2002 Acura MDX Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2002 Acura MDX touring w/ navigation 245HP 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 245HP 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance48800 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

I wish to buy a hybrid version in a few years, the drive, comfort, and longevity are incredible

Faults:

There was a transmission recall in 2002, but as we purchased this vehicle recently, the transmission was already fixed. Spotty navigation coverage in our area, but the 2005 update will fix that soon.

General Comments:

When car shopping my wife and I looked at many mid size or crossover SUVs, and drove several of each. The Acura MDX has weathered well across the board, form the interior materials, to the exterior paint and moldings, and even the window tinting. The interior and exterior plastic materials still look new with no signs of fading which is more than I can say for any competitor. The paint looks bright and new. The leather shows virtually no signs of wear. This vehicle looks and drives like new, and the drive is excellent. I spent weeks researching and due to poor consumer reports for the BMW X3/5 it was the only of the high end mid size SUVs that I didn't test, (and I love BMW) so I don't know how it stood up to the test of time, but as for the others I was/am displeased. The gas mileage on the freeway is nearly as good as my 525 at 27mpg for the Acura, and my wife gets about 17mpg when in the city.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2005

2002 Acura MDX Touring 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

I did like until now

Faults:

Transmission needs replacement.

General Comments:

Car did great until recently. I was driving on the highway when the transmission started to slip. It seemed to have trouble between the 3rd and 4th gears. It also jerked a lot when down shifting. I was able to make it home okay. Upon driving the next day the problem stopped. When I took it to the Acura dealer they said that the computer read "incorrect gear ratio." They told me that the the transmission fluid was quite dark and that it needed replacement. This was very upsetting especially given the fact that we just had the transmission checked in March for the recall and it simply got the recall modification (no new tranny was needed).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th July, 2005

20th Aug 2005, 12:22

I have recently begun having problems with my 2001 MDX (Honda of Canada) transmission, with 86,700 miles. In researching on Google, I find there was a massive recall on these transmissions:

http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/cars/problems/recalls/results.cfm?SearchType=QuickSearch&rcl_ID=04V176000&summary=true

2002 Acura MDX from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carLexus ES300

Summary:

Bad - Transmission problems with very safe 35K miles?

Faults:

After paying $38+K and carefully maintaining this wonderful looking brand new car, just at 35K miles, the transmission blew up.

If you go on townhall.edmunds.com, you will find plenty of customers noting that MDX & Odyssey transmissions are failing.

Please be aware of the major reliability issue, as transmission repairs are very expensive.

General Comments:

Known transmission problems reported by many owners, even after owning the car for less than 30-50K miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th June, 2005

26th Oct 2005, 14:45

Acura MDX 2002, Mileage 56,000: Transmission Problem…watch out…it is dangerous.

I keep hearing noise for months now and expected this would happen. The dealer checked out and found nothing wrong. Well, today my transmission isn’t shifting right. The engine light came on and D5 Light is flashing. It was frightening. The dealer test drove, he shifted into reverse the car kept going forward. Thanks god it happened at the dealer. Sorry it is not under warranty, but I was prepared. I contacted the American Honda Motor Main office and they will do service at no cost. Watch out and get it fixed.

2002 Acura MDX mdx from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission mdx Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance14400 miles

Summary:

LEMON

Faults:

At 12,500 miles my RACK & PINION had to be replaced. Now at 13,300 miles I need a new transmission which they are giving me a recondition transmission which I am waiting for. They will not replace it with a new transmission. Still having trouble with RACK & PINION.

General Comments:

For more info email me at.

Toemailmark@webtv.net.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th January, 2004

6th Dec 2004, 11:38

Have a 2002 MDX-NAVI. Transmission cratered at 57,500. Lucky me... extended warranty will cover... known mfg problem. Just had the "oil jet kit" recall done 2 months ago. Will be replaced with a rebuilt (won't do a new one for me), but it doesn't matter. It's the same transmission that is failing on Honda/Acura's complete line. Very poor customer service. Will NEVER buy another Acura/Honda product and we are long time buyers... this was our third Acura and forth Honda vehicle. Picking it up tomorrow and driving it straight to Lexus to trade in on a new RX. They have "ripped their britches" with me.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 15 reviews