1989 Acura Legend Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1989 Acura Legend LS from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carNissan 280Z

Summary:

Best car I've ever owned!!

Faults:

General maintenance - a new clutch at 85,000 miles.

General Comments:

Love this car - dependable and classy. That's why I've kept it for 10+ years and continue to enjoy driving it in Alaska.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2000

1989 Acura Legend 2 door Coupe 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.7 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

If taken care of, it will run forever

Faults:

Car has been near perfect except for 2 major repairs.

Replaced the air-conditioning unit at 145,000 miles.

Replaced the clutch at 160,000 miles.

General Comments:

I have had 2 previous vehicles: A 1981 Toyota Corolla and a 1986 Pontiac Firebird.

I have had this car for the last 5 years and have had very few disappointments.

Most new cars look impressive but there is so much computer stuff on-board that it would take a rocket scientist to figure out how to fix it.

I have done most of the work on my 89 Legend because it was made in the early days of the computer-information age.

My car now has 165,000 miles and runs like it has 50,000 miles.

Only real complaint is at high speeds the wind-noise from the driver's side window is annoying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd October, 2000

7th Oct 2004, 09:22

The noise can be taken care of, there isn't a very good connection between the window and the rubber where the mirror is, thus a leak. also along the back same problem. I'm sure there is a easy thing to do to fix it, I added some clear silicon to it, sanded it down and I have no road noise, its quite nice.

1989 Acura Legend L 2.7 liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.7 liter V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired110500 miles
Most recent distance110500 miles
Previous carFord Contour Sport

Summary:

Luxury and performance for little money

Faults:

Nothing mechanical yet.

The leather is very sun damaged with cracks in the main exposure areas. I'm using seat covers for now, but may try and repair this later.

Rear view mirror mount broke, but fixed this with a $12 kit.

General Comments:

Dang, I really like this car! It's zippy, well-fitted out, and very nice looking for its age. Got it from a neighbour who pampered it since she got it in '89 (but parked it outside and the Palm Springs sun just destroyed the leather).

After my former car was totalled (not my fault), could have used the settlement for another new car, but opted for the Legend as a cash-down solution. Look Ma, no payments!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd September, 2000

27th Mar 2001, 19:28

My girlfriend has the 1989 Acura Legend L 4-door and it has the same problem with the leather. The back seat head rests are now held together with duct tape and the entire front seats deteriorated until seat covers were necessary. But this car has over 180,000 miles on it and is still running great, so who can complain?

1989 Acura Legend Coupe L 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

A whole heap of car for 7 grand (and I hate Japanese cars)

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Just got a good deal on a Legend Coupe with only 79k on it. IT IS PERFECT. A little old lady was retiring to Brazil. Looking forward to a blast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th September, 2000

1989 Acura Legend Coupe L 2.7 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.7 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carOpel Corsa

Summary:

Nice car to drive

Faults:

New fuel injectors and master cylinder for the brakes.

Some rust.

General Comments:

I bought this car as a second car for when I'm back in the States a few times a year.

It's a great car to drive and has been very reliable.

It is still sharp looking, even though it is 11 years old.

Like all Honda products, I'm sure it will still drive like new for years to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2000

1989 Acura Legend LS Coupe V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles

Summary:

A really good car

Faults:

Nothing really big except for a minor fuel relay.

General Comments:

This is a really good car. I got it back when it first came out and have maintained it in top condition. I have driven across the country numerous times and it is still running great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2000

1989 Acura Legend L Coupe 2.7L SOHC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.7L SOHC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance159000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord SEi

Summary:

Timeless styling blended with excellent reliability

Faults:

It seems like everyone is degrading the Acura Legend here.

This vehicle has only had two problems since I purchased it: Antenna mast stuck (fixed under warranty in 1991), transmission shifts awkwardly. That is it.

General Comments:

You have to realize that these vehicles are not bulletproof like you may think. Just because it is a Honda does not mean you don't have to maintain it. I have had ALL of the maintenance done on this vehicle @ the dealer ON SCHEDULE.

This is by far the best vehicle I have ever owned and I would not trade it for any of the new Acuras, only a newer, used Legend. I am very surprised to see these negative reviews on this site. They sound to me as if the problems occurred due to abuse, not due to the car itself. My car is in top running order at 159,000 miles. I could not ask for a better car. Just look around, you will see how many people are in LOVE with the Acura Legend Coupe (ALL YEARS!) Think of the alternative: the HONDA ACCORD, BLAAAAH.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2000

19th Mar 2001, 19:20

I must agree that the Acura Legend is not one of the best cars I have ever owned, but THE best car I have ever owned. Granted, it is a scheduled maintainance kind of vehicle, but properly maintained, it will last me well into the 200,000 mile range. The transmission was rebuilt just this past year 2000. Great Car, Good Mileage, Timeless styling.

1989 Acura Legend V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles

Summary:

Kinda old, but good

Faults:

Air conditioning - always fairly poor.

Fuel relay.

General Comments:

A fun car to drive, sportier than the newer Acura's (not including the Integra, and of course not the NSX). Good handling, great acceleration.

The air conditioning takes a long time to get cool though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2000

1989 Acura Legend V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission V6
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10

Faults:

Electric windows stick, suspension is cheap (alignment guy said that they get knocked out of alignment easy), fuel injection replaced, had to install all new electrical & bad rust.

General Comments:

Not impressed with Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st March, 1999

29th Aug 2001, 14:13

Wow, I'm amazed, an actual negative Acura comment, my car is the 1990 Coupe. I WOULD buy again. I think the suspension is great, smooth ride, I've never had a problem with the alignment.

28th Sep 2001, 00:02

I'm amazed to find a negative comment, I own a 1990 Legend LS. Great car since I first got it in 1990!

I've never had any serious problems with the car, and it still rides great! This car might out last me, and I do ride it pretty hard!

Sorry to see you had such a bad experience.

30th Oct 2007, 12:32

I agree with the last few comments. My first car is a 1989 Legend LS.

It has a few problems, but it has about 30000 miles and I've drove it hard. the car has been in places that no car should ever go and still going strong.

If I had to buy it again I would because it has been the best car ever.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 30 reviews