1987 Acura Legend Reviews

1987 Acura Legend L 2.7L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.7L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

A formerly good japanese BMW

Faults:

Only one window operates in this car the transmission is an automatic, but it shifts like a manual the front suspension sounds like and old rusty door and gets even worse when it rains the fuel, temperature gauge, and tachometer work when ever THEY feel the need it leaks oil like there is no tomorrow the power driver seat is on the blink the left blinker doesn't come on the instrument panel. I could go on, but I don't want Acura to sue me for Slander.

General Comments:

It's a good freeway car

The outside will hold up better than the inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2006

9th Apr 2006, 07:39

I doubt if Honda / Acura would sue you for slander.

This is because you've bought one of their products which was high mileage when it was bought and is now worn out after nearly 20 years of use.

1987 Acura Legend RS 2.5 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired218000 miles
Most recent distance249000 miles

Summary:

Rather drive my '87 Acura Legend then my '06 Subaru Legacy

Faults:

The Electronic Idle Valve Control went out requiring a tow.

Had problems with the main relay.

Needed new shocks/struts.

Alignment hard to align.

Some animal had a buffet under the hood!

General Comments:

I've been seriously impressed with this car's computer and the ease for diagnosis.

Fast oldie!

Feels like new car with new OEM suspension.

Great cruiser can't tell at 80 mph plus!

Love the interior lighting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2006

1987 Acura Legend from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired78000 kilometres

General Comments:

I just bought this car and I'm loving it.

The problem I am have is with the transmission when I shift from reverse to drive or visa versa. This is concerning me. There is a strange winding sound as I drop it in to gear. As well when it automatically shifts from first to second there is a heavy clunking sound and this happens when I'm driving normally - not stumping on the gas. Are there any ideas out there as to what the problems may be and whats required to fix them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th February, 2006

1987 Acura Legend from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance257000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Fast classy beauty

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong other than routine wear and tear to be expected in an older car. Some of the dash lights don't work anymore, and the air conditioning is temperamental, but works. It is a beautiful car to look at and to drive. Parts are expensive and the gas mileage is what you'd expect from a 2-ton car. Classic styling, it still looks great side by side with much newer cars. I'll keep it until it runs no more, that could be forever!

General Comments:

Looks like a family car, but is seriously fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2005

22nd Mar 2006, 13:05

I actually got lucky and got oil filters for a penny each!

1987 Acura Legend L 2.7L from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7L Automatic
Distance when acquired137000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

A car that could be more than what it is

Faults:

Transmission won't shift in auto at purchase.

Replaced alternator 3 times.

Replaced battery.

Replaced water pump.

Replaced oxygen sensor.

Replaced side and front valve cover gaskets.

Replaced plugs and wires with Bosch.

Sunroof leaks.

Replaced upper control arm bearing both sides in front.

Replaced brakes 3 times.

Replaced fuel filter and pvc valve 2x.

No take off acceleration.

Bad gas mileage 10/12 mpg.

Rusted around gas cap and wheel wells.

Brake booster went bad.

General Comments:

This car wasn't a bad buy when I first got it.

I still own it, but plan on purchasing new vehicle for main usage.

Needs taken down for major maintenance.

Has a lot of potential.

Needs help with what might be wrong with fuel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th December, 2004

1987 Acura Legend V6L 2.5L V6 24 Valve from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 24 Valve Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired320000 kilometres
Most recent distance330000 kilometres
Previous carAcura 67' Chevelle

Summary:

I'll show off this car in the year 2030 (gonna last forever).

Faults:

The two front seats are pretty torn up.

Rust behind one of the wheel wells.

Rust starting in spots. Example: by the gas cap.

Electric windows work, but poorly.

General Comments:

Impressive acceleration, very quick.

Turns on a dime.

My brakes have been replaced in the past, but work very good for long amounts of time.

Very nice interior, looks great even after 16 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2004

22nd Nov 2006, 17:39

If you want your windows to work properly, just spray some silicone spray in the window seals and it should solve the problem. I bought a 4 dr. 1987 2.5 V6 automatic transmission Acura Legend about two months ago and still purrs like a kitten after 19 years and 216,000 miles.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 22 reviews