2006 Acura TL Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2006 Acura TL from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Car needs more refinement and better build quality

Faults:

The quality of the ride is rough; should be smooth with a "luxury" vehicle.

Quality of build should be better.

Quality of paint; i.e.: "Orange Peel" appearance

Doors swing back and could cause injury to your leg or ankle.

Engine is loud.

Car feels "heavy"

Steering is a bit tight.

Quality of leather is substandard.

Quality of interior finish needs improvement.

Passenger front seat "squeaks" when someone is sitting in it.

General Comments:

Overall, the car drives and handles great; very comfortable seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th January, 2007

24th Jan 2007, 12:13

Engine not as refined as your 626?

26th Jan 2007, 12:04

Since his major complaints would have been self evident on a five minute test drive, I question why he bought the vehicle to begin with.

26th Jan 2007, 19:08

To respond to your question, The Acura TL is a great car, no doubt. I love the way it drives, the handling is great and very responsive however, the suspension is pretty rough; especially when you drive over bumps--you expect a smoother, more-refined driving experience with a "luxury" vehicle. I read that Acura has "improved" the suspension for 2007.

2006 Acura TL Navi from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance29500 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Summary:

Love it!

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Outstanding car in every aspect.

Sound system is top notch.

Car is extremely comfortable.

Just traded a Benz for this car and it's the best trade I ever made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2006

2006 Acura TL from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Phenomenal!

Faults:

Not one single thing.

General Comments:

I objectively cannot say enough about the vehicle, in a word I am simply "stunned" by the overall conformation of this vehicle.

I do not expect any single vehicle to be perfect in all categories as so many do, how absurd. I knew at the time of purchase after two test drives what the TL was and what it was not. I can only say that the level of engineering excellence as demonstrated by this car - and that of my wife's TSX is simply mind-boggling.

Never a single hic-up, both are automatics and we are so glad to no longer have manual transmission.

The exceptional navigation system is just that, above all with voice recognition, which also works othre systems on the car (s)! The comfort levels and the stereo, beyond first rate.

I've owned 2 BMW's, very good, but nowhere to the level of the Acura, as well, a Lexus which we sold after 8 months due to a series of constant problems.

Honda - ACURA, thank you. You have designed such wonderfully fun, totally reliable vehicles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2006

20th Aug 2006, 11:06

I have an 06 TL and love it. However the dash and the front air bag cover are starting to become different colors. The dash is turning white while the front air bag covering is actually becoming inundated with dark lines. I have noticed some other [TL's] with similiar issues. How is your car with regard to these anomalies?

2006 Acura TL from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance4100 miles
Previous carToyota Avalon

Summary:

I should have bought a BMW 530IX

Faults:

No serious problems so far.

General Comments:

I am disappointed with a few things.

For starters, my hand held Garmin is much more capable than the onboard NAV. In an effort to keep the NAV simple, Honda really dumbed it out. No backup of directions, not enough information, etc.

The seam on the shifter faces your palm. It irritates your palm as you drive. The dealer made little effort to fix it.

The car is peppy, but not as fast as I would like. It could use another 50 horsepower.

The new excitement wore off within days.

Dealer oil changes are $43, so I'm not sure I will continue to do business with them for that service.

Handling IS excellent, I am happy with that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd May, 2006

27th May 2006, 09:27

Not peppy? You have 270 hp with the VTEC engine! I am extremely satisfied with mine. When I need more than that I drive my sons 2000 Viper RT/10 6 speed once in a while. It's a very uncivilized car, impractical, but fun. I would much rather drive my TL which is loaded with amenities and has plenty of performance for myself. The handling and braking could be a bit better... but there doesn't seem to be a power sacrifice. Also I have paid $10 less at my Acura dealer for my oil changes/car wash combo.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 8 reviews