1992 Acura Legend Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1992 Acura Legend LS 2.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired161000 miles
Most recent distance166000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Performance luxury car

Faults:

Front Axle shafts were "clicking" and had to be replaced. During the test drive, the A/C compressor burned out and the ABS brakes quit working. I still decided to buy it anyway.

General Comments:

Even after the unexpected events during the test drive, I bought it. I was a mechanic for awhile, so it didn't bother me that much. I didn't notice until winter time that the rear defroster didn't work! I replaced the fuse for the rear defroster, this fixed the rear defrost as well as the ABS brakes! Now that is a cheap fix! The A/C is a different story, and is still not fixed. No need as of yet, it is pretty cold in MN during the winter. The car likes to spin the tires through 1st gear and chirp them in 2nd when it shifts. it is fairly quick, and can take quite a few new cars in a race. But anyone who thinks these cars are "fast" is fooling themselves, test drive a sports car and you won't think the legend is as fast as you think! However, the legend makes up for the average quickness by adding a lot of comfort. Heated leather seats, power everything, telescoping steering wheel, and the reliability of Honda (same thing). I would like to test drive a 95 Legend 6 speed though!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2004

7th Sep 2004, 12:42

I noticed at the bottom of the page it said 2.3 liter it is a 3.2 liter if it is a 92 acura legend.

3rd Dec 2006, 23:41

Agreed. I don't see what all the hype about this car being uber-fast is about. It's quick for being what it is, which is a large, heavy car from 1992.

1992 Acura Legend L 3.2 liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2 liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles

Summary:

Reliable and quick

Faults:

Radiator replaced at 83000.

Drivers seat starting to wear a little.

Front rotors replaced at 105000 because of not changing pads.

Drivers side window slow to go up. Little wind noise on highway.

General Comments:

This car is extremely reliable. Feels like it will run forever with proper care.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2004

1992 Acura Legend LS coupe 5 speed 3.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance184000 kilometres
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

High end, smooth, powerful, reliable, coupe

Faults:

Since I have just recently acquired the car, nothing has gone wrong. The previous owner had an almost complete service history which seems key to these cars' performance and reliability.

General Comments:

Exterior styling is tastefully understated resembling the lines of something of European decent. At first glance (albeit a quick one!) from head on the large oval style projectors in the headlights appear similar to a BMW 5 or 7 series. Considering the 1992 Legend LS coupe is 11 years old, its exterior dimensions lend themselves to being fashionable even with today's standards.

Climbing into the 1992 Legend LS coupe proves to be a rather religious experience. The excellent leather wrapped seats have large side bolsters to enhance comfort and driver performance during spirited driving. Center console falls perfectly in line to the shifter and a worthy addition to this high end coupe. Wood look trim accents the car's already impressive interior. Large analog gages are both aesthetically pleasing and functional. The standard BOSE stereo system is among the best available in 1992 and employs a standard sub woofer. Steering-wheel mounted audio controls are a worthy standard addition. Although the computerized ventilation system takes a bit of getting used to, once it's mastered it performs well. As a side note the creature comforts of this car are bar none; even the tiny rear passenger windows roll down electrically!

The 3.2 liter SOHC V6 generates 200 horsepower and 210 pounds of torque which moves this large coupe around with authority when mated to the 5 speed transmission. Torque is abundant throughout the RPM range. Starting out slowly in first gear and taking the revs to 3,500 RPM and punching the throttle makes the coupe squats down, applies firm pressure to the driver's lower back and literally take off with a bit of tire spin. I could get used to this. The car likes to rev. Shifter action is short and relatively smooth considering the engine size. The car soaks up ruts and bumps effortlessly and gives the impression of riding in a Benz 500 SL. It really is that smooth. Considering the car's large size and weight, handling is above average and seems to handle quite a bit better than the Legend sedan. Braking action is extremely smooth and well modulated with 4 large discs located at each corner of the car. Pedal fade is virtually non existent.

An excellent highway cruiser, the car remains quiet with gobs of torque in fourth gear for passing.

I think it is safe to say that I like this car a lot. It's nice to finally have some torque available from the big V6. Although it took me a couple days to get used to the car's size and weight it continues to impress daily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2003

24th Mar 2004, 15:10

I couldn't agree more. I just bought a 92 Legend LS coupe 5-speed, and I must say that the car is absolutely rock-solid for being (now) 12 years old. It is very smooth, very muscular, and very sure of itself on the road. The Legend is very comfortable too, and better than anything, a very good value. Buy one... if you can find one... the 5-speed rules way too much to pass up.

PS- Please note which word was used quite often in this review: "very"...enough said.

24th May 2006, 19:54

Love My Legend.

I brought my 1992 Legend Coupe over 4 years ago, it is a fantastic car, I should know as I have had heaps of cars over the years, this is the best car I have ever owned. I have 2 Bentley Turbo R in my garage, stay away from them like the plague as they are very expensive to repair. I much prefer to drive the Legend.

I had suspension work done on my Legend, new springs and dampers, the car is a lot lower, about 4 inch down on standard specification. This has made a big difference to the handling. I also had the sound system replaced.

I also had a hot exhaust put on, sounds great, a bit more power too.

I have had had minor problems with it, the biggest pain was the front bumper kept getting pulled off by going to close to the gutter when parking, I fixed the problem by gluing galvanized washers to the skirt, and bolting through to the body.

It his now done 145,000 Klms and still drives like a new car. If you can find a good one buy it, you too will love it.

Hmmm I am still hankering after a Subaru SVX though, I have been trying to get the wife to buy one, so I can drive it.

Jon Frodsham.

May 06 Perth Western Australia.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 20 reviews