2004 Acura MDX Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2004 Acura MDX NAV and DVD 3.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles

Summary:

The best all-around SUV on the market!

Faults:

I have a minor brake clunk, like others have talked about. But this occurs only after the car sits for the night. Then 1st thing in the morning I hear the noise backing out of the driveway. For the rest of the day, no more noise. Strange...yes, but I can live with it until my MDX is due for it's next service.

General Comments:

I am very pleased with my purchase, and the performance, and value of this Acura MDX. I would buy another in heartbeat.

The Navigation system is great, well worth the extra cost. You can purchase the DVD based upgrade and install it yourself every 2 years, for about $250. I know Lexus charges $550 to do the same typr of navigation upgrade. The Navigation system also includes a back-up camera. I found this quite useful in parallel parking.

The "RES" package is the DVD player. Another awesome feature! 12 hour trips are easy for my family. Often my son hooks up his Game Cube and plays games while I am driving. Now I never hear "Are we there yet?".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2004

28th Jul 2005, 21:21

The brake clunk your hearing is most likely the ABS check. I have an Infiniti which does the same thing.

5th Apr 2006, 09:29

The Brake clunk noise is a minor issue on MDX, but it is not a big deal. I think it is happening because while parking in Garage the MDX goes forward and we brake. Same way when we take it out from Garage we reverse and brake. So the opposite action moves something forward and backward a little bit in the braking system. We can notice the clunk all the time when we do the same thing anywhere not just in garage only. In garage we happen hear the clunk easily because it is a closed room.

2nd Nov 2006, 18:38

The brake clunk you are hearing, is the ABS check. All MDX's do this.

11th Nov 2008, 19:45

I have a 2004 MDX and was very happy with the purchase until recently.

In July 2008 it had a blown horn fuse (both fuses are in one module), had it diagnosed and replaced. $2. part cost $100 because of diagnostic.

Now the service engine light is on. No acceleration from a stop position with the gas pedal to the floor. Any ideas out there? Trouble code is P2227 from a Snap-on code reader. 45,000KM.

Ben.

11th Mar 2010, 16:38

The brake clunk is happening on my Acura 1.7 EL. It only last a few minutes, and then once you drive off, it disappears.

9th Aug 2010, 07:56

I am for the most part very happy with my purchase. The only complaint I have is the tire pressure warning light has been on since I bought the vehicle. I think there is a slow leak, but I think it's more of a lazy dealer issue.

15th Dec 2012, 02:12

I had this problem, and it lead me to a flat. Took it to my regular guy, and he said it was a faulty valve and told me to go to Acura to get it done, as they were too busy. It cost about $100 and took 45 minutes.

2004 Acura MDX from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance8050 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

All in all, not quite as impressive as I would have expected for $38,000

Faults:

Ever since I took ownership of the car I have had a vibrating noise coming form the rear trim panel in which the Bose Nd Woofer is installed. I've already had it back in the shop to have it repaired, but the problem is back again. Also, the overall quality of the Bose premium sound system is less than the factory installed system I had in my 1993 Camry. I have a six CD changer, but I can't cycle all six CD's in random order. My wife's 2001 Sienna allows her to do that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th September, 2004

4th Jun 2007, 02:46

Regarding your "vibration in the rear trim panel", check all knobs on your luggage rack and make sure they're tight.

10th Oct 2007, 21:48

Is there anything else besides the radio option. How's the reliability of the MDX?

13th Feb 2011, 07:03

You just have to turn the bass down if it rattles too much. For me, just the "ch." and "mode" switches from the steering wheel broke twice.

5th May 2011, 08:55

Performance on the MDX is more of a 8 then a 6. The 04s rip!

I think I'll upgrade my stereo with a new deck with a iPod hookup w/bluetooth (hands free calling), my friend got a $300 ticket for talking on her cell while driving!

Yeah I had that bass rattle too, just turn bass level down.

Oh and you got a good deal for a brand new MDX (retail $53,000)CDN.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 7 reviews