2006 Acura 1.7 EL from North America

Summary:

Great - buy it

Faults:

Some problem with the door locks, when using the remote.

General Comments:

My family really likes this car. It is classy and cheap to operate/insure.

Quite happy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2012

2001 Acura 1.7 EL 1.7 from North America

Summary:

Don't buy it

Faults:

- Second transmission failed within 6 months, and third transmission gear slips now.

- Shock absorber broke a second time.

- Heating stopped working after being serviced at Midas.

General Comments:

I bought the car for 3800, and did more than $3000 worth of repairs on it within a year. It's a piece of crap. The 2000 and 2001, Acura and Civic both, because they have transmission problems. All the transmissions are faulty, and the cost to replace them is more than the value of the car.

I kept it well. Put in full synthetic oil. Installed brake pads and rotors, changed spark plugs etc etc. I took good care of it, but it's just waste of money. I think the previous owner sold it because every month something breaks in this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd August, 2012

2002 Acura 1.7 EL Limited 1.7L from North America

Summary:

405000 km's and runs great, what more could you ask for

Faults:

Window motor - seems like one a year breaks.

Air conditioning can be a pain.

General Comments:

Over 400000 km and runs like a dream. Most reliable car ever.

I can't think of a better car to own.

A bit noisy on the highway though.

Handles like a champ with a nice set of Toyo's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2011

2nd Nov 2012, 16:39

I have a 2001 EL. The car had not cost me a penny, until I started having transmission problem last year around 160,000.

Had a look at the recalls for this type of vehicle, but they were only applicable for the 2002 and 2003 EL. I was told by Mister Transmission that I could probably drive the car as is for a year before I decide to install a new transmission.

I think these type of problems need to be reported to Honda/Acura and the proper agency. When an issue is being recognized by the consumers as problematic, they should not go unnoticed and be ignored by the car companies.

2003 Acura 1.7 EL Premium 1.7 from North America

Summary:

The best car I think I will EVER own!

Faults:

Original clutch had to be replaced at 315,000 KM! Nothing else major. Be sure to change the timing belt every 100,000km's. Also don't cheap out, change the water pump while you are at it.

General Comments:

I purchased my used Acura EL 1.7 back in 2005 with 82,000km. I am very proud to say that I am still driving this vehicle today with 317,000 KMs! This is the best car that I think I will ever own. My Acura and I have travelled to Vegas, Arizona and even to Mexico. This car has never let me down or made me walk!

Good solid car made from a good solid manufacturer, and best of all, it's built right here in Canada in Alliston Ontario!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2010

10th Jan 2014, 20:08

"built right here in Canada in Alliston Ontario" Great to know! I thought they all came from Japan. ;p

2001 Acura 1.7 EL Touring 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Recommended since it's not dealer dependent, and you can use Civic parts, which are cheaper

Faults:

- Speedo $130 used part + warranty + $110 installed from dealer.

- Gas release not working; I know an easy fix for $20.

General Comments:

- Passed safety inspection. Nice, since I purchased the car for just $2500 CDN.

- Fuel economy is lacking a bit. When I first bought the car (November 2009) I was getting 26 MPG (50 city/ 50 highway) and not revving it past 3000 RPM and accelerating gradually. I often used cruise control on the highway.

- I then recently changed spark plugs (NGK PZFR6F-11).

- Cleaned out throttle with Honda carb. cleaner.

- Gave it a oil change (5W20 Honda oil + Honda filter).

- Changed the air cleaner (Honda part).

After this, I drove with the same behavior and got no better then 26.6 MPG. Which is about 450km until the fuel light comes on.

I've gone to fueleconomy.gov, and plenty of owners were averaging about 35 MPG. Other sites conquer.

I can understand if I was just driving in the city, but I do a lot of highway, and I haven't exceeded 110km/h.

The other day I just changed the tranny oil (Honda oil). I hear that will help a bit, since I noticed reduced stickiness when the gears were shifting (auto transmission). It's been about 130,000 km since the oil was last changed. I think I should have done a complete overall.

I just did an emission test using my OBDII reader, and everything checked out. I think I might do an official emissions test at a garage to investigate further.

Alignment is good, tires are good with air pressure checked regularly.

The idle is right on, with no significant fluctuations. I find that possibly the car could accelerate better. I find I have to push harder than normal on the pedal to give a good go.

When I changed the plugs, I noticed that the plug coils were burnt. With 236000km the plugs looked good (kind of whitish), but I think they weren't ever changed.

Since I've had cars I've been obsessed with MPG. I've been the owner of a 5 speed Vigor for 6 years until rust took its life. I often exceeded over 30 MPG on the highway, up to 33.5 at times, and apparently the rating is 26.5 MPG. (I like hypermileing!!!)

I don't want to spend too much money on this car, but I don't want to waste money on fuel and senselessly adding more pollutants to the air. If anyone knows of a specific problem with this car or multiple suggestions that would cause this, please let me know.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2010

26th Feb 2011, 20:22

Hi.

Thanks for your review, as I am looking for an EL within the price range and KM range you got yours. With regards to your fuel MPG. Is your compression for the cylinders still within specs? A worn cylinder maybe the issue. Just a thought.

26th Jul 2011, 21:08

I would check the O2 sensors. This can impact mileage dramatically.

21st Aug 2012, 20:03

My 2001 EL with 170 Kms just averaged over 45 (imperial) MPG on a run to Muskoka this August - 1 year old plugs and a new K and N filter plus proper tire pressure... that's it.

244.1 KMs and 14.838 liters used = 46.52 MPG.

Not bad.

24th Aug 2012, 01:29

O2... O2... O2... Yes... Yes... Yes!!!

At this many miles you need new O2 sensors. If they haven't been replaced yet... It can give a full 3-4 increase in MPG. Assuming they are getting old. In the last stages, they may not be bad enough to set off the check engine light... but can make a huge difference.

Check your air filter. And no... it isn't going to be "a worn cylinder". It will last you for years, don't worry. If plugs haven't been changed, do that too! I once had old plugs with a way-wide gap, and it can affect MPG a lot too. New plugs (use NGK) every 75,000 is all that is ever needed. Plugs every 30,000 miles are not needed. Plugs last a long time now that lead is no longer in gas.

It'll be simple, don't get talked into costly repairs. It's a good car, KISS... simple is best, it'll be fine.

11th Apr 2014, 10:50

Trying changing your primary O2 sensor, PCV valve, run a can of Sea Foam and then do an ECU relearn.

Make sure your cat converter is working fine too.