1987 Acura Legend Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1987 Acura Legend from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired201000 miles
Most recent distance222000 miles
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

New car value at a used car price

Faults:

Only have had the car for about 9 months. Had the alternator go out without warning, and a few very, very minor electrical inconveniences

General Comments:

The nicest car that I have ever owned and it rides like it is 3 years old, not 14. Incredible to be in such great shape after all of this time.

It still has a great deal of power, and rides very comfortable on the highway and in the city with very little engine noise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2001

1987 Acura Legend from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles

Summary:

Very reliable

Faults:

The biggest problem we have with the car is the valve gaskets have needed to be replaced every 20,000 miles since the car hit 97,000 miles.

General Comments:

Generally, the car has been inexpensive to maintain.

We have done all the recommeded maintenance.

At 150,000 miles, we had to put about $2,000.00 to replace items that were wearing out.

Other than the valve gaskets, we have been very pleased with the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2001

1987 Acura Legend Luxury Coupe V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Great car, transmission problems though, overall good though

Faults:

Not a lot has gone wrong on the car although the transmission does perform like it might need a new one in about 6 months or so. Plus the brakes squeak.

General Comments:

For a 1987 everything works! That's what I love about the car!!!

Not bad for a first car!

The car is almost as old as I am.

Me 16/car 14, WOW!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2001

1987 Acura Legend L 2.5L 24 valve from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L 24 valve Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

I would make love to it if I could

Faults:

Poor leather.

Fuel filler neck.

Bits o' rust.

Dash electricals.

Front CV axles and joints.

Upper control arm.

Moon roof leak.

General Comments:

I love this car... for the year and price I paid for it, it was worth it.

It is the best driving, smoothest, comfortable car of the era.

I guess it could use a little more power, but it is not a sports car, it is a luxury sedan.

If you are in the market for luxury car on a tight budget that looks like it was built in 1995, find a Legend if you can, they sell quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2001

1987 Acura Legend LX from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance204536 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Safe/secure/at peace

Faults:

Had to have the transmission replaced.

Suspension replaced.

Minor repair to the radiator.

General Comments:

This is the best car I've ever driven. For a car with 200K miles, it handles better than newer cars. No slipping on icy or rain-slickened roads.

Solid car. Feel very safe inside this car.

Quiet ride. Quality interior, not a plastic/cheesy appearance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2000

1987 Acura Legend L 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired182000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Power and luxury

Faults:

Brakes.

CV joints.

Struts.

Fog lights.

Oil leak.

Lifters.

Electricals in the dash.

General Comments:

Overall the car has been one of my favorites.

A little too expensive to maintain.

The engine is 13 years old and the engine still has a lot of power.

I will drop money into the car because in my opinion it is worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2000

1987 Acura Legend L 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired143000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carAudi 4000/80

Summary:

A performance sedan from the 80s that still performs better than most new cars!

Faults:

I've replaced the shocks with less mushy ones for better stability. Front wheel bearings were worn, rotors and pads worn, muffler replaced. Other than those wear items, just maintenance.

General Comments:

After 13 years on the road this car is still fast and quiet with great comfort and handling for a car of its size. Stomp on the pedal and as the revs climb those 24 valves kick in like a turbo (without the turbo related problems). All the gadgets and mechanicals still work solidly. Corners solidly with only minimal understeer. Contrary to some other reviews here I don't think there are so many 160k mile cars out there that still run practically like new. No rust on mine. Unfortunately parts that do have to be replaced can be relatively expensive. It's a high quality car that balances performance with comfort and comes with all the goodies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2000

4th Mar 2001, 20:25

Just wanted to say that I am a fellow former Audi 4000 CS Q owner. I totalled that car and I'm now looking at a beautiful Acura Legend. It's encouraging to see your review.

Audi 4000s kick ass.

15th Jul 2003, 14:31

I have a 1987 Acura Legend. It does take off like a turbocharged car, feeling like it has a lot more than the 160-170hp as represented. My vehicle runs like new with 153000 miles and has had no major problems. The only upgrades I have done to the car are bosch platinum +4 plugs and good quality spark plug wires. I also replaced the oxygen sensors and the car has run perfectly ever since. It is still a great ride after all these years.

1987 Acura Legend V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission V6
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10

Faults:

RUST, RUST, & RUST. 5 speed transmission is a joke, knocks out of gears. Tons of electrical, fuel, & computer problems. Recalled 3 times for unknown problems (dealer would not tell me, you know it's bad when that happens). Leaks lots of oil from various places (I have never seen a Honda that doesn't). Front suspension weak, had to replace tie rods & more 2 times. All these problems & it only has 80,000 miles. Did I mention RUST?

General Comments:

Only good thing is it does have room for 4-5 people + luggage. Not built very sturdy. Just because it's made from Honda, does not mean it's any good. Its a medium sized family cruiser (not a Lincoln Town Car by far), not sporty at all (the 4 doors gives it away). Cure: Buy a real car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th August, 1999

27th May 2001, 07:17

Do you drag race in this car, man? Did you run it through the mud like a truck? One bad review doesn't spoil the bunch, buddy. Acura Kicks Major Butt! I just think you are a foreign car hater.

16th Jun 2001, 14:22

Are you the original owner? If not, what kind of climate are you in? My 1988 coupe doesn't have any rust. I live in L.A. I haven't had any problems with my 5sp and I'm at 295,000 miles. I think that your experiences are probably not that common.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 22 reviews