2005 Nissan X-Trail Reviews from UK and Ireland

2005 Nissan X-Trail SVE 2.2 DCi turbo diesel

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 2.2 DCi turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance75600 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 25

Summary:

Absolute rubbish

Faults:

Replacement intercooler in the 1st year.

Turbo boost sensors replaced in the 1st year.

Replacement alarm modules in the 2nd year.

Plastic on sat nav screen crazed in the 2nd year.

Fuel filters freeze up in cold weather due to the area of fitment in the engine bay.

Front wheel bearings wear prematurely.

Engine threw a piston under light load driving at 75k; total write off. The vehicle was sent for scrap as Nissan UK wanted nothing to do with it.

General Comments:

Comfortable to drive, reasonably thought out vehicle with lots of cubby holes to tuck stuff away in.

Non towing vehicle, but put to good use shipping equipment in the spacious boot area.

Unfortunately let down by the poor quality of Nissan build, culminating in a complete engine failure at low speed (35mph) and outrageous prices for replacement engine units (£6k).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th April, 2013

5th Nov 2013, 11:17

Sorry to see the list of problems you had with your X-Trail. Mine is 2004 and I have had it since late 2005, and never had a problem since 2006 when it scrubbed off the front tyres. This must have been due to mishandling by the previous owner, as I got the wheels aligned and still have the 2007 replacement tyres. My car has done great service with a lot of towing and many drivers; it feels as good as new and cruises at 140k regularly.

I am recently getting a smell of diesel inside, and have a small coolant leak, but I will fix these and motor on happily.

14th Mar 2014, 15:16

Smell of diesel inside on these models is usually due to the fuel filter housing metal becoming porous and leaking fuel. As the filter body is sited next to the air intake for the heating system, you will smell the diesel as it leaks. When the leak gets too bad, you will get air locks in the fuel system and trouble starting.

2005 Nissan X-Trail DCi 2.2 turbo diesel

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres
Previous carAudi A6

Summary:

Shame about the troublesome engine

Faults:

Oil leak from under the intercooler, perhaps coming from a faulty turbo, though some of the comments about this suggest that the intercooler is at fault.

Oil leaks onto the manifold, and creates a nasty smell when the car is stopped.

Accelerating slightly harder than normal causes the car to go into limp mode. This can only be fixed by stopping the engine for a few seconds and re-starting it.

General Comments:

It's a shame about the problems with the diesel version, as it is quite a nice car in most other ways.

Nissan service is appalling, I have never managed to get anything fixed the first or second time. It take many visits and lots of money to get sorted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd February, 2010

2005 Nissan X-Trail Fat Face 2.2

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Most recent distance51000 miles

Faults:

Driving at 70 mph in 6th gear on A1 in fast lane; suddenly no response from the accelerator. Managed to roll to safety. Car had to be taken to Nissan garage on the back of a breakdown lorry. Turned out that the clutch plate had seared off.

Nissan said that the cost would be £877! To make it worse they said they had never had to replace a clutch before on a X trail, and that it must be due to the way I drove the car!

No lead up to this, no warning lights.

Luckily the warranty has agreed to foot the bill.

Thank you Nissan...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th April, 2008

2005 Nissan X-Trail SVE 2.2 turbo diesel

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carNissan X-Trail

Summary:

Good car let down by turbo reliability problems

Faults:

The first turbo on my X-Trail developed the "whistle" in November 2006 when the car had done around 30,000 miles, and was replaced under warranty in December 2006.

Last week, the car started to lose power and pump out black smoke; I limped to my local Nissan dealer and have been told that the replacement turbo has now blown too!

An associate at work has had exactly the same problem with the turbo on his car going, and there is clearly a problem either with the design or quality of manufacture of these units.

I will hopefully have my turbo replaced under warranty (the car is only 3 years old in March 2008), but this is clearly unacceptable and Nissan should be protecting its reputation for quality, reliability and customer service by replacing failing units swiftly and without demur.

General Comments:

Good car otherwise, with good pulling power for horse boxes and the like, and nippy acceleration when called for (and when the turbo is working)!

I was about to purchase another, but the turbo failures are disturbing from a manufacturer that prides itself on reliability, and I am having second thoughts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2008

6th Mar 2008, 14:46

Not only the X trail, but the Primera 2.2 suffers the same fate.

I'm on my 3rd turbo, the longest having lasted 16000 miles.

15th Jun 2009, 13:54

My Nissan X-Trail turbo failed last year. Had it replaced. Now the intercooler has failed. Have been told it will cost about £300 to have it replaced. It sounds like a common fault. It's about time Nissan did a recall on the turbo system.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 8 reviews