2005 Nissan X-Trail DCI Sport 2.2 turbo diesel

Summary:

Great looker, spoiled by poor quality

Faults:

Inter cooler 11,000 miles

Turbo 24,000 miles

Turbo 29,000 miles

Drivers seat was worn when I bought the car at 8 months.

General Comments:

My 2.2 diesel X-Trail is nearly two years old and has 30,000 miles on the clock. I have owned it for the past 15 months and travelled 19,000 miles with it. I do not know its history before I bought it, but since I have had it, it is on its second inter cooler and third turbo unit, all replaced under warranty.

When I contacted Nissan customer centre, they said they would consider fitting a replacement unit as a goodwill gesture after the warranty expired, but would not promise this.

I bought this car for my retirement and was going to run it for several years, but I am afraid that due to the poor quality of the above parts, I will not be able to afford to do this when the warranty runs out, so, it must go, which is a pity, as I like the look of the car and it is the perfect size and layout for my requirements.

One last point, when the second turbo was fitted the MPG went from 38 to 32, and did not recover when the third was fitted, the dealers explanation was that the new turbo was more efficient???? I would have thought a more efficient unit would give better fuel consumption.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th April, 2007

8th Nov 2007, 17:39

An update to my report above. My X-Trail is in getting its fourth new turbo at 36,000 miles. Warranty runs out in seven months, I wonder how many more it will go though before I sell it.

One more point, the dealer now tells me that Nissan have been sending refurbished turbos to fit, and this is the reason for the high fallout rate, it would seem you cannot trust anyone.

2005 Nissan X-Trail SVE 2.2 turbo diesel

Summary:

Love my X-Trail, but concerned about future turbo reliability

Faults:

Turbo has failed at 22500 miles.

Inter-cooler leaks oil.

General Comments:

Love the comfort and driving position.

The only vehicle I have owned that will negotiate my sloping driveway in the snow.

Concerned that the turbo and inter-cooler failures seem to be a well reported common fault. What happens after the warranty period has expired?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2006

1st Dec 2006, 15:34

I have exactly the same issue with my X-Trail. After 16,500 miles the turbo developed a whistle. Replaced.

Another 16K miles and the replacement develops the same fault. This is replaced.

I have terrible burning smell which the dealer has failed to prevent. Suspect this is the same intercooler leak - so will try getting a different dealer to look at this.

Apart from that love the car.

2005 Nissan X-Trail dCi SVE 2.2 turbo diesel

Summary:

It is not supported by a caring manufacturer

Faults:

Between the date of purchase of the car as new in May 2005 and 20th October 2006 I had not experienced any mechanical problems with the car.

On the 20th October whilst away on holiday the clutch failed whilst towing my caravan. I was brought home to my local dealer on a low loader.

The diagnosis was confirmed as a burnt out clutch.

A warranty claim was submitted to Nissan who after consideration rejected the claim, but agreed to make a good will payment of 50% of the repair costs.

This was their only and final offer.

General Comments:

Nissan warranty does not do what it professes to do!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th November, 2006

22nd Feb 2007, 00:06

I am wondering what the rated towing limit for your Xtrail is and how much does your caravan weigh? Did you tow that caravan with your Vauxhall? From my perspective, and I’m trying to be objective, if no one else has had the clutch problem and the dealer can see your trailer hitch on the back of your vehicle, they would think “abused” clutch. I don’t mean to point fingers, but I’m trying to make the point that Nissan, by paying for half, was, I thought, reasonable considering. They are accepting half of the responsibly, are you sure you are no way responsible too? Anyways, if you look at many of the complains on the Car Survey, most car manufactures, if there is any indication or suspicion of abuse, give zero. You got 50% and if you have no evidence or proof to show otherwise, well consider yourself lucky.

2005 Nissan X-Trail Elegance 2.2Dci

Summary:

A great buy

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

An excellent car for the price. I priced all the alternatives, and none matched the Nissan in terms of specification for the money (others looked at Toyota Rav4, Land rover Freelander, Hyundai SantaFe). The diesel takes about 7 l/100km (About 42mpg) which is pretty good, although mostly driven on the road, it has shown itself to be a decent off roader. The elegance model was worth the extra €3000 for the Leather Seats, 6 disc cd changer, Double Sunroof etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2006