2001 Acura MDX Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2001 Acura MDX Touring from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Touring Automatic
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance55713 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

I love everything about this SUV except the costly transmission problems

Faults:

Service performed 2nd gear recall upgrade.

Check engine light resulted in replacement of the canister valve.

Complaint of transmission hesitation between 1st and 2nd gear and rear differential assembly was replaced.

Transmission hesitation between 1st and 2nd gear diagnosed as needing new transmission.

General Comments:

The MDX is a powerful well maneuverable car.

The interior is luxurious, spacious and very comfortable.

Acura needs to handle the transmission problems of this vehicle in a professional to have the customer continue to respect and purchase Acura vehicles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2006

23rd Mar 2007, 21:30

You should see a lot of these other reviews on this site. Apparently a lot of these MDX owners have had transmission problems with them. Just to think we'd have better quality since it's Honda!

2001 Acura MDX Touring V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

Aside from the tranny problems, as close to perfect as you are likely to find for under $50,000

Faults:

Transmission shifting slow from 2nd to 3rd.

General Comments:

Aside from the transmission, this is a terrific SUV. Not quite as powerful as the VW Toureg I was looking at, but more versatile with the 3rd seat, more comfortable, and better looking. Also, the mileage is much better and there is no need for premium gas as in the VW. My last SUV was a Suburban K2500, with the 454 engine and a 42 gallon tank. I could pull into a gas station and say "Just give me $100 worth, I'm in a hurry".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2006

2001 Acura MDX Touring Package from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carAcura RL

Summary:

Big price is it worth it?

Faults:

My Power steering pump went bad.

General Comments:

I Like the car and love the look. However I have never heard of a car where the power steering went out so early.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th April, 2006

2001 Acura MDX from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carNissan Quest

Summary:

Good vehicle, looks and drives well, but the transmission is causing concern

Faults:

Until this week, fairly minor:

Passenger front chair back came off (broken plastic mounts)

AGR (auto gas recycling) valve had to be replaced ($450 repair - covered by Acura under extended warranty to 80K miles, so was re-imbursed by Acura)

This week the transmission started mis-behaving (over revving going uphill, and jerking badly on decelerating).

We took it into the dealers today, so I am waiting to hear the news right now. We have used the dealership for service since buying the car, and have found them (and Acura) to be reasonable - I asked if the transmission is covered by extended warranty, and was told "no", but Acura could be expected to help to some extent under their "goodwill policy" I will post what they agree to do once I hear (hopefully later today). The other posts here are useful to gauge how "helpful" Acura is likely to be --thanks!!

It is disappointing, as my 1994 Nissan Quest went 210,000 miles before a transmission rebuild (it now has 285,000 miles on the original engine and recently passed it's smog test). An Acura transmission should be expected to be at least as good as that, for a car which cost nearly twice as much new as the Nissan.

I like the car, but am concerned about the transmission issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th January, 2006

2nd Feb 2006, 15:44

I posted the above. As a follow-up on Feb 2nd 2006, I can tell you that Acura agreed to replace the transmission with a factory rebuilt unit at no cost to me. The work is being done now. Naturally, I am very pleased with this result!. The vehicle has done 94500 miles. As I said in the post, I have had the car consistently serviced at the dealership since I bought it used, so have a track record with them. Even so, I am very impressed with Acura picking up the entire tab.

10th May 2006, 13:23

Am I glad I tumbled onto this site! I just bought a used 2001 MDX and I love it. Unfortunately, it is having transmission issues – the classic slipping on the 2nd to 3rd shift.

I brought it to my local ACURA dealer and got a call stating that “Unfortunately, your MDX needs a new transmission and I’m afraid that it’s out of warranty”. I answered that I was just looking on this site and was aware that this was an on-going problem with MDX’s. He quickly answered “Of course, we’ll take care of it for you”. I do not think I would have gotten that answer if I had not seen your reviews. THANK YOU!!!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 14 reviews