Alfa Romeo GT Reviews

2006 Alfa Romeo GT JTDm 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Buy one and you won't be disappointed

Faults:

Intermittent fault on driver's electric window.

A few niggly but unidentified rattles.

General Comments:

Lovely car. Has gorgeous looks and handles brilliantly - well it is an Alfa!

Build quality could be better, but not bad overall.

Still quite exclusive - not that many on the roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2012

2005 Alfa Romeo GT JTD 1.9 turbo diesel from Spain

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired750000 kilometres
Most recent distance950000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Fun to own and look at, but very poor build quality

Faults:

Glove box opening catch and unit failed.

Wind noise from passenger door seals.

Leather seat stitching on drivers seat failed on cushion area.

Failed clutch.

Headlamp alignment virtually impossible. Rear parcel shelf rattle.

Red paintwork flaking in places.

Engine quite noisy.

General Comments:

Great looking.

Excellent to drive.

Very good fuel consumption.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th April, 2011

3rd Feb 2012, 06:22

I have a 2005 GT Alfa 1.9 JTD.

Problems:

Cushion seat stitching both front seats failed.

Clutch needing replacement.

Rear hatch shelf fixers broken.

Glove box catch snapped and unusable.

Very smokey when starting; checked by garage, but they say no problem.

Seat belt warning light often stays on for long periods of time, and is then OK sometimes.

Similarly, glow plug warning light comes on, but then sometimes doesn't.

Noisy engine.

Front door handle, driver's side snapped off.

Xenon headlights are difficult to adjust, and go through bulbs regularly.

I have looked after the car, which has done 55,000.00 miles.

It is a lovely looking car, but the constant niggles and very poor build quality means I would never buy another Alfa.

2004 Alfa Romeo GT 2.0 JTS from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 JTS Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

Buy before you die

Faults:

CD player is a tad temperamental, but, ooh, the thing is gorgeous.

General Comments:

No sixth gear, high emissions, two doors. Family think I'm mad, but... look at it...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2009

2004 Alfa Romeo GT Distinctive 1.9 JTD 16v turbo diesel from Belgium

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.9 JTD 16v turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 155

Summary:

All in one car with a design to match

Faults:

80 000km, wishbones replaced under warranty.

155 000km, clutch/flywheel.

160 000km, new clutch under warranty.

190 000km, gear-pedal crunches (fixed under warranty for bad installation clutch + new clutch).

200 000km, EGR valve, thermostat, interior ventilator.

220 000km, new wishbones up and down, and Koni FSD shocks and springs. Engine supports overhauled.

Drives like new.

General Comments:

Superb handling.

Smooth diesel engine.

Fast yet economical.

Very practical for a coupe car.

Folding seats with a big trunk, and you can put people in the back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2009

2004 Alfa Romeo GT JTS Turismo 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 156

Summary:

Stunning, cheap (used), and moderately practical beauty!

Faults:

Airbag warning light came on a few days after buying my used GT from a (non Alfa) dealer. This was fixed by an Alfa dealer for £30, by diagnosing the problem as a dodgy connection under the passenger seat and making a better connection.

Clunky rear boot - this is a common problem in the GT, and should be fixable without need to visit a dealer (when I get round to it).

General Comments:

Sensational-looking car. I can't believe I own one, and it only cost me £11000 (3 year old model). There can't be many cars that look this good and are so affordable on the road. Mine is stromboli grey (dark grey). Colour choice is obviously a subjective thing, but I reckon this dark grey suits the lines/shape very well.

Quite a rare sight on the road, and it gets quite a few looks.

Handling is excellent, although the ride is a little on the firm side on rough road surfaces (I have 17" alloys, which presumably add to the firmness over standard 16" wheels).

Performance is pretty good, although not blistering. It's what I expected having previously owned a 2 litre twin spark 156. Acceleration is excellent if you get the revs going, but otherwise it cruises along very nicely.

The boot is a decent size, but rear accommodation is quite cramped, even for my 4 and 6 year old kids. Thankfully I have a Golf as a family runaround, and the GT is usually used by just me!

Did I mention that it's stunning to look at?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2007

6th Oct 2009, 15:01

It's 2 years since my original review of my GT, and I thought I'd add another paragraph or two to give an update!

I've still got the GT, and am still absolutely loving it. It's now done 40,000 miles, and has been absolutely flawless.

The only downside has been an expensive service last year, which included having to replace brake discs and pads, and bits of the exhaust. But apart from that I've nothing to grumble about.

The car still looks as stunning as the day I bought it (a few scuffs to the 17" alloys aside), and it even coped really well taking me and my family (wife and 2 kids) on holiday to France last year. That boot REALLY is a good size. Best car I've ever owned!

4th Apr 2011, 09:49

And here I am again, giving another update almost 4 years after acquiring my used GT. And I STILL love it! Admittedly I am now considering replacing it (with an Alfa 159TI), but only because I fancy a change.

The GT has continued to behave impeccably with zero faults. Another expensive service last year though, to change the cambelt and tensioners (needs doing every 3 years), but a price worth paying for the peace of mind.

I see lots of people reporting long lists of issues with their GTs. I guess I've been lucky? Well, if I am, then I was also lucky with my previous Alfa 156 which I had for over 5 years without any issues. Almost 10 years of Alfa ownership for me have proved incredibly reliable - it's just servicing costs and the not-particularly-impressive mpg figures which detract from the experience for me.

I still love the look of the GT - it's a bit of a design classic methinks - and my near-7-year-old example still looks as fresh as the day it came out of the factory. When I do eventually replace it, it's going to be a sad day...

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 14 reviews