1973 AMC Javelin AMX 401 from North America


A true unique American muscle car


One time the points fused together.

General Comments:

The car is extremely fast, especially with the go-pak cowl induction.

The suspension is responsive.

The AMX interior provides a wrap around effect that makes you feel like you are in a cock-pit.

A strong sounding engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2004

1969 AMC Javelin SST 360 from North America


A unique and impressive muscle car era find


I had the brakes go out after owning the car for 3 weeks, but a rebuilt master cylinder only cost me $15 and took about 45 minutes to install.

General Comments:

I absolutely love this car and I will never get rid of it for as long as possible. The car is so fun to drive, work on, and look at. Buying my Javelin was probably the best decision that I have ever made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2004

25th May 2004, 09:38

If your '69 has a 360 in it, it's not original, as the 360 did not show up in Javelins until the 1970 model.

8th Oct 2007, 15:52

I AM LOOKING FOR A 1968-1070 AMC Javelin, since this is my favourite era. I cannot understand how such a gorgeous car like the AMC Javelin, is so under rated and unknown. Everbody seems to love the 1965 Mustang, and it looks alright, but compared to the Javelin it is so bland-looking.

I wish the AMC Javelin from the 1968-1970 era received much more recognition since it is a very handsome car and performs well.

26th Sep 2013, 10:09

Go for a 1969 with the 390 V8 Go Package. It will knock your pants off. Enjoy, I had one and beat every Mustang in town.

27th Sep 2013, 09:02

My pic styling wise would be a Mark Donahue Javelin. My 1969 Camaro SS would tear up the 390 however.

1973 AMC Javelin 304 from North America


A great alternative to the big 3


The front end suspension was bad when I first got the car. I was able to find all of the parts at the local auto parts store, however.

The starter and alternator were also bad, but were available at local auto parts stores.

The seats were torn.

General Comments:

This has been a great car to own. It served me as a daily driver for 3 years until I decided to restore it. Parts are surprisingly inexpensive and easy to find. Handling is not great, but who cares? The old 304 is a bullet proof motor, and has plenty of power to keep up with almost anything on the road. I get lots of looks every time I drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2003

1968 AMC Javelin SST 290 V8 from North America


The best $1200 I ever spent!!


This car was very reliable and had the expected problems that a car with 120,000 miles would have. But for a High School kid who liked to break the tires loose it was very dependable for the abuse I put it through.

General Comments:

This was my first car and I still own it. I have done many modifications like installing a larger V8 (401 cu in.) and an automatic transmission. This car is still a head turner, and a very much unknown muscle car. The seats sit very low to the floorboard so it has a neat sports car type feel when you drive it.

But best of all it is the throw you back in your seat acceleration that is the most fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2002

12th Dec 2002, 00:42

I have a 1968 AMX, basically a Javelin with 12 inches removed aft of the front door. These AMCs were the equal of their more popular Big Three rivals. The cars were strongly built, deriving from the solid, over-engineered Rambler frame design. In fact, AMC engines were machined to closer tolerances than Chevrolet's. There is a high fun factor to go with a car few others have seen. Downside is parts availability. Be sure to join an AMC club for info and parts networking. AMC clubs tend to be non-formal and country-cousin style friendly. So have at it and break free of the Big Three!

16th Feb 2008, 12:36

I had a 1968 Javelin SST, Unfortunately I sold it years ago. This car was, and still is in my opinion, a real drop-your-jaw type of a car. I Can remember racing a 1970 Camaro and blew it away. Was the first time I ever dragged raced. What a thrill as I pulled away from one of the hottest cars on the road. I miss my Javelin, but what memories it gave me!!