2011 Skoda Superb TDI SE 4x4 2.0 turbo diesel CR170

Summary:

Good value and well made

Faults:

Nothing yet, it's my mother's car, she's only just bought it.

General Comments:

It's comfortable, efficient (45 MPG) and looks OK; the estate looks better though. Haven't had any snow to test the 4x4 system yet, but that may change!

Matthew Dawood Khaghani

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2016

17th Apr 2017, 06:31

The limiting factor in snow is not the 4wd system (which works very well) but the tyres. I found the factory-fitted low profile summer tyres are poor in snow. Changing to an all season tyre made a big difference in snow and on icy roads. Winter tyres would make an even bigger difference.

25th Apr 2017, 01:10

Thanks, there hasn't been any snow to test it on yet! It's just been serviced by VW, as I heard only bad things about Skoda dealers. They changed the cambelt, tensioner, rollers and water pump and changed the Haldex oil and engine oil/filter. Seem to be reasonable with their pricing too.

13th Jul 2017, 20:27

Plus, I'm not keen on the software update, it affects power and economy apparently! So keeping it away from Skoda.

2010 Skoda Superb Elegance 1.8 TSi

Summary:

Superb

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Early impression is this auto is amazing value for money.

Build quality is excellent.

Seats not quite as comfortable as a Mondeo GHIA X.

Floor covering quality could be improved.

Quiet (road surface permitting!)

The 1.8 TSi engine with DSG gearbox is better than a Mondeo 2.5 V6 Auto.

Overall MPG so far showing 33.7 (Mondeo V6 was 24.7).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2010

24th Oct 2013, 08:35

Now 3 years old. 10,000 miles. No faults encountered.

1st Feb 2016, 13:44

Sold! July 2015: Mileage 14000. Condition as new. 60% depreciation over 4.5 years.

No faults during ownership. A bit heavy on the tyres.

1st Feb 2016, 21:26

14 000 miles? It's hard to justify the need for a car for such a low yearly mileage.

Thanks for the updates, however the driven distance is way too short for giving an idea about the car's reliability to other users...

2006 Skoda Superb Elegance 2.0 TDi PD 140

Summary:

Superb - Enough Said!

Faults:

Only minor niggles it would seem...

1) Emission light came on for a few seconds one cold morning, not long enough to cause a fault to be registered on the cars main diagnostic computer though.

2) Sometimes the sat nav display vanishes from the multi function display between the speedo and rev counter.

3) Will tick over at 1000 rpm for a while, (instead of just under 900 approx, which is normal) This happens even when warm; registered this with the dealer, but no fault could be found.

4) Rear window trims (at the base of the window) don't seem to be fixed very well, easily pulled off - an issue resolved by gluing them back on.

General Comments:

Apart from the minor niggles, which to be honest in this modern age of mass manufacturing, is a fact of life. I am very pleased with the car. I wanted a black one first time round when I bought my 2004 registered Comfort model, so decided to upgrade to the Elegance in black.

Love the fact it came with leather, sat nav and xenon's as standard - above all the other kit that the Comfort has as standard. Very underrated car in my opinion.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2007

2002 Skoda Superb Comfort 2.5V6 diesel

Summary:

Lovely solid big cruiser

Faults:

N/A.

General Comments:

Just a little review.

I test drove a 2002 (42 month old) Skoda Superb Comfort 2.5 V6 Diesel manual.

Lovely car. Drives like it was brand new even after all those miles.

Handling was a little soft for me, it did tend to wallow a bit, but it is a big soft car and not intended to be anything else.

The engine was super smooth, but possibly not as quick as 165bhp sounds, but again the superb is a big heavy car.

The interior hadn't lasted very well and the door handles were very worn, the interior was tan and very dirty.

Skoda sales people were very helpful and not at all pushy.

Only the running costs put me off buying this car. Insurance would have been a big jump for me and the mpg would have been mid 30's I think. Not bad for the engine and car, but a bit too low for me when the performance wasn't that great from it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2006