1987 Acura Legend Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1987 Acura Legend Coupe L 2.5 16-Valve V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 16-Valve V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired153000 miles
Most recent distance161000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Excellent deal - the Honda V-6 will run seemingly forever with little beyond regular maintenance

Faults:

Had to replace the master cylinder approximately one month after purchase.

Had to replace the windshield wiper linkage.

Front leather seats are severely cracked.

General Comments:

Only major engine issue is that shifts at high RPM can be a bit rough.

Honda's speed-sensitive steering tends to be a bit stiff when holding a bit of brake on while turning (e.g. into a parking spot)

Acceleration is excellent, engine runs like a charm.

Very comfortable ride, good performance, not as bad on gas as anticipated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2002

18th Nov 2002, 19:33

Your car has 24 valves, if, it is a Legend.

My 1988 Legend will be 15 years old in September 2003.

I have 195,000 miles on it, and, I still drive it over 100 mph.

A manual transmission is much faster than the automatic.

Loveale@aol.com.

10th Feb 2005, 16:38

Any car in Manual is quicker, you get to choose the rpm you also manage the clutch therefor any error is only made by the driver.

1987 Acura Legend L 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance214000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

You will look good in this car

Faults:

Leather seats are cracked.

Drivers side outside door handle broke.

Rear view mirror fell off.

I replaced the clutch hydraulic system.

Car leaks some oil.

Brakes need to be replaced.

General Comments:

Repairs are costly, but you can save a lot of money buy buying parts from a junkyard.

The car weighs over 4,000 pounds, but still has decent acceleration for a 2.5 liter engine.

The seats are very comfortable, even for somebody with a bad back.

The stereo, although the front speakers are blown, still blasts and makes the windows shake.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2002

1987 Acura Legend LS 1.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired238000 miles
Most recent distance266358 miles

Summary:

If you can find an Acura Legend, BUY IT!

Faults:

Lifter knocks slightly only in cold weather.

The drivers side seat is torn.

Replaced rear brakes.

Minor rust around rear wheel wells.

Replaced CV boot.

General Comments:

It's impossible to explain how nice this car is without actually showing you.

It has excellent power and handling.

The comfort is top notch.

Has over 265,000 miles and runs like it has 80,000.

If your looking for a nice cheaper car, Acura is where its at

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2002

4th Dec 2005, 01:13

My 1987 Legend LS has 180,000 miles as of 12/1/2005.

It has undergone significant replacements of most wearable parts, but the engine runs strong and smoothly; as though it could run forever.

I've owned it for 14 years.

6th Aug 2007, 22:51

I have a 1987 Acura Legend LS, and it currently has 404,XXX miles on it and it runs strong still. Of course it needs to warm up a bit before it can really start using its power. When I got it, it had 380,XXX miles, I don't know what parts the guy replaced in it before, but he took good care of it. The seats are cracked though, and the radio didn't work when I got it. After some modifications I got a radio that works and its amazing how easy it is to steer it lol. I could do a "U-Turn" with just my pinky, kinda weird.

26th Apr 2011, 18:34

I have one. I now need to replace the clutch that is going. It has 22,000 on it and is in all original condition, damn near mint. Cannot put a true value price, what do you think? It has full luxury, from factory security to you name it all, working engine so clean you could eat off it.

What do you think?

1987 Acura Legend L 2.7 Litre from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.7 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carMazda MPV

Summary:

A finicky, temperamental thoroughbred

Faults:

Leather seats are cracked.

The cold-start sensor needed replacing twice. This car will not start if it is below -10F.

Second gear on the transmission went at 135,000 km.

General Comments:

This car handles well and the engine runs smoothly.

The size of the vehicle is ideal. There is plenty of back seat leg-room and the trunk is roomy.

The sun roof leaks.

Unfortunately, it has chronic starting problems at low temperatures. This renders the car virtually useless in the winter. It has been in the shop four times for this problem.

Parts are very costly. If you purchase a 1987 Legend (it is the first year of production for this model), make friends with a mechanic and a banker because you will have many expensive repairs to deal with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th February, 2002

28th Jun 2002, 14:43

To fix your leaky sunroof there are drainage lines that get clogged located under the car. I believe near the wheel well. Clear these out and you'll solve your leaky sunroof.

Additionally 87 was the second year for the Legend, 86 being the first year. Acura Introduced the Legend and the Integra in it's newly formed Acura division that year.

2nd Apr 2003, 18:30

Have 87 Acura Legend with leaky sunroof. Probably plugged rear sunroof frame drains. Were do the back drain lines come out under the car?

Will back blowing solve problem?

18th Nov 2003, 04:28

If you want to clear out the sunroof drain lines, you have to:

1-Open the trunk.

2-Remove the left side plastic interior panel.

3-Locate the drain hose running along the top of the wheel well.

4-Find the point where the hose connects to the plastic. drain valve and pull it out of the valve.

5-Remove any blockage from the hose and valve.

6-Re-insert hose and replace panel.

7-Do the same on the right side.

27th Feb 2006, 21:11

I have an 86 and the sunroof leaked all the time. I've tried fixing it by unclogging the drain holes and had it done professionally numerous times; it was never fixed for long. I ended up sealing it and no longer have a sunroof that opens.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 22 reviews