2000 Acura Integra Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2000 Acura Integra GS-R 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired600 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

This is a car you won't forget!

Faults:

CD player had to be replaced at around 50,000 miles, but extended warranty took care of this.

Rear brake rotors had to be replaced at only 40,000 miles, but manufacturer took care of the entire bill because it was unusual.

Acura leather is not the best in the world, although I hear they replaced it in 2001.

General Comments:

The car handles like a dream with tight steering, quick brakes, and a lot of speed.

I have seriously avoided several accidents because this car is so responsive.

The interior is stylish but not very roomy.

Altogether a very reliable,fun, and safe car... highly recommended!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2003

2000 Acura Integra GS-R 1.8 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

Goes fast, looks good and won't spend much time in the shop

Faults:

The tires the come with the car are pretty poor. They don't stick well and they wore out by 25000.

A rock got stuck in the rotor/wheel area. Clearly not an issue with the car, but the dealer took care of it with no fuss.

General Comments:

The car performs very well when you know how to drive it (rev it like you hate it and the engine will reward you).

The car looks good.

The interior is nice (leather).

Automatic up/down windows would be nice.

The car handles very well, especially after you replace the stock tires with something stickier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2002

2000 Acura Integra Type R 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance9700 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

It's unique--drive one and see

Faults:

Not much. Some buzzing coming from the sun-visors which drove me crazy. And the car's alignment was a little off when I got it. Other than that it seems to be glued together correctly!

General Comments:

These things are very fun to drive, but a little overrated in some circles. I traded my BMW 318i in for this little monster. The engine revs like mad, and produces great power up there. It handles like a go kart!

The engine is *okay* around town. I'd like a little more at low RPM. The buzzing from the engine is fun at first, but it gets old REAL quick! Since then I've acquired an '01 Saab (with 2.0 turbo) which is oh-so-much-nicer to drive around town and on trips.

The 'teg is now more of a fun weekend and track car now. That's really where it belongs anyway. It's too loud and obnoxious to drive on a daily basis. There's no sound insulation to speak of, the engine buzzes like crazy at redline (which is about 8300 RPM!), the seats are marginally comfortable but are very supportive for aggressive driving.

The car exhibits typical front drive behavior at the track, but the limits are pretty high. It feels like it's setup more for inexperienced drivers, you really have to try hard to make it do anything other than plow (understeer). I wish a little more lift-oversteer was available stock.

It is a neat car, certainly one of the most unique ones I've ever owned!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd July, 2001

2000 Acura Integra LS 1.8 non turbo gas from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 non turbo gas Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired126 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles

Summary:

A great buy, that will never go bad, and never die

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong mechanically with the car, as expected.

Actually my horn stopped working at 25,000 miles, but something was blocking the mechanism, no biggie.

Some body damage due to people scratching and denting the car..

Aside from that, the car is perfect.

General Comments:

This car has a great engine, and it handles great. Only thing wrong with it is that it eats gas a lot if you rev it to the 6900-7100 RPM redline, and if you use the Semi Auto.

Acura built the TL, CL, Integra, NSX, and MDX with the highest of quality... Lexus doesn't even match, believe it or not! Buy the Integra if you want an all around car, that is a drivers car, and fast...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2001

2000 Acura Integra Type-R 1.8L DOHC 16v 4 cylinder 195 B from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8L DOHC 16v 4 cylinder 195 B Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance14852 miles
Previous carAcura 90' Integra LS

Summary:

The best performance bang for your buck under $25,000

Faults:

Nothing mechanical, the car is perfect still after 9 months of red lining and driving hard and fast.

The tires did wear out after 10,000 miles, but they were rated for 10,000 miles so it wasn't a surprise. However putting four performance tires on this car cost $600.

General Comments:

This car is amazing. It is rock solid, light, fast, corners like it's on rails.

The engine red lines at 8400rpm. When I drive nicely on a long trip the car gets 40mpg. When I race around town hitting the red line and generally being lead footed, the car gets 23mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2001

17th Apr 2001, 02:47

To be honest, it's not the best bang for the buck under $25,000. Obviously a new Mustang GT, or a Camaro Z28, or even a Firebird Formula are faster. All of these hit high 13's. Better fast for a stock car don't you think?

1st Aug 2001, 11:04

No way is a Camaro, Mustang or Firebird better for under 25,000. I have a Type R and I can smoke all those cars. Besides it's not all about being fast, Type R's handle better and Hondas are much more reliable than any of those cars.

Anyone I've ever known with a Camaro has admitted it turned out to be a piece of crap. Besides, don't you want to be original, everyone and their mom has the cars you listed. How many people actually have a Type R. In the US only about 5000 since they have been made.

2000 Acura Integra LS 1.4 liter DOHC 4-cylinders from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 liter DOHC 4-cylinders Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance2837 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

It's revving fun!

Faults:

This car has been charm since I drove it off the dealership. I'm having a blast with this car because it makes revving fun.

However, recently the driver's side door is beginning to make a vibrating noise which is annoying, but it lately the noise seemed to disappeared.

Also, sometimes it's hard to shift from the 1st gear to the 2nd gear, the car would shake, but the problem seems to have disappeared also. And on some occasions the transmission would make a loud banging noise when I set the gear in reverse, but that problem has also disappeared.

The problems with this car have been interesting because they seemed to appear from nowhere and then disappear. Other than these minor defects, there were no major mechanical problems with this car (knock on wood).

The Integra has been the best car I've driven and I would buy another one if I had lots of money.

General Comments:

If you need a fun small car to drive, then look no further because the Integra is your best choice. Even though the Integra is somewhat expensive for a small car, the money is worth spending because of its reliability, quality, craftmanship, fuel efficiency, and high resale value. So if anyone who is considering an Integra or any other Honda or Acura product, GO FOR IT!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2000

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 14 reviews