1999 Audi A4 Reviews - Page 12 of 15

1999 Audi A4 2.8 Quattro 2.8 Quattro from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 Quattro Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired235 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

This Model is an owners nightmare

Faults:

Engine imploded at 55,000 miles. Cost of this repair $9,000.00. The car has never been the same. Eight months later the transmission needed to be replaced, at a cost of $7,000. Brakes have been replaced 6 times over the 5 years I have owned the car. Many of the recurring problems were diagnosed and repaired under warranty. To repair simple things is costly, for example to replace the generator the entire front of the engine has to be removed.

General Comments:

Never buy an Audi A4 out of warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th March, 2004

12th Mar 2004, 05:59

My sentiments exactly, never buy an Audi out of warranty, unless you live in Germany, The cars are not well made, and the local service outlets are just not up to scratch with trying to manage such a badly designed and put together vehicle.

18th Jun 2005, 07:13

Omg your engine imploded, oh man that sucks, but I am curious to see what that looks like... but If I were in your situation I would just buy a new car instead of repairing it.

1999 Audi A4 Quattro 2.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance61000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Summary:

An unreliable and expensive package

Faults:

Windshield washer motor housing cracked and had to be replaced on 3 occasions during the car's 3-year warranty.

Steering felt sloppy and tie-rods had to be replaced at 48000KM. This was covered by warranty.

At 51000km check engine light came on and engine air pump had to be replaced at C$470.

At 54000KM air-conditioning fan gave ringing noises and had to be replaced at C$780.

At 59000KM oil leaks occurred in engine, forward and rear differentials. The dealer gave me a quote of C$900 to fix the problem. Audi will not cover the cost.

General Comments:

Audi will not stand behind the quality of their products. This comes to 7 defects within 4.5 years, IE 1 defect every 7-8 months. Oil leaks at 59000KM and 4.5 years are not acceptable. Neither do I drive the car hard.

Do not go for Audi unless you are prepared to pay for the costs of maintaining the car after warranty. Even then it's not worth the trouble.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2004

1999 Audi A4 Avant 2.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

Somewhat overpriced and questionable reliability

Faults:

Windshield washer pump broke and needed replacing.

Had problems with headlights burning out. Replaced several of them.

Was told that car was leaking oil at some difficult to access gaskets. Was very expensive to repair. Car only had 31,000 miles on it at the time. Repair was not covered by warranty because car was 1 year past warranty.

Two water pumps broke at 31,000 miles. Replacement was not covered by warranty since car was 1 year beyond warranty.

General Comments:

Gas mileage seems to be less than what was advertised. Getting about 17 miles to the gallon in the city.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd February, 2004

1999 Audi A4 1.8T from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8T Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance54500 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Perfect car, if it would stop breaking down

Faults:

All four window regulators have gone out, Destroying the tinting on two of them.

Water pump at 48000.

Mass air flow sensor at 48500.

Oil pump hoses at 51000.

Power steering pump at 54000.

General Comments:

This is a hard car to hate. It rides like a dream, its fast, turns sharp, and turns heads while you pass them. It has a lot of room in the interior, it has great trunk space, and overall I really do love this car.

But sometimes love is not enough.

The first month I had it I had two windows go out, the mass airflow sensor, and the water pump. Within three months, every window had gone south and most every pump in the car had shown some signs of going out.

I really really love this car, but in all honestly its just not worth the money. Repairs are expensive for a automobile, and I have lost faith in using this car more than from/to work.

Its about time to sell it and just get a jeep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th February, 2004

1999 Audi A4 Avant 1.8T from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8T Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carToyota 4x4

Summary:

I will probably be putting my mechanic's kids through college with this car

Faults:

My check engine light has come on five times. All times were due to the evaporative/emissions sensor in the car.

The small solid state computer that controls ignition timing failed at 60,000 miles.

An ignition coil failed.

The heater fan's bearing is going bad causing an obnoxious whining sound when the heater is on.

Replaced the timing belt at 60,000 miles.

The CD changer doesn't work sometimes.

Multiple leaks in the vacuum system which controls just about everything on these cars (poorly designed).

General Comments:

This car is unbelievable on the snowy roads of Colorado and I feel the traction is actually better than my Toyota T-100 4-wheel drive truck.

However, the maintenance costs are ridiculous.

I am seriously considering getting rid of this car and buying something that is actually reliable.

My wife and I have spent over $4000 on maintenance bills and have only owned the car for a little over a year.

If you do choose to buy an A4, I suggest you do two things: (1) Move in next door to a factory certified Audi mechanic and (2) Buy a car that is actually reliable to have as a back-up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th February, 2004

11th Aug 2005, 12:36

I suppose you must work for Audi or your just very anal. The Audi dealerships are usually criminal in the prices that they charge. I love the way my 1999 A4 2.8 Quatto drives and looks, but my water pump went at 40K miles and I replaced the timing belt at the same time. Now at 44K miles the check engine light came on and won't go out after 3 visits to the shop. Already they had to replace the connections on the secondary air pump and the air pump it self and the light still won't go out. This faliure is due to poor design and location of the device. It was corroted. I do not drive this car in the winter as I have a Chevy 4 wheel drive truck for bad weather.

I have spent over $2000 for repairs for this car in 4K miles. I was considering buying a new A6 because it is beautiful, but I will now purchase a new Cadillac STS V8.

27th Jun 2006, 10:05

I have just purchased a 1999 A4 2.8L with 55,000Miles. I was wondering if anyone can direct me to some kind of maintenance schedule. Thanks for your help.

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 49 reviews