2001 Acura TL Reviews

2001 Acura TL 3.2 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance157243 miles
Previous carNissan 280ZX

Summary:

Does what it should, and has served us well

Faults:

Right tail light wiggles loose and goes out. I just put it back in the socket, and all is well.

The doors that cover the front two cup holders had gone a bit wonky.

Otherwise, no issues.

General Comments:

It's the luxury version of a Honda Accord, but all-in-all, it has a comfortable ride, decent rear leg room, good leather seats, and comes well equipped.

The 225hp 3.2 V6 gives ample power, and the TL has some get-up-and-go when driven in tiptronic. It's a solid in town driver and a great highway cruiser. Pretty much what I would expect for a luxury Honda.

I hear this model year (in general) has had many tranny issues. I've driven our TL in the worst winter weather the Midwest has to offer, and the 120 degree summers of Las Vegas now. I have yet to have any serious issues. To be honest, I'm impressed at the reliability. However, I could be an exception to the rule here...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2011

2001 Acura TL 3.2 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

These cars are a serious safety hazard

Faults:

Transmission failure, without warning, at 86,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is a fine car, except that the transmission can fail early, with no warning.

The manufacturer does not stand behind its product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th July, 2010

14th Sep 2011, 22:24

I will buy an Acura again. It is a nice luxury car, but I will say I'm very disappointed to hear that their transmissions aren't good. So ask at Acura dealers, what have they done to improve their production of transmissions, that all Acuras have had since the 1999 to 2009 models.

2001 Acura TL 3.2L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.2L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Super car, except for the transmission

Faults:

Transmission slipping between 2nd and 3rd gear.

General Comments:

Excellent car, up until the transmission problem. The transmission started slipping between 2nd and 3rd gear yesterday. The car only has 48,000 miles and has been lightly driven all of its life. The dealer quoted a repair cost of $5,900, with possible assistance from Acura. However, it didn't sound like there would be a great deal of assistance and I'd still be looking at a sizable repair bill. I'm also apprehensive about the problem recurring. So I decided to bite the bullet and trade it in for a new TSX. The best the dealer could do on trade-in was $1,750. I called Acura and they wouldn't help me on the purchase/trade-in, not an upgrade, accessories, nothing. So "strike one" against Acura. I'm a "two-strike" person, any problems with the new car and I'm swearing off of Acura forever. Did the same for Chevy's and Nissan, two-strikes and you're out, forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2009

7th Jun 2009, 20:37

Consumer Reports have reported the Acura TSX was very reliable. They did report the Acura TL 2000 thru 2003 as worse than average for transmission problems. Some third gear clutches had premature wear causing failure. I have a 2003 TL Type S with 60,000 miles and have had no problems. It is a great car. We average 28 mpg. We did buy a Certified Acura from a dealer with the extended warranty, so should the tranny fail, Acura should cover the repair. I will be looking for a used TSX 6 speed to replace my Honda Civic soon.

8th Jun 2009, 21:43

What a lousy trade-in deal they offered.. you could dump SELL it for more than that, even with the tranny problems. The low mileage on the car makes just the ENGINE in the car worth more than what they're trying to give you.

9th Jun 2009, 18:57

I sold my 4 year old TL with 41000 miles for 10k as Carfax had the trans issues on the report Worse resale we ever had.The trans was replaced when we sold not needing yet another one. Carfax is great to the buyer as this is a good example..

2001 Acura TL from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carAcura TL

Summary:

This car is a lemon!

Faults:

The transmission was slipping and I complained because this was a brand new car. They said nothing turned up on the computer.

Then the car stopped on the highway at 70 miles an hour. This dead stop almost threw me through the windshield. They said they put a new transmission in, but I don't think they did because they had it ready that day.

Then 15,000 miles later it happened again that it was missing in second gear. The service man drove it and said they couldn't get it to do it. I brought it back again 3 weeks later and they said nothing showed up.

My son used the car, and took it to Chicago and it stopped suddenly in the middle of snow and cold, and he had to call a tow truck. This dealership said it was the transmission and they replaced the transmission, but I feel it slipping in second gear.

I have owned Lexus. We have two, and the 1998 my other son drives has 225.000 miles and the transmission is like new!

I will never buy Honda again; they don't stand behind the customer and gave me the run around.

I just bought a new ES450 Lexus and I wouldn't even consider an Acura. If the company had done the right thing in the beginning, I would have considered another, but never again, terrible customer service.

At least the Chicago dealership fixed the transmission for now, but the other dealership always could never find a problem until it through us to hit the windshield.

Consumer affairs should have had a total recall on this vehicle! They are not doing their job! Not all Japanese cars are the same. Honda needs new management!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd June, 2009

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 16 reviews