1965 AMC Ambassador 880 Station Wagon V8 from North America

Summary:

A symbol of a bygone era

Faults:

Nothing major that I can remember - this was our family car when I was a child. It had a tendency to flood often and become hard to start. The time my father traded it in, it had started to rust through on the lower quarter panels. It also was hinting at a valve job.

General Comments:

This was the typical family car in the 60's that we took road trips in. It had some of the decals that had showed different places we had been on the rear side window. I can remember drive-in movies as a kid, and sometimes going to sleep in the back before the movie was over. Traveling on roads like route 66 while the interstates were still being built, and stopping along the road eating at rest stops that were only picnic tables along the roadside.

I was sad to see this car go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th April, 2008

1968 AMC Ambassador SST 290 from North America

Summary:

All around awesome car! Fun to drive!

Faults:

Fuse went out on Air Conditioning - I replaced it and have had no other problems.

General Comments:

I have never owned an Ambassador until now, and I can tell you, they are one of the best built cars made.

I do think they went too conservative on the sporty options on the Ambassadors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2006

31st Mar 2006, 07:55

AMC buyers in 1968 who wanted sporty would have been steered toward the Javelin/AMX, not the Ambassador.

The later model Ambassadors were even more conservative. You couldn't get bucket seats/console shift, even as options, after 1970.

31st Mar 2006, 09:39

Did it come with a factory 8-track? Chicks really dig an 8-track.

2nd Nov 2008, 09:17

I own a 1968 Ambassador SST with the power-full 343 cu in motor. It is one fine car. Mine is all original and was purchase from a museum within the last 6 months. It is documented as one of the last (ALL ORIGINAL) in the U.S.A today. It has very low mileage. The car has only been shown twice and received a respectable crowd. The cars home base is Ft.Lauderdale, Fl.

4th Nov 2009, 19:13

I recently bought a 68 SST 343. Rescued it from northern weather and salt. Now in AZ, can't wait to work on it.

15th Jan 2010, 15:46

Last Fall 2009 I just rescued 69 Ambassador 2DR SST "x" code from hot bake State Calif. Interiors are dry and crunchy, but rust free. Yes that's correct, lot of people thought Ambassador are 4 drs and luxury like caddy, only 60's till 1971 are equipped with bucket seats and console like my car, plus two sway bar and positive rear end too.

18th Jan 2010, 20:43

Most Ambassadors were four door sedans with bench seats.

20th Sep 2014, 04:19

Hi, I wanted to know if you have any pics of your 1968 Ambassador? I bought one last year, not in mint condition, but decent and low mileage too. It would be nice to see another one. You don't see many of them. Thank you.

My email is lik2hotmail.com

1971 AMC Ambassador 4 door Brougham 360 4 bbl from North America

Summary:

Fast, fun, and reliable!

Faults:

This car was not particularly well-maintained, and the results show.

There is rust in several places (along the roof rails, around the rear window, and at the bottom of the rear quarters). The rust around the roof is at the margins of the vynil roof the car came with originally (gone now).

The only major problem I have been having with the car is an overheating problem, which seems to only happen on the highway after I've been driving it for a while at highway speed.

The distributor is also somewhat worn and gives the engine an irritating misfire on light acceleration. To be fixed soon.

General Comments:

This is a 4,000 pound car, but it moves out. At 34 years old, it will still light up the rear tires, and neither the engine nor trans have ever been rebuilt.

The suspension is amazing. I was so surprised by the handling that I took it to an auto-cross and ran it. Everyone laughed until the numbers came in. I managed to get that car around the track faster than many other guys did that day, and got to do the cool "Dukes of Hazzard" style driving (ie breaking rear traction and swinging the tail around the twisties) to boot. The only mods from factory was a good set of gas shocks, 16" wheels, and a good set of 60-series tires.

It also has a very comfortable ride for the highway.

-- Marc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2005

14th Aug 2005, 14:26

Kickin' butt in an Autocross with an Amboat?! I love it!

1st Mar 2009, 17:18

I am coming... My Ambo is yet to be built but has been located, but you won't see it cause it will be an unmarked ex police car, but the only time you will see it (well lets just say get use to the tail lites from a distance). It is a great American car, jma91122@aol.com and yes it's a 4 DR.

27th Jan 2010, 13:27

I have the 73 401 4 dr Ambassador with 107000 miles. Wow what a car. I beat foreign and domestic sport cars, and do get a lot of attention when driving or standing still. Beautiful car and all out comfort. Now if only I owned my own oil field to keep it full, seriously worth it though.