AMC Ambassador Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1964 AMC Ambassador 990 327 V8 from North America

Model year1964
Year of manufacture1964
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 327 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles

Summary:

Beautiful styling, excellent speed and very easy to maintain

Faults:

Fuel pump.

Alternator.

Transmission rebuilt.

Carburetor rebuilt.

Repainted.

General Comments:

This is an excellent example of an un-restored, original Ambassador.

Painted black with a red interior, this model shows how AMC Rambler could style a car as its luxury model while provided affordability and excitement.

With its 327 V8 engine, 4 barrel Holley carburetor, power brakes, power steering, automatic transmission, and original AM radio, this sleeper puts the best of automobiles to sham. Cruising easily at 90 miles per hour on Toronto's super highways is no problem for this beauty, while passing others in amazement.

The engine is super quiet and easily maintained with NOS parts.

The interior styling of the Ambassador 990 shows great thought to detail and comfort. The combination vinyl and cloth seats are low and comfortable with ample room in back seat for three passengers. The front seats fold down to make sleeping quarters for two.

For a 41 year old car, it handles better than most new cars. Move over cause that 64 Rambler Ambassador 990 is on your tail!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2005

19th May 2005, 21:08

Better shag it on down to your Nash-Rambler dealer pronto there sparky, the sixty fives are out already. Word is they are s-w-e-e-t!!

20th May 2005, 06:34

Tailgating people in a 40 year old Rambler?

Aren't you a little embarrassed to admit that?

19th Dec 2005, 17:49

Glad to read another post about somebody enjoying their nice, old car. For some reason, the fact that somebody is getting enjoyment out of an old classic just seems to anger some people. They must be so conditioned to be conformists that seeing any departure from that makes them feel threatened.

20th Dec 2005, 11:42

Such a cutting rebuttal. I am going to call Bob and have him meet me with his Ambassador, I will be driving my '63 Rambler American 440 and we will flatten you. Seriously.

12th Feb 2006, 21:21

Hey guys, I'm the one who wrote this review and I am sorry to say I did it. It would seem that other people cannot just appreciate the excitement an owner has for their classic. The car is very rare and all original here in Canada and I wanted to share the info. Could everyone stop the name calling and hostility and just have fun. This is not a competition. Thanks.

1969 AMC Ambassador SST 293 V8 from North America

Model year1969
Year of manufacture1969
First year of ownership1978
Most recent year of ownership1980
Engine and transmission 293 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles

Summary:

Classic and under-rated

Faults:

Transmission failed every ~15k miles or so.

Window knobs sheared off all four doors.

Unique door lock 'flip' handles snapped off.

General Comments:

This car had a lot of miles on it when my dad gave it to me. A lime plant near his work had ruined the paint and vinyl wood-grain siding, but it had no rust.

AMC used an automatic transmission designed for the V-6 for this small V-8. It never lasted beyond three months.

The motor ran sweet and it got 15mpg around town and 19 highway. This in a full-size 60's era station wagon!

It was comfortable and roomy. Rode seven adults (three row seating) comfortably.

My first girlfriend loved it too. The exhaust fell off and it had a distinctive tone. She was always waiting at the curb. Her dad had me fix it so I would come to the door like a gent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th December, 2004

9th Dec 2004, 11:41

What does your exhaust system have to do with coming to the door?

27th Feb 2005, 04:18

I suspect he meaunt she heard the car a mile away with the broken exhaust and then met him at the curb. When the car no longer sounded like the "Road Warrior" and was quiet he wasn't heard anymore and therefore knocked.

1970 AMC Ambassador DPL 5.0 304 cid V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1970
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 304 cid V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carChevrolet El Camino

Summary:

A real budget "sleeper".

Faults:

Bad carburetor when purchased.

Worn out shocks.

Needed front-end replacement.

General Comments:

The problems that plagued the car when I purchased it were easily fixed using parts that were available at my local parts store.

Great power for such a large car.

A real head turner.

This has got to be my favorite car to date. Fun to drive, comfortable, with great handling. Truely a unique American Automobile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2004

15th Apr 2004, 09:36

Glad you are enjoying your Ambassador.

Our family car when I was in high school was a 1970 Ambassador SST wagon with the 360. Nice car, mpg was not great, but gas was not expensive then anyway. I hope to get another old Ambassador or Matador from that era someday. Even acquired a factory AM/FM radio to install in it as no aftermarket radio would fit in the dash opening.

Make sure you keep the hood hinges well lubricated; they were a weak point on those cars and replacements are hard to find now.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 8 reviews