1989 Acura Legend Reviews

1989 Acura Legend Coupe L 2.7 litre from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 2.7 litre Manual
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance246000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

No regrets... Mr. Honda did his stuff

Faults:

Early trouble with the antenna - replaced twice since.

Early trouble with oxygen sensors - have been replaced.

Glove box door cheaply hinged - one side broke after less than 100K, whereas the one on my '77 Accord still works great.

Driver's seat motor noisier over time, but still works.

Tail light moisture seals fail over time.

General Comments:

Except for the gradually increasing hydraulic lifter noise (a precursor to major work according to my mechanic), the car is just as quiet inside as the day I drove it off the lot.

I make an occasional 14-hour drive from Oregon to California and back, and it's still a pleasure to drive.

I wish the driver's seat lumbar support was more effective.

For the original cost of the car, you'd expect things like the glove box door hinge to be better made.

Being the first generation Legend, it's still the best-looking model on the road (compared to current Acura designs especially) and still gets looks... probably because you don't see that many of them any more.

I wish there was a control for the antenna, so you could choose to leave it down if you're not using the radio, but still want to listen to music.

I wish the stock engine had a little more power, but I'm quite happy with the overall performance and definitely the comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2014

1989 Acura Legend from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance173000 miles

Summary:

I love my Acura Legend LS!

Faults:

Nothing really. I have just had the recommended service by the dealer.

Driver's seat beginning to show wear.

General Comments:

This is a very comfortable driving car with good power and riding comfort. It is easy to drive and still gets good gas mileage. It is one of the best cars still on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd February, 2011

1989 Acura Legend from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired275000 kilometres
Most recent distance290000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Fantastic Sports Sedan

Faults:

Hydraulic lifters are failing, causing a ticking noise when the engine is running. Mechanic says it's about a $3000 job to fix, so I figure it's not worth it at this point.

Trunk leaked a little bit, but was able to get it fixed for about $100. The problem was the seals on the side near the tail lights.

Cover to the map case on the passenger door broke off.

Driver's seatbelt clasp broke.

Cruise control didn't work when I got it, never bothered to fix.

Heated seats never worked, never bothered to fix (mild winters where I live).

General Comments:

I love this car, and if I could find another with lower KM's in good condition, I would buy it in a second.

It is an absolute blast to drive, plenty of power, really tight handling. Great feeling manual transmission. I also like its understated looks. The tiny rear windows go down and have their own controls, kind of a funny novelty feature.

The backseat isn't all that roomy, and it sucks that the seats don't go down in the back to give you more space for cargo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2009

1989 Acura Legend LS 2.7 V6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance189000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Faults:

Air conditioner replaced @ 160000.

Transmission re-built @ 85000.

Catalytic converter and oxygen sensor replaced @ 160000.

Front seats new leather @ 140000.

General Comments:

This car has turned out to be extremely dependable and enjoyable to drive. I very very rarely have had anyone in the back seat, but when there are 3 passengers you feel the extra effort required by the 2.7 V6 engine. I am normally driving solo and the car is overall very responsive.

Wish they had put an overdrive 5th gear for long distance/high-speed travels... otherwise high-way driving is smooth.

I attribute the excellent over-all mechanical condition to Honda Corp., my attention to maintenance and an Acura certified mechanic that has worked on this car from about 10000 miles to present. He is a wizard with Acuras.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2009

1989 Acura Legend LS Sedan 2.7L V6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.7L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance169000 miles
Previous carNissan 300ZX

Summary:

The Acura Legend: One of the greatest cars ever

Faults:

Heater core stopped working at 164000.

Fuel pump replaced at 165000.

Muffler replaced at 168000.

Minor leak around sunroof.

General Comments:

I purchased this car brand new in 1989 for $34,000. It was the top of line model, black with tan leather interior. It had all of the available options including a sunroof & Bose stereo.

The car has performed very well over the last 19 years with minor problems. I have put this car to the test many times going at speeds above 120 mph. It has been a true enjoyment owning this car; it has not let me down once. Almost all of the miles came from highway trips cross country.

The car handles like a sports car around curved roads and open highways. I would be willing to put my 19 year old car up against a lot of new ones. The gas mileage, safety, and speed are unmatched by many new cars with the same price tag.

Overall, the car is just what I need. As a single man, I don't need anything larger than my Legend. It's fast, roomy, and still shines like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2008

16th Nov 2008, 07:10

True Japanese vehicles last forever. I have an uncle who bought his wife a 1993 Acura Legend and she loved it. Only got rid of it in 2003 because of an expanding family. My 1987 Nissan Maxima was dependable everyday of its life, even after it was 20 years old. For months, I made a 160 mile commute with it and never doubted for a second it would fail me, and it didn't. :-). After it was totalled I considered buying it back from the insurance company and repairing it but the repair costs exceeded the value of the car. Well, this is my tribute to a real Japanese vehicle: RIP 1987 Nissan Maxima SE 1987-2008.

16th Nov 2008, 09:57

I much preferred our new Legends at the time, more than our later new Acuras TL-RL. Hardly ever any issues. Other than the increased h.p. later, and better sound system, I feel the earlier ones had much less mechanical problems (drivetrain issues). I have no qualms spending for quality, and it's a shame they did not keep the mechanical quality there for us.

I would highly recommend a well cared low mileage Legend though.

18th Nov 2008, 01:52

Country of manufacture does play a significant part as far as dependability is concerned. Japan uses strict quality controls unlike US auto makers. The TL is less dependable because it is produced at the Honda plant in Marysville, Ohio, I couldn't be paid to own one.

18th Nov 2008, 15:12

Advances in tooling, tolerances, robotics and quality control should be in favor of the present. I think the later product was cheapened in our opinion.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 30 reviews