1996 Acura TL Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1996 Acura TL 3.2TL 3.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carDodge Van

Summary:

Very High Quality for the $$$

Faults:

Igniter for one cylinder. Cost over $300. Starter went out. Cost about $700. That was way out of line, but was commented on in other reviews. Would also agree with others that there are guides in the front side windows that leave scratches on the tinted interior. No other problems in about 3 years.

General Comments:

I got a good deal on the price. This is the 3rd Acura in the family and I have had excellent overall reliability. Very comfortable car. Also, even though you are supposed to use high grade gas, I use the cheapest unleaded. My mechanic said that I can do that, but if I am going to take a trip of several hours of driving at high speeds, then use highest grade.

This car is much less than a Lexus and although I would certainly rate that car higher, for the price differential this is a high quality car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2004

26th Apr 2006, 13:36

I am curious as to how much you paid for this vehicle. I am looking at one to buy now and am trying to see how good of a deal I am getting.

18th May 2006, 10:56

I have had Acura 3.2TL 1996 since I bought in 1996. It is a great car. It is almost 115,000 miles. Just lately I am beginning to have problems when I try to start the car. I turn the ignition and nothing, and tried several times, it works fine. The problem comes and goes, I took the car to the dealer, it starts fine, they checked no problem. But after few days later, the problem comes again. Now it is okay again, I don't anyone have the same problem as I do for this model.

18th Jun 2006, 09:50

My wife has a 1997 TL 2.5 and she has trouble starting her car too. She tries once and nothing happens. She then waits five seconds and it starts fine. Does anyone know what this could be? It always starts, but is a little annoying.

30th Aug 2006, 16:00

Our car is showing the same starting problems. The problem first appeared 2 months ago and went away. It re-appeared 2 days ago. We too would be interested to find out what the problem is.

29th Nov 2008, 17:22

My 96 Acura 3.2 TL has 113,000 miles on it, and I turn the ignition and it just clicks. Can that be the starter? Also when you have people riding in the back and you turn on corners, does the wheel touch, making a weird noise?

13th Apr 2013, 11:15

Very well may be the ignition. I had to have mine replaced. Got new keys and all. Hope this helps.

26th Apr 2013, 20:18

I have a 96 Acura TL 2.5, and I was having the same problem, where it would start sometimes, and sometimes it wouldn't. I finally found a great mechanic that fixed the problem. It was my main relay was going bad. Cost about $225, which included the diagnostic test of $75. Haven't had any problems since. Hope this helps.

1996 Acura TL 3.2 3.2L V6 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2L V6 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles

Summary:

An excellent combination of performance, price and comfort

Faults:

The passenger side window makes a lot of noise at speeds over 50 mph or during windy days.

Seat are not very supportive.

Some controls are hard to get to and some are not illuminated.

Some buttons on the CD player do not work.

Car is pretty heavy at roughly 3400 lbs.

The front bucket seats are not very supportive.

General Comments:

The ride is extremely smooth and comfortable. The V6 is very quiet.

A lot of nice features such as dual power seats, power sun roof, power side view mirrors, fog lights, dual seat heaters, climate control.

Excellent performance even with the weight. Acceleration is good and the car feels have stable at high speeds.

Nice spacious trunk and the interior is pretty spacious as well.

Excellent response from steering wheel, brakes, and accelerator pedal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2004

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 21 reviews