1993 Acura Vigor Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1993 Acura Vigor GS 2.5 Liter 5 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Liter 5 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 kilometres
Most recent distance126000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

An excellent performance and quality bargain

Faults:

I have owned this classic for only three weeks to date. Nothing has gone wrong and it is my great hope that nothing will go wrong for a long time to come.

General Comments:

So far I love this car. My neighbours love this car. My family loves this car. This is a lovely car. It is quick and great on the highway cruising around 130 km-ph. The sound system is awesome. The heated leather seats are great as are the heated mirrors. I cannot think of anything that I do not like about this vehicle. The only thing that I may be concerned about is that K & N Filters does not make an air filter or performance intake filter kit for this engine (yet).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2002

24th May 2002, 21:03

I have contacted K&N several times. They have told me that they do not have any plans for making an air filter for this engine. My research has shown that more than 30,000 of the 2.5 L. five cylinder engines were made by Acura between 1992 and 1998. I made K&N aware of this fact. They told me that the cost involved in manufacturing the filter would not be in their best interests - too bad!

1993 Acura Vigor GS 2.5 inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 inline 6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance89500 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

It will always be the love of my life

Faults:

I have only had to replace the basics (brakes, oil, and tires). I had to get a camber kit, but that was only because I lowered my car so much.

General Comments:

With my Vigor lowered almost 3 inches, it handles better than my friend's Civic with a 3,000 dollar suspension kit in it. I just wish that they had more performance parts for it, because it could keep up with the best with some engine mods.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2001

15th Nov 2003, 23:12

It is a 2.5 in-line 5 cylinder not 6 cylinder! BOSS.

12th Jul 2006, 08:33

That's cool that you did all that to your Vigor, is it stick? And also, do you know any little tricks to make the car run better.

22nd Jul 2006, 09:54

I have a 1993 Vigor. I have added a Secret Weapon R intake, magnecore race wires, RActive exhaust, and 17" Kumhos. I noted an instant increase in performance with this combination.

Jim.

1993 Acura Vigor 2.5 20 valve 5 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 20 valve 5 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carAcura Vigor

Summary:

This is a great car, but it will cost you

Faults:

The seats do wear out quickly.

I've noticed in Acura valves, the engine seems to lose one real quick, which leaves your car running at about 2-3 rpms, just enough for the car to keep running.

Window guards, where are they? Yes indeed cup holders, I can't find any.

The stereo, man that thing is hot when you touch it. Which causes the light to go out on the stereo.

General Comments:

Smaller the part, the higher the cost.

This car is fast in and out of the city..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th September, 2001

1993 Acura Vigor 5 cylinder inline from Puerto Rico

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5 cylinder inline Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Wide ass car with poor cabin space (the doors are a foot deep)

Faults:

Bad A/C, the blower motor.

Oil leaks at early age.

General Comments:

A FAST accelerating car, has beaten every silly Civic and V6 Accord. A fast, reliable car for under $7,000!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2001

1993 Acura Vigor ES 2.5 inline 5 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 inline 5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance135500 miles

Summary:

A luxury sedan that drives like a sports car

Faults:

Transmission had to be rebuilt at 125000 miles; reverse and 4 fork.

My car now needs about $950 in engine leaks fixed, at 135500 miles.

General Comments:

This car has been a dream to drive, but maintenance has to be done timely or it will cost a bundle to fix. I've found that no one wants to touch an inline 5 without ripping you off in labor charges.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2001

1993 Acura Vigor GS 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance150500 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Acura did it perfect, again!

Faults:

With my lead foot, I wore out a clutch.

Other than normal maintenance, this car is perfect.

General Comments:

This car has it all. Luxury, power, speed and looks. All you pre 1999 Mustangs, keep an eye in the mirror for this speed demon. I've been toe to toe with a 5.0 and have no problems from 0 to 140 mph. The 5 speed makes it a true luxury sports sedan (maybe it should have been a 2-door).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2000

1993 Acura Vigor GS 2.5 inline 5 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 inline 5 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance67600 miles

Summary:

Expensive to maintain but a thrill to drive

Faults:

None, other than normal maintenance. Have had a muffler, brakes, battery, timing belt, water pump and all other belts replaced.

General Comments:

I have owned this car since brand new and the novelty has still not worn off after seven years. The body style and handling are superb and the car is still a head-turner. Since the Vigor was only made for three model years, ('92 - 94), I look at it as a future classic.

Only complaint is that I wish it had an 8-way adjustable driver's seat lilke my '94 Legend. Both are great cars and still barely broken in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th August, 2000

24th Jan 2002, 18:29

Amen! Our other car is the 94 Legend GS also and I Love that Drivers seat!!!

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 14 reviews