1968 AMC Javelin 232 from North America

Summary:

2nd best car I've owned next to my 68 Rambler American

Faults:

Slight leak at shift shaft seal.

General Comments:

Extremely stylish, but not over the top.

232 engine is one of the very best in the history of the automobile. 145 horse power and 23 m.p.g. and you can expect the better part of 300,000 miles of service life. Ridiculously easy to work on. Almost identical to the reliable "Ramblers" of that era mechanically.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2006

1968 AMC Javelin SST 343 from North America

Summary:

Timeless design that never will go out of style

Faults:

Basic maintenance such as tires, battery, tune up. Nothing major in over 100,000 miles of trouble free driving.

Transmission had to be replaced, but considering how hard this car was driven, it should have went out several times. Some of those were 1/4 mile at a time!

General Comments:

The AMC Javelin was a wonderful styling exercise from AMC. If you ever have a chance to own one, please check it out, from the 232-6 cylinder models that get tremendous gas mileage to the hefty 390s and 401, it is all good.

If any of your readers are ever looking to buy a AMC vehicle, any model, including Javelin, please feel free to stop in at www.planethoustonamx.com as I have hundreds of free leads on AMCs for sale there in the free AMC Classifieds, and also the AMCs For Sale files. No charge, have helped over 500+ people find their AMC 'dream car' thru the years, and have personally owned 302 AMCs myself, including over 100 Javelins.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2005

1969 AMC Javelin SST 343 cu in from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Fantastic fun

Faults:

Needed a new starter motor after a couple of weeks.

Suffered from overheating problems and misfiring. After trying a number of things, eventually all problems cured with a recored radiator.

Plan your journey carefully. The 12 gallon tank is only good for around 150 miles!

General Comments:

This is a very unusual right-hand drive version. Great fun and not difficult to maintain, even for a total amateur.

Bags of performance, even after 35 years, but is better still as a cruiser.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2004

14th Aug 2005, 14:36

I wonder how many Javelins there are in the British Isles?

Too few, certainly!

1973 AMC Javelin 360 cid from North America

Summary:

Unsusual, sleek, fast and fun

Faults:

Radiator had to be replaced due to rust. Starter was badly worn upon receipt, placed without problems. Speedometer a bit unsteady, lubrication resolved this problem.

General Comments:

The Javelin is very quick off the line as the 5.9L has loads of torque. One can produce amazing amounts of smoke from the tires and screaming burnouts are only a press on the gas pedal away. Oversteer is the norm, and handling it very good. The instrament panel is very unique, and the 'Go Pack' cluster is lots of fun. This is one of the most beautiful muscle cars ever to come out of Detriot. The Javelin was and is a work of art.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2004

13th Dec 2004, 03:59

Just wanted to correct you. Your Javelin didn't come out of Detroit. AMC, the last of the US independent car makers, was based in Kenosha, Wisconsin - unless it's rhd, then it's a CKD from Australia, New Zealand or South Africa.

Mark (Australia)

18th Jan 2010, 08:19

I agree with "work of art". In my own opinion, it is the most beautiful car on the road. I have wanted one since they were new. I just recently bought one. I am VERY happy.

1973 AMC Javelin AMX 401 from North America

Summary:

A true unique American muscle car

Faults:

One time the points fused together.

General Comments:

The car is extremely fast, especially with the go-pak cowl induction.

The suspension is responsive.

The AMX interior provides a wrap around effect that makes you feel like you are in a cock-pit.

A strong sounding engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2004

1969 AMC Javelin SST 360 from North America

Summary:

A unique and impressive muscle car era find

Faults:

I had the brakes go out after owning the car for 3 weeks, but a rebuilt master cylinder only cost me $15 and took about 45 minutes to install.

General Comments:

I absolutely love this car and I will never get rid of it for as long as possible. The car is so fun to drive, work on, and look at. Buying my Javelin was probably the best decision that I have ever made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2004

25th May 2004, 09:38

If your '69 has a 360 in it, it's not original, as the 360 did not show up in Javelins until the 1970 model.

8th Oct 2007, 15:52

I AM LOOKING FOR A 1968-1070 AMC Javelin, since this is my favourite era. I cannot understand how such a gorgeous car like the AMC Javelin, is so under rated and unknown. Everbody seems to love the 1965 Mustang, and it looks alright, but compared to the Javelin it is so bland-looking.

I wish the AMC Javelin from the 1968-1970 era received much more recognition since it is a very handsome car and performs well.

26th Sep 2013, 10:09

Go for a 1969 with the 390 V8 Go Package. It will knock your pants off. Enjoy, I had one and beat every Mustang in town.

27th Sep 2013, 09:02

My pic styling wise would be a Mark Donahue Javelin. My 1969 Camaro SS would tear up the 390 however.