2001 Acura MDX Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2001 Acura MDX from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carToyota Tundra

Summary:

Great SUV, bad transmission!

Faults:

Bad transmission at 70k miles.

General Comments:

I purchased my 2001 MDX with nearly 70k miles. For a Honda made vehicle, I know this is relatively low mileage. In less than two weeks, the transmission began to slip on occasion. I did my homework and found that the many of the transmissions in this year model had been issued an extended warranty for this reason. However, my vehicle did not fall into the VIN number range that had been included in this extension. When I contacted my Acura dealer, they informed me that in the worst case scenario, I needed a new transmission, it would cost upward of $5,000. Preparing to trade my SUV in, I wanted to see if there were others in a similar situation. Fortunately, I came upon this website and found that several individuals were faced with the same problem. However, their reviews offered hope for a solution. In some cases, Acura had agreed to do a "good will" repair. I had never heard of such, and would have never thought of contactiing the Acura Corporation for help if not for this site and those who shared their experiences. Acura generously paid for a brand new transmission and we only paid $630.00 for the labor involved. Thank you all, for the much needed advice!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2005

29th Nov 2006, 17:03

My MDX 2001 has the same problem with the transmission and they say to me that the cost of the repair was close to 5,000, and they are offering me a re-built transmission.

I always make the service at the dealer.

6th May 2009, 07:58

Before I purchased my MDX, I read many reviews on this vehicle. I was mostly concerned about the transmission issue. I was assured by my dealer all was OK with the vehicle when I bought it, I purchased my 2001 MDX with 115,000 miles on it, I was sure all problems have been solved.

So far I had my MDX for 4 months, I have had great success with this vehicle. The only thing that doesn't work is the CD player, besides that all is good and I am very satisfied with my MDX.

2001 Acura MDX from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Nice enough, but when the transmission fails at 24,000 miles, the car is unacceptable.

Faults:

Transmission failing - repeatedly missed gears, hard shifting/revving without moving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd December, 2005

2001 Acura MDX Touring from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

Great SUV BAD transmission

Faults:

Transmission went completely out 70,000 miles.

I have an Acura 01 MDX Touring (my 3rd Acura) that I purchased new in Asheville. I have done all the service and then some at the dealership.

I have been complaining about the transmission o not changing correctly since about 35,000 miles. On each service visit it seemed to get worse. I have even had the transmission fluid changed before scheduled at about 50,000. Each time I complained the tech in Asheville said they test-drove it and everything was OK. Next Acura did a recall on my transmission and again I took it in and hoped it would be fixed. After picking it up this time the trans seemed to be slipping and making noise. I took it right back the next day. I was told that it had been check and an oil kit added and it would be fine and did not need repaired. I took it in again the last week of March this year to get an oil change and check the trans again. This time when I picked it up the tech said it had been thoroughly checked and I could need struts soon. I told them It dosen’t need struts!! The trans is changing gears unnecessarily.

On the 2nd of April on my way to Wilmington NC the transmission went out near Florence SC. There is no Acura dealer In Florence so I called the dealership in Asheville. They told me the transmission was not under warranty and it sounds like I may need to have it replaced. If I wanted to tow it back to Asheville of course they could do the work at my cost, but maybe I could call the 800 numbers on my window. I called that number and was told they only cover paint warranties. I finally got in touch with Acura corporate office and talked to a very helpful fellow! He had me have the truck towed to Acura in Columbia SC. I am so glad I took it there where I received nothing less than award winning service. The service tech was very helpful and professional and treated me as if my vehicle was new and I had just purchased from their dealership, when in fact I am from Asheville and my truck was out of warranty. Acura replaced the transmission with what they called a “good faith” repair realizing that I shouldn’t need a transmission at less than 80,000 miles on a high-end vehicle lake a MDX. I am so glad that when the transmission went out I was not in Asheville. I also wish the dealership would have admitted that they were having lots of problems with these transmissions.

General Comments:

I still love my MDX.

It just had a bad transmission and the dealership wouldn't admit it.

The transmission that is in my truck now seems to be starting to have the same kind of problems as the first one. I think it is a re-built, but can't be sure, they didn't tell me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2005

8th Aug 2005, 07:19

Trans out on my MDX at 90K. Dealer will replace it with all new gears for $800. Sounds reasonable as they know the trans are not holding up. I wish they would pay more, but legally I'm out of warranty. Great vehicle and dealership (Rosenthal) other than the trans.

Washington, DC.

2001 Acura MDX Touring 3.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1500 miles
Most recent distance56744 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

A great buy

Faults:

Transmission hesitation between 45 and 60 miles an hour. Fixed under warranty.

Radio volume would not work accurately. Fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

This is a great overall vehicle.

Could use more horsepower and sound deadening materials. These issues were fixed in the later models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2004

2001 Acura MDX Touring / Navigation 3.5 Liter V6 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5 Liter V6 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance35451 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

If you value a smooth ride, dependability and cargo space this is the SUV for you!

Faults:

Replaced the brakes and turned the rotors at 20,000 miles.

Replaced the brakes and rotors at 32,000 miles.

Both issue were under warranty.

General Comments:

Navigation system is fabulous and easy to read.

Excellent versatility in cargo space.

Fit and finish are very tight.

Cheap simulated wood on the dash and doors.

Keep having to replace the brakes... read above comments. Could use better brakes.

Fold down 3rd row is wonderful. Would like for it to be power like the new Expedition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2003

2001 Acura MDX Touring, Navigation from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired19384 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Summary:

I love my MDX!

Faults:

Nothing broken or needing repair.

Dealer service department is very helpful.

I am having a few rattles in the middle seat and in the drivers side door.

I have a lot of static on AM radio stations.

General Comments:

Performance is nicely balanced

Needs a little more leg room for the driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2002

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 14 reviews