1996 Acura TL Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1996 Acura TL 3.2 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance199044 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Simply superb engineering reliability

General Comments:

I have had this car since 1996 - one owner, one service shop - the Sunnyvale Acura. Car is 900 miles short of 200,000. Superb engineering - not a single problem to date. No repairs - strictly maintenance work. Going strong to date...

I hae had many other cars to date - nothing comes close in quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2007

1996 Acura TL 2.5 2.5 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired128450 miles
Most recent distance129200 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

Luxury styling on a budget

Faults:

Transmission seems to have a late up-shift, and more likely than not, shifts roughly. Down-shifts just fine though.

The rear motor mounts and the transmission mount seem to be worn out. Currently in the process of repairing, and waiting for parts. Hopefully this will fix the rough up-shift.

Front windows go up and down kind of rough. I believe it's the guides, but I'm not sure. I do know that they are starting to lightly scratch the windows.

General Comments:

As long as it's properly maintained, this car runs great.

Interior is spacious, and comfortably accommodates my wife and baby (in a car-seat of course!) in the backseat.

Considering the length of the car, the turning radius is awesome. You can get in and out of fairly tight spaces.

I thought the car would ride a little smoother than it does, but with 125k+ miles on it, I think it just needs new struts.

The 2.5l engine is considerably weaker than the 3.2l model, and my recommendation to anyone looking for a TL, is to get the 3.2l.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st June, 2006

12th Jan 2008, 15:14

Bought a 96 3.2 TL 2 years ago.

It has been trouble free except for one thing: the interior heater motor died and it cost 700 bucks to replace. 7 hours labor and $135.00 for the motor.

They had to take the whole dash out to replace it... yikes.

Anyway... all is well and it's got lots of life left on it I'm sure... 180,000 miles and counting.

29th Jun 2012, 18:26

Want to buy an Acura 1996; the dealer wants 7,000 dollars. It's clean, but the Blue Book is about 4,500. Bank won't finance it. What do you think?

30th Jun 2012, 12:11

Put 2500 down, and finance it with the 4500 the bank will give you.

1996 Acura TL 3.2TL 3.2 liter from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.2 liter Automatic
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

Best car I've ever owned and I've had a few in my 67 years

General Comments:

I bought this vehicle after it had been totaled and rebuilt when it was 1 year old. I didn't realize that it had no manufacturer's warranty (or so I've been told). Since I've owned it, I've only used 3 or 4 tanks of the recommended grade of gasoline. I really can't tell much difference in performance due to that. I've done all my own maintenance and the fluids have always looked very clean and nothing has ever been added. I've never had to change a belt, hose, or do anything to the AC unit. I consider this vehicle a "freak of nature" especially since I live where it routinely get over 110 degrees F in summer. I've always wanted to "open it up" but fear of fines and deer have made me stop at 110 mph. The vehicle lived on my front driveway in the full sun until 2 years ago when it was allowed in the garage. The dash and other interior plastic and leather are none the worse for that. I recently bought a Tundra, but my wife won't part with this car. The salesman wanted it for his girlfriend. I just remembered that the seat doesn't go upwards, but I didn't notice that til recently.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2006

1996 Acura TL 2.5 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Still my wife's favorite after 10 years..

Faults:

Replaced ABS pump twice, O2 sensor failure.

General Comments:

Great car. After 135000 miles it stills drive and looks as good as the day we bought it.

Not a performer, but very reliable and comfortable. Handling is good, but not great. It'll never out handle a BMW of the same era, but it will surely out last it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2006

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 21 reviews