1973 AMC Javelin 304 from North America


A great alternative to the big 3


The front end suspension was bad when I first got the car. I was able to find all of the parts at the local auto parts store, however.

The starter and alternator were also bad, but were available at local auto parts stores.

The seats were torn.

General Comments:

This has been a great car to own. It served me as a daily driver for 3 years until I decided to restore it. Parts are surprisingly inexpensive and easy to find. Handling is not great, but who cares? The old 304 is a bullet proof motor, and has plenty of power to keep up with almost anything on the road. I get lots of looks every time I drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2003

1968 AMC Javelin SST 290 V8 from North America


The best $1200 I ever spent!!


This car was very reliable and had the expected problems that a car with 120,000 miles would have. But for a High School kid who liked to break the tires loose it was very dependable for the abuse I put it through.

General Comments:

This was my first car and I still own it. I have done many modifications like installing a larger V8 (401 cu in.) and an automatic transmission. This car is still a head turner, and a very much unknown muscle car. The seats sit very low to the floorboard so it has a neat sports car type feel when you drive it.

But best of all it is the throw you back in your seat acceleration that is the most fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2002

12th Dec 2002, 00:42

I have a 1968 AMX, basically a Javelin with 12 inches removed aft of the front door. These AMCs were the equal of their more popular Big Three rivals. The cars were strongly built, deriving from the solid, over-engineered Rambler frame design. In fact, AMC engines were machined to closer tolerances than Chevrolet's. There is a high fun factor to go with a car few others have seen. Downside is parts availability. Be sure to join an AMC club for info and parts networking. AMC clubs tend to be non-formal and country-cousin style friendly. So have at it and break free of the Big Three!

16th Feb 2008, 12:36

I had a 1968 Javelin SST, Unfortunately I sold it years ago. This car was, and still is in my opinion, a real drop-your-jaw type of a car. I Can remember racing a 1970 Camaro and blew it away. Was the first time I ever dragged raced. What a thrill as I pulled away from one of the hottest cars on the road. I miss my Javelin, but what memories it gave me!!

1968 AMC Javelin SST 343 c.i. 4 bbl from North America


Unique and worthy challenger to the big 3 pony cars


I had to rebuild carberator and replace water pump.

General Comments:

Very quick car that handled exceptionally well due to its wide track.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2002

1974 AMC Javelin AMX 401 c.i. from North America


TOO much fun to own and drive


The interior was where the problems lived.

Bad door panels, door locks and window crank mechanisms.

The shifter was loose feeling.

Parts are difficult to find.

General Comments:

This was my favorite car of all I have ever owned.

The body style was unique, the performance was outstanding and it was simply a FUN car to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2001

4th Aug 2002, 19:46

I owed a 1973 Javelin and I had the same interior stuff, but it was a fast and fun car to drive.

31st May 2006, 08:51

Javelins are very unique cars that are hard to find, my family has two of them and they are great cars to learn how to rebuild and make as beautiful and fast as they were originally meant to be. For as old as they are, in my opinion they have held up well and are definitely worth the time and money to restore. The AMC Javelin is the hottest muscle car out there!!

30th Jun 2006, 05:11

I saved my 73 Javelin from a 16 year life of sitting in a walnut orchard in Dixon Ca. in 2004.

It's been a lot of time and work to get it to where it is now, driveable.

The body is straight and the motor is strong, so I had a good base to work with. I consider myself lucky, and rewarded with a great car. It's a 360 4v 4speed car.

I don't think I will ever finish the car, but it has been a labor of love. I find myself constantly staring at the car and imagining what it would look like with a new paint job.

Joe from Sacto Ca.

17th Mar 2008, 16:31

How do you remove the fenders off a 1974 javelin, they seem to be welded on?

23rd Jun 2014, 00:00

The fenders are brazed on to the outer rocker panel from the factory. I have no idea why, but they are. Could be to help attach it to the body and stop any squeaks while driving. To remove the fender, you have to cut the braze weld. I just did mine, and when I reinstalled the fender, I brazed it again right where the factory did it.

23rd Jun 2014, 10:33

I like the Mark Donohue Javelin as my first pick. Street legal model.