2001 Acura TL Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2001 Acura TL 3.2 gas from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission gas Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

STAY AWAY FROM ALL ACURA PRODUCTS - I am going back to my FAITHFUL Toyota

Faults:

- all dash lights and tail lights blew out same day we bought the car

- heavy vibration when accelerating on highway

- gas mileage not what dealer said it would be

General Comments:

A HUGE mistake. We bought the car used with only 120,000 on it. First of all, ALL the dash lights and tail lights blew out on the way home of the SAME day that we bought the car. VERY disappointing. So... the next day, we took it to the Acura dealer. They fixed the lights, or so they "thought". We were on our way home again, and all the lights blew out again. So... we took it right back the same day. They did fix all the lighting.

But now there is a VERY noticeable vibration, especially the more you accelerate on the highway. Could this be a transmission problem? Or does it sound more like a wheel/axle problem? The transmission shifts smoothly and accelerates effortlessly. But I just want it to STOP VIBRATING.

If anyone has any idea what could cause this, please share the info with me: lilydi78@Yahoo.com.

-Sincerely Disappointed with Acura

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th July, 2007

31st Jul 2007, 15:34

I think the dash lights have something else to do with the previous owner. The only thing to really be concerned about on this car is the transmission. I have seen plenty of other cars, GM, Toyota, etc that have had all their lights blow out.

2001 Acura TL 6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carAcura TL

Summary:

Piece of crap. Sorry

Faults:

Transmission problems. Also, little things like replacing head lights...$200 with labor because you have to take the bumper off. Seats wear badly as well. This is not typical Japanese quality.

General Comments:

Do not buy this model year...2001 TL. Dealer is not much good either. Never going near this manufacturer again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th December, 2006

6th Dec 2006, 01:36

Bumper removed for headlights? I have an Accord from the same year period and I do not have to remove any bumper pieces. AHHH, you might think I am crazy, but the cars are almost identical and come out of the same factory. I have never heard of this and I question your dealer.

18th Dec 2006, 18:26

Sorry, but you don't need to remove the bumper cover, lol.

2001 Acura TL 3.2 3.2 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Poor. Stay away from it!

Faults:

We bought the car new in late 2000, and in late 2002, at 45,000 miles, the transmission went (started shifting hard between 2-3 gear). The dealer replaced it under warranty, and Honda sent the letter extending the warranty to 100,000 miles.

In late 2004, at 85,000 miles (40,000 on the new tranny), Honda sent a recall letter stating that a "jet-kit" needed to be installed to better lubricate the 2nd gear and clutch pack. Of course, at this point, I had 40,000 miles on the new tranny operating without the additional lubrication.

Last month, at 125,000 total miles (80K on the new tranny), it failed again. I had it replaced at my cost and traded it in on a Lexus.

General Comments:

Honda has yet to take ownership of this problem. They screwed up and they want it to go away. They would not consider any shared cost of tranny #3, saying that I needed to take "ownership" of the problem. I took ownership of a new Lexus instead. Honda lost a customer forever. Funny thing is, they just replaced my dad's Odyssey's failed tranny at no charge at 105,000. Maybe a small claims action for breached warranty of merchantability will get some money back. Apparently the class-action on this hasn't gotten legs.

Honda/Acura? Never again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd November, 2006

2001 Acura TL 3.2 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carAcura TL

Summary:

Unreliable

Faults:

We went on a 1,000 mile road trip to PA, and on the way home (at night, in the pouring rain, with a toddler) we lost our transmission. This was on a 65 MPH highway. The tranny slipped from 2000 RPM-5000RPM and back a few times. By the time I could get safely pulled over, the car would not move.

We had it towed to a local garage (thankfully, my mother with AAA was with me and we were about 30 miles from home!). They called the next day to tell us that the tranny was gone and they have such a high failure rate that they go for $2000 even at junk yards. They quoted us $3650 for a rebuilt, with a new computer (Acura required) and labor.

The kicker is, we had only been over our mileage by 3K. We were at 103K miles when we could no longer move. I cannot believe that Honda/Acura can have the #2 most reliable vehicle reputation.

After simply searching for "2001 Acura TL transmissions", there were pages upon pages that have had their trannys replaced as early as 25K and some have even had two replacements. How is this the #2 most reliable car company? I do not think a tranny should go at 100K, if maintained properly, there is no reason for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th October, 2006

5th Oct 2006, 11:28

How are you with maintenance? DO you replace your tranny fluid every 30-35,000 miles? IF not, I can see it as fault between you and Honda Motor Co. Hondas fault for not discontinuing that tranny and you for not changing the fluid because you were ignorant. SO far our V6 Honda's have not had any problems because we change our fluid often and we do not drive bad. I drive my V6 Accord on 3000 mile road trips with no problems and it has one of the problematic trannys. She'll hit 200,000 miles very soon.

13th Sep 2008, 21:15

This is a known problem with Hondas and Acuras. If it's a maintenance issue, why have these transmissions needed to be changed as early as 20k way before the fluid change interval?

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 16 reviews