2006 Ford Fusion Plus TDCi 1.4 turbo diesel

Summary:

Reliability and super economical

Faults:

Mirror cowling came off.

General Comments:

A bit dubious about buying a Fusion, but I am really impressed with performance and ride. The car is very economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2009

16th Oct 2009, 07:56

This review really bothers me as I wished to god Ford North America would bring a Turbo Diesel powered car here. I hate having to rely on VW for commuter transportation.

29th Dec 2009, 09:23

I think the only similarity between the American Fusion and the European version is the name and 4 wheels.

2004 Ford Fusion TDCI 1.4 turbo diesel

Summary:

Reliable, safe, and good to go when you are

Faults:

The wipers keep tearing, as the windscreen is so large, the bugs keep hitting off the window and dragging through the glass.

Other than that, it is one of the best and economical cars I've had.

General Comments:

Very quick on the pick up, and nippy around town for those tight spaces.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2008

11th Apr 2012, 09:03

Hello all. I am thinking of buying a 2003/4 1.4 TDCi Fusion, and would like to know if anyone has had an older car such as this for at least 5 years? Is the car OK on all aspects; servicing, fuel, comfort etc? What are the problems that have arisen over the period, and was the cost high or low?

Many thanks, Peter.

2003 Ford Fusion 2 1.6 16v

Summary:

Excellent and very reliable

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong as of yet.

General Comments:

I was a bit wary of buying a Ford, as the last one I had was an XR2, and it very noisy and poorly put together, but with a disabled wife I chose what I thought I needed, and boy was I impressed.

The Ford Fusion 1.6 16v is quick, heavy to drive with great steering, and best of all, has seats that are easy to get in and out of.

The air conditioning is the first I have had, and does the job superbly, and what with CD player, electric windows, and heated front and back screen, I am nothing but impressed, and would recommend this car to anyone.

Just another point that I found useful - Ford sales team were helpful in every way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2007

2004 Ford Fusion 2 City 1.4

Summary:

A promising car that could have been better

General Comments:

Nice car to drive, mainly due to the driving position. More suited for females.

As the boot has no lip, shopping has a risk of falling out once the boot is opened after transit.

Fortunately the Ford Fusion 2 1.4 City I have has parking sensors, otherwise parking could be awkward due to the small rear window.

Also let down by whiney power steering and a noisy engine.

It's also quite thirsty for a 1.4 engine.

Has a basic, unattractive and plasticy dashboard. Ford could have spent a little more time on some basic design issues, and would have come up with a cracking little MPV. As it is, the Fusion is let down by a number of minor points and bland looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th July, 2006

22nd Aug 2008, 20:01

The dash is cheap on these cars, and also the coil which is made by Bosch gives some trouble. I had to replace mine at 25000 miles and I am told that the coils will continue to give trouble. Otherwise a good car with no real problems.

2003 Ford Fusion 1 1.4 Tdci

Summary:

Poor

Faults:

Poor fuel consumption.

Flat spots on acceleration at 1300 and 3000 RPM, engine would die on move off.

New engine management system computer.

Clutch replaced.

New rear wheel bearing.

New steering wheel, cover wearing.

Headlights replaced, beam adjusters would not work.

Blown Turbo.

Fuel leak from from hand primer in engine compartment.

Power assisted steering belt tensioner replaced, knocking.

Flywheel and clutch replaced.

Noisy rear dampers.

Electronic accelerator control failure.

New accelerator fitted.

New battery fitted.

New fuel rail fitted.

General Comments:

A good vehicle spoiled by unreliable components.

I think thirty five visits to the dealer in twenty two months is a poor reflection on the quality of this particular vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st June, 2005

2003 Ford Fusion 2 1.4 16v

Summary:

A good car, but bland to drive

Faults:

Performance and fuel economy are erratic (no fault found by dealer).

General Comments:

The quality of materials used for the interior is fairly poor. The upholstery and carpet is difficult to keep clean.

Handling is very good, steering very responsive with an excellent turning circle which, along with superb all round visibility, makes parking very easy.

Extremely spacious inside considering it's based on a Fiesta.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th January, 2005

6th Feb 2007, 14:24

Jan 2004 Ford Fusion 2,not a days trouble in the 2 years 3 months I have owned it, then 1 day after the manufacturers warranty ran out my a switch in the durashift gearbox packed up leaving me with a £900.00 bill from Fords. getting it fixed and getting rid!

2003 Ford Fusion 2 16v petrol

Summary:

Not at all as good as hoped for

Faults:

Needed a new clutch.

Needed a new exhaust.

Have trouble starting the engine.

General Comments:

The seats are very comfortable.

Easy access to seats, ideal for disabled passengers.

Fuel consumption is extremely poor, average of 21 mpg rural and 40 mpg motorway driving.

The dials and clocks on the dashboard is clearly visible.

Road holding is not too good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th December, 2004