1991 Acura Legend Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1991 Acura Legend LS Coupe 3.2 V6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.2 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance191000 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

Damn good car!!!

Faults:

The transmission is starting to have problems.

Seats have worn.

General Comments:

The car is really fast.

It has no problem with going fast and beating other cars!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2006

1991 Acura Legend L coupe 3.2L from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.2L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carNova Maxima

Summary:

Great used car Bargain.

Faults:

Head Gasket at 115,000.

General Comments:

Amazing car. I got this when I was 16 and it was in great condition. I added an intake and a cat-back exhaust. Back in the day when we street raced it was very fast once it got going.. not the quickest off the line. I drove the car very very hard and the only problem I had was a head gasket and a brake master cylinder. Great car. The new owner has 200k and it is still going on original transmission and engine... this is amazing considering I drove the heck out of it. I have had more problems with my 2002 accord the srs light. The legend also handled better than my 2002 accord. I'm going to turn in my 2002 accord exv6 for a Acura as soon as I can.. Acuras are much better than Hondas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2006

24th May 2006, 14:04

Maybe you didn't realize, but if you look under the hood, you will see a few words on the engine. It says, "Honda Motor Company." So I don't know about you, but I interpret this as a car built by Honda, therefore the same creator as your 2002 Accord EX V6.

Different levels of quality will bring different levels of performance. New, that Accord costs less than that of your 1991 Acura Legend when it was new. Sometimes you really do get what you pay for.

All-in-all, I do agree with you, the Acura Legend is a very great car and its longevity is amazing. I also have a 1991 Legend sedan with over 200,000 miles, and it still has an amazing amount of speed.

24th May 2006, 15:50

..."Acuras are muck better than Honda's"...Hmmmm...lets think about this a bit...

1991 Acura Legend L 2.5L V6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired142000 miles
Most recent distance153100 miles
Previous carAcura Vigor

Summary:

Very Reliable Sports Sedan

Faults:

No major problems.

Leather Seats are showing some wear.

Transmission shifts a little rough from first to second.

General Comments:

Acceleration is excellent and the engine is fairly quiet and it rides smooth especially on the highway. Rides very smooth on the highway. AC works great. Love the seats, very comfortable! I get about 18 miles per gallon in the city and 26 or 27 on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2005

1991 Acura Legend L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance225000 miles

Summary:

A very reliable car

Faults:

ABS system stopped working around 150,000.

Factory radio had to be replaced twice.

Driver's window returns to the up position very slowly.

At about 150,000 miles a brake fluid leak began which the dealership was not able to fix after several attempts.

Around 100,000 miles Intermittent electrical problems began. Sometimes lights will appear on the dash board indicating burnt out signal lamps. Weeks later the signal lamps will work fine. (Using cruise control seems to trigger some of the electrical problems.)

Front driver's seat began wearing badly around 150,000.

Front driver's axle needed to be replaced at 200,000.

General Comments:

Overall reliability is great. I have never been stranded anywhere. I never had a problem with the car that I did not have time to fix before it became a serious problem.

Handles well and accelerates well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2004

1991 Acura Legend L 3.2 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

A near-luxury bargain

Faults:

Radiator cracked 175,000 miles.

Developed minor power steering leak.

Rear passenger window motor stopped working.

Transmission is quirky before engine is fully warmed up.

General Comments:

I bought this car because my BMW is unreliable as a main vehicle. So far, the Acura has proven to be incredibly reliable, even with an unknown service history.

The car accelerates very quickly for a large 4-door sedan. When you slam on the accelerator, the tires smoke. This is with 190,000 miles on the engine.

The interior looks much nicer than leather interiors from other Japanese manufacturers that are this old (older Nissan Maxima and Mazda 929 leather interiors look like they've been vandalized rather than used).

Compared to a BMW, the supposed "high maintenance costs" are chump-change. The car performs almost as well as my BMW, and the purchase price was very low. I feel confident when driving the Acura; with the BMW, I always freaked out if I heard any tiny noises. The Legend is a tank.

This car is a dream come true for someone who is used to a mid-90s German auto. I have never felt so much relief, knowing my car will not leave me stranded, with a towing bill and a smirk on the tow-truck driver's face- "Yeah, look at your BMW now, Mr. Big Shot!"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2004

10th Mar 2005, 18:41

UPDATE- 215,000 miles. No problems. How do they do it?

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 23 reviews