2001 Acura TL Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2001 Acura TL from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance129000 miles

Summary:

This car is a huge rip off and dangerous!!!

Faults:

My transmission blew at 79,000 miles.

My transmission blew again at 129,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is a serious rip off!! I had my first transmission replaced at 79,000 miles. The thing is they recalled the transmission and then replaced it with a re-manufactured transmission. The second transmission blew at 129,000 miles. My car is not even paid for yet and I have gone through two transmissions. The dealership will not pay to replace it, even though it only lasted about 8 mos. because I am out of warranty!!! It is way too expensive to fix. I don't understand how Honda/Acura can continue to risk people's lives and rip them off. My lawyer is going to be getting in touch with Acura, if anyone else is planning on taking legal action against Acura please email me. If everybody sticks together they have to do something!!! dee_itlnprcs@yahoo.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th November, 2005

7th Nov 2005, 23:44

How did you drive 50,000 miles in 8 months??

23rd Jun 2006, 04:26

I thought the same thing! 50,000 miles in 8 Months. I wonder how much of all this stuff is exaggeration? I own a 2000 3.2 TL I bought in April '04 with 28,000 miles, tranny went out at 74,000 miles in Dec '05 - no questions ask COVERED by warranty. I am now at 85,000 and no problems yet - car is great, I love it - service is great-no problems. Read other reviews on other cars, most all have problems. The only one vehicle that did not have a single problem or negative review is the Toyota Camry -- which my boyfriend has and it has 264,000 miles and we just replaced the tranny in it - but never any other problems. Maybe some people need to sell their Acura and buy a Toyota.

2001 Acura TL 3.2 3.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carAcura Vigor

Faults:

All I want to say is this, after reading the reports on TL's. I decided that I talk to my mechanic and he confirm it that the transmitions goes bad on TL and TL type S. Don't buy it you are taking big chance. Right now I'm looking to buy a 2001 Nissan Maxima. (2002-2003 Maximas front headlights are getting stolen). I guess you have to do a research on everything before you buy it.

General Comments:

.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th April, 2004

2001 Acura TL Type S from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Transmission kills the car!

Faults:

Three transmission failures in approx. 7,000 miles (each replaced under warranty) with last failure occurring on interstate traveling at speed limit when all of sudden it began downshifting... serious safety issue.

Considering filing for BBB arbitration or filing lawsuit as Acura has refused to replace or buy back car voluntarily and they had the audacity to simply offer to extend the normal warranty... how does this fix the transmission defect that they have not been able to fix!

With two of the transmission replacements, dealer messed up stereo and had to replace it both times.

Squeaks in headliner/roof, but "fixed" (to a certain extent) by dealer.

General Comments:

Without transmission problems, car would be a great buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th November, 2003

8th Jan 2004, 00:14

I sympathize with the "Transmission Kills the Car" review about the 2001 Acura TL. In response to the reviewer's comment that he/she may want to file a lawsuit, I know of a class action suit that has been filed in California on the Honda/Acura transmission failures. I can be contacted at pzahn@counsel-direct.com for further info.

25th Apr 2004, 05:44

The TL type S did not appear until the 2002 model year. This persons states they own a 2001 type S. That cannot be correct - I hope they weren't duped! They may have purchased the car in 2001 - in fact very early 2001 is when the 2002 models came out which introduced the Type S model. I know some will say this is nit-picking, but let's face it - the year (or model as it may be) being wrong invalidates the comment because we don't know what vehicle they are talking about.

26th Jun 2005, 16:20

I am the owner of a 2002 Acura TL Type-S and I have had 3 transmissions in 3 mos. On average, the transmissions are going about every 900-1100 miles. I have contacted the manufacturer (Acura) and they are reviewing my proposal to assist me in trading out of this car. They seem like they are willing to work with customer and have shown signs of good faith in the past. So I am hoping that they are willing to own up to poor manufacturing and deliver better results the second time around.

15th Nov 2011, 12:09

The Acura TL Type S was offered in 2002 and 2003, NOT in 2001. I have driven our 2003 Type S over 60,000 miles since October 2006, and the only problem was a heater coil in the driver's seat failed. Was replaced under warranty and a loaner car was provided. Has been a good fun to drive car. We average Y-T-D just over 26 mpg.

2001 Acura TL Type S from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance34500 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Dollar for dollar the best performing, most reliable sports sedan you can buy

Faults:

Nothing. The car gets regular oil changes, tire rotations, etc. I depend on it every day and it has never had a problem of any kind.

General Comments:

I was looking for a Lexus when I saw this car. It was the first Type S the dealer ever delivered (03/01). Introduced as an 02 in early 01, it offered more for the dollar than any sports sedan in its class.

The car is tight, quick and comfortable. It handles better than any coupe or sedan I've ever owned.

The 260hp V6 requires premium fuel. When you drive one you will know why.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2002

2001 Acura TL 3.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance7850 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

A high performance car with a reasonable price tag!

Faults:

The window motor was recalled, the dealer had a rental ready for me, when the car was being serviced.

Right front seat has a spot where the leather is not as soft as the other seats, it's not noticeable unless you touch it with your hand. When sitting in the seat you cannot feel the harder leather.

General Comments:

This is one of the best cars that I have ever owned. It's fun, fast and is a sharp looking car.

This 2002 Acura 3.2 TL is a great driving machine, for a younger person just out of school, looking to impress his or her peers.

This Acura is the 3.2 TL not the s-type, I feel with its 225hp it has more power than is needed for everyday driving.

Off the line I have just about beaten every car that has tried to race me. I have also beaten a BMW 325ic.

The interior of the car looks like something you would find in a Lexus or Mercedes, very rich looking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2001

5th Jun 2005, 11:53

It may look it, but it lacks the quality of a Lexus' interior

(I know because I've owned both a '96 Lexus ES300 and an '01

Acura 3.2 TL.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 16 reviews