2002 Acura MDX Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2002 Acura MDX from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carHonda Isuzu

Faults:

My Acura MDX has 84,000 miles on it and I am having trouble with the transmission. It is slipping and acting funny.

I have seen all the recalls on the transmission for this car. I bought this about 2 months ago and love the car.

I am having to take it to the Acura Dealer and have them check the trouble. I am told I may need a new transmission. Does anyone know how to go about how to get the company to help me with this? This was a recall problem and now I am stuck with it. I don't know the first place to start complaining.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd July, 2009

2002 Acura MDX from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carAcura RL

Summary:

Worst money we ever spent

Faults:

We bought a 2002 Acura MDX in 2007 because we thought Acura was a dependable car. We will never make that mistake again.

The transmission went out at 86,000 miles, and when we took it to the dealer, they charged us $5,000 to replace it.

After replacing the old transmission with a brand new one, we had to take it back to the dealer two additional times to have the "new" transmission repaired.

I called Acura Client Services to ask for assistance on my bill because of previous recalls, and they were as helpful as the dealer. My wife and I will never buy another Acura again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd December, 2008

2002 Acura MDX from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Disappointment for the money spent

Faults:

Transmission replaced two times (64,700 & 89,843 miles) - repairs were covered by dealer.

Now at 101K miles dealer wants to replace struts and stabilizer bars.

I live in VA, just discovered a 10/22/05 recall for front damper springs and they will replace struts at same time for cost of parts. Anyone done this?

General Comments:

I purchased vehicle based on reputation. Very unhappy with reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th June, 2008

2002 Acura MDX sport package from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission sport package Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carAcura Honda Accord

Summary:

Acura MDX DEFECTIVE TRANSMISSIONS

Faults:

I have a 2002 Acura MDX that I take very good care of. Several times while driving in 90 degree heat in Los Angeles or going uphill to Palm Springs the transmission has overheated. The light comes on and then the engine beings to "shut off" and my car won't go above 35 mph. I brought it to the Acura Dealer in Carlsbad, California (San Diego) and they pretended not to know anything about transmission problems in the MDX. Now I am reading a bunch of posts here! There should be a class action suit against ACURA for these defective transmissions! My car cost $43,000! This is unexcusable!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th October, 2007

2002 Acura MDX touring 3.5 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz M-Class

Summary:

Don't expect 200K from this vehicle

Faults:

Transmission slipping at 20K, dealer replaced due to recall. Transmission seal failure at 85K. Dealer fixed. Bearing failure 2K miles later, and dealer replaced transmission again.

Front control arms needed replacing at 80K.

Brakes replaced at 60K, new ones warped rotors. Dealer turned, warped again. Put aftermaket set up on, no further problems.

Relays for A/C blew twice.

Current problems: climate control fan needs replacing.

Suspension is worn. Need new struts and control arms.

General Comments:

After owning a 98 ML320 that was in the shop twice a year to get overhauled, I figured buying a honda would give me the best chance at owning a reliable car. WRONG! A month after I took delivery, the climate control stopped working. Turned out to be a relay, which the dealer replaced under warranty. All was well for a while, then the transmission started shifting erratically, and refused to stay in 5th gear. Dealer replaced it, only to have that one fail 60K miles later. I still can't believe this. When did Honda forget how to make a Transmission? My wife has leased 4 Fords, including 2 Tauruses, in the past 15 years, and despite what others have gone through, I never had to put a tranny in any of them. Now I'm replacing transmissions in Hondas? Ugh! At least both were replaced under warranty.

As of right now, I can't wait to get rid of this car. With only 110K on it, it rides worse now than any car I have ever owned, no joke. The steering is loose, and it handles and takes road imperfections like a shopping cart. Dealer is telling me I need new struts, control arms and everything else. They must be kidding. A honda with 110K isn't even broken in yet!!! My son's 98 Accord with 160K on it rides just as solid as it was when it was new, and he only ever replaced a stabalizer bar. Now I have to gut the suspension on a 5 year old suv that's seen nothing but gentle highway driving?

After spending $40K on a car, I honestly can't belive how poorly this vehicle has held up. Honda under-engineered this model, and let me down in the process. I won't buy another SUV from them. If your thinking of buying one, make sure the suspension and transmission are in good shape first, and don't drive off the lot without a warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th June, 2007

13th Jun 2007, 12:08

I'm going through the same thing with my MDX - which until last year (and despite a problem twice with the sound system going bonkers) was a joy to drive. Replaced transmission at 54,000 miles (dealer paid for) but told me would not do again. Well here I am only 10 months later and the darn thing is starting to act up again. And to think I bought this $40,000 vehicle because it was a Honda product and would go forever!!!

13th Jun 2007, 21:55

I saw one the other day with over 200,000 miles on the original transmission. Sorry.

5th Jul 2007, 19:26

I have to concur with this poster. The suspension on the older MDX's is a bit too loose. I have an 02 MDX, bought it new, and while I've had zero transmission problems, at 75,000 miles the car rides horribly. I'm afraid I'm going to need a new setup soon, which I can't understand. Driving wise, I've had the car out in a field on my farm every once in a while, but I wouldn't even call that off roading. I haven't driven this car hard enough to wear anything out, but I've read on an MDX forum that many people replace the suspensions early on these vehicles. Pity.

If you're looking to buy one, as I understand it the 2004 and on models got an upgraded, stronger suspension setup. I'd recommend checking those out first if you're planning on keeping the car for a long time.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 15 reviews