a good, well put together vehicle, which isn't the most luxurious 4x4, but it's comfortable enough and more economical than many other 4x4 vehicles. I use mine mainly for towing my caravan on holidays, and find it does the job very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2008

1998 Daihatsu Fourtrak 2.8 turbo intercooled

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.8 turbo intercooled Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired133000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carKia Sportage

Summary:

Great 4x4

Faults:

Nothing, All I had to do was replace two rear tyres and it sailed through the MOT.

Power steering belt squealing; needs tightening.

General Comments:

Japanese Land Rover, I only bought it for shooting and the dogs; it does both admirably.

Starts easily if you use glowplugs.

Not uncomfortable for 50 mile+ journeys, good vision and easy to drive.

Have not been stuck in the mud yet, do not believe that I will. Manual free wheeling hubs are a little bit of a nuisance, but you soon get used to them, push button FWD is great though.

Wonderfully strong engine, loads of power even after 133000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2008

2005 Daihatsu Fourtrak TDL SE 2.8 turbo diesel

Model year1998
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired68500 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Great, tough 4x4 that does what it says on the tin!

Faults:

Only had the car a couple of weeks, but so far its better than expected.

I have done a full service myself and due to poor starting had to fit a new set of glow-plugs, which cured the problem.

The car has a few marks on the body and drivers seat has a 2" rip.

The gearbox is a bit agricultural, and needs a steady hand for silent changes, but runs well.

Bit noisy over 55mph.

General Comments:

Steady driving (town & longer runs) give 33mpg.

Ride is a bit choppy, but not too bad.

Pulls well and steering's light.

Excellent all round visibility and lights are quite good for night driving.

Servicing parts are quite cheap, via internet, specialist Japanese 4x4 sites.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th December, 2005

1993 Daihatsu Fourtrak GX 2.2 petrol

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carNissan Patrol

Summary:

A superb small family orientated 4x4

Faults:

Slight scraping sound from rear axle/ brake when taking left turns or pulling away from a standstill.

General Comments:

This is my 8th 4x4 and is the best I have owned, I really wanted the 2.8 TD model, but settled for the rare 2.2 petrol as it was in superb condition having only had 1 lady owner since new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2004

1988 Daihatsu Fourtrak EL Turbo 2.8 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Superb all-rounder, no complaints

Faults:

Engine replacement at 110,000 miles after dreadful weather and not enough anti-freeze (my fault).

Overheating when traveling for long periods above 70mph. Replacement radiator improved situation, but still overheating on occasions.

General Comments:

Load carrying and passenger space superb.

Driver comfort and visibility excellent.

Good ride quality on the road, very good ride quality off road.

After 14 years I really want a new one just the same.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2004

1998 Daihatsu Fourtrak TDX 1.8 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carDaihatsu Sportrak

Summary:

The best for serious, no frills off roading

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

The Fourtrak Rocky is the best 4x4 we can find.

There have been no problems with it whatsoever, even after missing services.

It can easily put a Land rover Defender in its place, or see off one or two other specialized 4x4's.

It's a shame they where discontinued in 2002 as I would buy another one.

Tows like nothing else I know of, and does not give up easily when under serious pressure.

Excellent for 300000 mile guarantee, and a massive 2.8 liter engine gives it raw power under the bonnet.

It's a unique and powerful car - no other like it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2004

25th Nov 2004, 14:03

I disagree, I have had my fourtrack for under a year. Admittedly it was second hand, but at 40,000, I expected a workhorse that would last. It has depreciated by over £4000 in the last twelve months. To top it all, the clutch was slipping at 40,000 miles - £600

The Gear box needed a rebuild at 45,000. - £1400.

MMMM - wish I'd never set eyes on it, any of you fans out there want to buy it? Very much for sale.

Next time I'll buy a Mitsubishi, maybe it will manage a reasonable mileage?

28th Feb 2006, 11:27

Fourtrak 2.8 is the best,I've had just about every other 4-4.

21st Jun 2006, 07:18

Just bought a T reg Foutrak having ditched the Mitsubishi L200 - a nightmare of a vehicle- horrendous road handling. A boat. A pig of a truck. Welcome lovely Fourtrak xxx.

15th Feb 2007, 04:20

I recently bought a four trak, T reg, at first I was a little put off by its 'box like' outline, but when you look inside, they are spacious, neat, modern, perfect for children as mine is a 7 seater. Now I love my four trak, it is the best car I have ever owned... drive like a dream, at last driving is a pleasure once again... And for all of you who say they go wrong, I cannot support this either, as I have known the owner from new and there has never been any problems with it, so you must be cursed! :S.

11th Nov 2012, 04:05

I think you were had. It's very unlikely you needed a gearbox rebuild. A very common problem with these is gearbox problems. Almost always sorted by tightening 1 bolt, which works loose.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 11 reviews