Ferrari 348 Reviews from UK and Ireland - Page 2 of 2

1992 Ferrari 348 ts 3.4 V8

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 V8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carPorsche 944

Summary:

Pop star car

Faults:

Engine overheated.

Center console gets sticky with age.

General Comments:

Since buying the car in February, it seriously has not disappointed me. It is everything you imagine driving a Ferrari to be, and more.

OK, it is not as well built as a Porsche (Previous car) and just shutting the door tells you that. In fact, its embaracingly tinny, and sometimes passengers shutting the passenger door point this out!

But on road its like a go-Kart on rails and is frighteningly quick. Very bumpy and not particularly comfortable, but if you want comfort, you don't buy a Ferrari.

Everyone looks at it driving down the street, and people point.. (which is weird) but cool.

At the end of the day it's a only car. As long as you don't drive it everyday, and don't put too many miles on it, it's definitely more affordable to run than you think.

My Porsche 944 S2 (cab) often cost me £800 for a service, and apart from the cam belt service on the Ferrari (approx £1300) its not much more expensive.

If your um ming and areing about going for one, just do it. But take your time, a scruffy one won't have been looked after and there are plenty of good clean examples around, and you'll know a good one when you see one.

Wicked car, Boxter/348...? 348 please mate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2003

26th Jun 2004, 10:13

Steven,

I am considering buying a late 80's or early 90's Ferrari. I have the money, but need to build up my courage. Your comments help me make a decision. I've been on the Ferrari bandwagon ever since thay took control of winning at Formula One again. I have seen a lot of good used ones out there and I'm sure i'll find one soon.

1994 Ferrari 348 Spyder 3.4 V8

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 V8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance13900 miles
Previous carFerrari 308

Summary:

The highest grin factor

Faults:

Just picked it up, so not to sure how reliable she's going to be (can't be worse than the 308. But already making a list for the dealer of electrical faults. Headlights won't come up and speedometer stops working every now and then. Also central locking unlocks the car as you walk away, also the roof is a two man job to get down but then it should be down all the time, but who cares it gives you the biggest grin as she goes on song from 5000 to 7000 rpm.

General Comments:

I love it, had a sports exhaust fitted and the sound is out of this world, she is easy to drive not like my old 308QV which really did need hard work to drive and broke down every other week. I really wanted a 355 but couldn't quite stretch the funds to it, but now I am so glad I bought the 348 love it to bits recommend if you have the spare cash go buy one, you won't regret it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2003

24th Jun 2007, 07:19

I've not had any of the problems you've listed with mine. I've owned it 2 years now.

Roof is easy when you get the hang of it. Takes 30 seconds to get down and 45 seconds to get up - one man job. At first I had problems when I did not have the technique though, so that might be your problem too.

Sounds like your car may not have been looked after by the previous owner. Get the electrics sorted, and the roof mechanism greased :)

I've had no real problems at all with mine.

1993 Ferrari 348 TS 3.4 V8

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 V8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Goes fast, looks Great, costs very little

Faults:

Nothing since purchase (Car had a major £3000 service just prior to service)

General Comments:

I have always wanted a Ferrari, initially I was looking for a 308, but I discovered that I could get the 348 for a few grand more.

If you can afford to own one of these cars then get one.

You look great, feel great and they go so very fast.

Plus it makes all the BMW drivers envious, they all wanted a Ferrari, but didn't have the balls to go and get one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2003

23rd Jul 2005, 08:39

I have in fact owned an M3 snd a Ferrari 348 TS. The M3 is not a patch on the 348!!

Lets face it - any car that has seats in the back has a design based on passengers and shopping! Not matter what the engine etc - the chassis???

A 2 seater clearly is not a family car and with a rear engine it will outperform a family chassis for traction - I know, I've owned both...

I'm not slagging the M3 as it was a wicked piece of machinery, but I traded it against a 348 for obvious reasons.

For starters parked along side each other there is just no comparrison -

Performance wise my cousins M3 could keep up with my 348 until about 145mph - Then the aerodynamics came into themselves as well as the book speed of 186mph leaving him falling behind.

Nowadays everyone has an M3 - even the unemployed in some cases. No matter what other car is on the road owning a Ferrari is the ultimate.

Comparing an M3 should even be a conversation.

Get yourself a decent Ferrari and it will all sink in.

Whilst owning a company vehicle at the moment I await the day of the next Ferrari in my life and not another BM.

Safe & Happy motoring to all!

1990 Ferrari 348 TS 3.4 VB

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 VB Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1037 miles
Most recent distance15400 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

This car is my mechanical soul.

Faults:

Heater hoses fitted round wrong way on heating matrix which resulted in the heating system not working above 40 mph.

This was a factory build fault.

Replaced central instrument panel after 3000 miles. Corrosion on terminals.

Brake light switch failure.Replaced.

Replaced brake discs and pads at 14000 miles.

Timing belt pulleys replaced at 14000 miles.

General Comments:

Great road holding. Goes round corners as if on rails.

Great acceleration, especially from 80mph upwards !

Must be one of the most beautiful cars to look at. I can stand for ages just looking and admiring my car thinking how lucky I am to own such a machine.

It's a head turner everywhere you go. Wonderful!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2003

1990 Ferrari 348 TS 2.5

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carLamborghini Diablo

Summary:

Cheap, fast and good looking!

Faults:

Leather on the seats wears badly.

General Comments:

The car is very fast and lots of people wave as you go by at 120mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2003

30th Jan 2003, 20:25

How much does it cost? (the car)!!!

12th Feb 2003, 06:43

Come on what is your REAL car? 2.5 liter engine in a 348? What did you do downgrade? Get your facts straight first THEN fantasize about owning a Ferrari.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 7 reviews