1998 Acura 1.6 EL Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1998 Acura 1.6 EL 1.6 EL from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 EL Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 kilometres
Most recent distance118000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Responsive...Like a snake being charmed!!

Faults:

I haven't had any problems other than regularly required maintenance, I have yet to replace the timing belt. The only concern I have is the high idle due to the V-TECH engine which costs on gas.

General Comments:

I really enjoy the drive of this car, it's peppy and loves to race.

The car is very responsive and handles like a snake being charmed.

There is a lot of upgrade options for enthusiasts who like dressing them up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2003

16th Aug 2005, 16:46

I agree with most of what you said. I have had my 98 EL since 99. The person who had it before me treated it poorly-which sadly I only found out later. As for your idle speed being high. I only notice this when the choke is on in colder weather. Otherwise from May to Sept. it idles around 7-800rpms.

This car is quite underrated. It took me 170,000kms before changing my front pads and that was because I was worried, and they were still at half life. The rear shoes are still on there. They are original and I am guessing due to the F/R distribution of the car they have lasted so long. I now have over 200,000kms on this car and the only thing I need to do is find someone to repaint my hood from stone chips... ahh the blessed 401 highway.

1998 Acura 1.6 EL Premium 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 kilometres
Most recent distance37000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A luxury vehicle for an affordable price

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car for me or the last owner. After owning a Cavalier, I know car problem headaches.

There was a recall on the ignition switch in 2002 and the dealership replaced in no questions asked. It was the best service I'd ever had.

General Comments:

The cost of performance tires for this vehicle is too high. These are the same tires that are on a sports car like the Acura Integra. Wonderful for summer driving, but horrible in the winter. I just bought some BF Goodrich tires in the size that the Honda Civic has and my control is much better. I just could not afford to spend $800 on tires.

The interior of the car has the appearance of a luxury sedan.

My heated seats are the best thing ever invented at -25 degrees Celsius first thing in the morning.

The car rides very comfortably, but a tall person does not fit very well in car.

The car must be revved up very high to get any kind of performance out of it, but it is so smooth to ride in.

Resale value is very high.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2003

1998 Acura 1.6 EL Premium 1.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.7 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 kilometres
Most recent distance72000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Integra

Summary:

Fine practical transportation and worth the extra initial cost

Faults:

Nothing serious has gone wrong with this car.

The Michelin front tires were replaced due to vibrations.

Just had new front pads and rotors, a bit early for this I thought.

The hood release latch broke off at -20 degrees C.

Front plastic trim broke too easily when bumped in a parking lot.

General Comments:

Very reliable transportation. In the Canadian winter starts every day at 4:45am.

Needs to rev. to 5,000 or 6,000 to really show its potential, this increases fuel consumption. I get around 32 mpg or 8 litres per 100k.

The seat belt anchors between the seats are very difficult to engage.

Good snow tires are essential here, I have Toyos, they're really great.

ABS is noisy, but seldom called into use. For long trips a few hours at 130kph is no problem. It's a great little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2003

21st Jan 2011, 05:15

Yeah my hood release just snapped off at -20. I use pliers for now, I wonder how much the dealer will charge?

6th Mar 2013, 02:31

My hood release lever also broke off during a winter month, it is far too flimsy - I also use pliers.

1998 Acura 1.6 EL EL Premium 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres

Summary:

Good quality product, under-powered and noisy.

Faults:

At 20 000 KM- air conditioner had to be replaced. The dealership was fantastic. It was probably a leaf that got stuck in the fan, but the dealer decided to replace it before the warranty period ended.

At 25 000 seals on the windows had to be replaced-dealer said that this was a common problem with this car.

At 85 000 km-stitches for the leather seat were coming loose a little bit. Car was past warranty period however dealer was able to take out the seat and have it re-stitched.

At 125 000 km- manifold cracked.

- rear brake pads replaced (first time), front brake pads still in excellent condition.

At 140 000 km-seal for power steering is leaking a little bit. Dealership advise to keep an eye on things-no action taken yet.

General Comments:

Advantage of this Car.

-Controls are all easy to reach and very intuitive.-good layout.

-great on gas. Get about 540 km on a full tank-$26 to fill up @ 0.63/litre.

-line of site inside the car is very good. Easy to handle in traffic and when parking.

-fairly reliable. Very few mechanical problems so far.

DIS-LIKES

-very noisy inside the car especially at highway speed.

-HORRIBLE cup holders. Bad location, and can't hold ANY mugs, or tall cups.

-tire noise is very noisy.

-tire size is 195/55 (I believe) They're performance tires, but this is certainly not a performance vehicle. EXPENSIVE TO REPLACE TIRES.

-does not handle very well in the snow. Quite dangerous actually. I bought a set snow tires: Pilot Alpines and the handling is much much better.

-the car is severely under powered unless you rev it a little bit higher, but then the noise becomes even louder.

I installed an air intake system and this seems to help boost the power a little.

Car is ideal for two people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2002

17th Jan 2005, 17:45

I could not find anything in your review that I did not or will not go through. All in all, I think the noise level is seriously above normal for a car of this quality.

Regards,

A. MacDonald

Montreal.

22nd Apr 2006, 07:59

I Have not had hardly any problems with my car.

Have had it for 8 years and driven it through the harsh salty winters here in newfoundland. I have 155000 kms.

The only thing that I have to add is that I purchased 4 rims and 4 winter tires, after that the car was a beast in the snow, would compare it to my 4x4 diesel truck. Totally awesome in the snow. Knock on wood, no major probs. Glad I bought this car.

11th Jul 2006, 11:30

I have 234167 km on a 2000 EL, the car has been driven from BC to NB, excellent in snow and it still works like a top. Replaced front brakes, 2 sets of tires at that's it. Oil has been change every 5000 K.

26th Feb 2012, 18:20

Wow, 240,000 km! Was your EL an automatic or standard? I have an automatic that I just bought used with 150,000km, and everyone says the autos are a disaster. Now I'm holding my breath. Guess I better get some synthetic ATF in there and service it quickly...

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 14 reviews