2001 Audi A4 Reviews - Page 5 of 12

2001 Audi A4 2.0 Liter Gasline from Taiwan

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Liter Gasline Automatic
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance90000 kilometres
Previous carHonda CR-V

Summary:

Good car, but need more effort to take care

Faults:

High oil consumption, on average I need to add 0.5-liter oil for every 1000Km.

I have own several different cars from a Nissan Sentra to a Honda CR-V, and never had to add oil between regular oil change intervals.

According to Audi’s user manual, they said it is normal to add oil, the worse case is 0.5-liter oil for every 1000Km. My A4 is just in the marginal case. Technically speaking, it is OK.

General Comments:

Multitronic CVT is excellent in city and highway driving due to its smooth and step less operation. But for very low speed stop and go traffic, it is not that smooth as compared to a conventional auto transmission.

Dual zone air condition, high quality audio/CD are excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th August, 2006

2001 Audi A4 1.6 from Greece

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carSeat Ibiza

Summary:

High price - low quality, very bad after sales services

Faults:

The air conditioning electronics failed and have to be paid by me.

Two of the windows had problems with the motors and have been replaced.

The sound system also replaced.

The gas indicator went crazy a month after buying the car and have been replaced.

The RPM sensor blew at 80000 Km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st August, 2006

2001 Audi A4 2.8 2.8L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.8L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles

Summary:

Great to drive, but be prepared to pay

Faults:

Frequent annoyances with radio (changing frequency while off by.1mhz), display "blinks" occasionally

Upper Oil Pan gasket leaking at 40k miles (replaced under warranty)

Replaced wiring to fog lights 2x due to abrasion/shorting

Camshaft gasket leaking at 60k miles

Replaced timing belt at 67k miles

Rear drive train (rear differential, Torsen) failed at 67k miles - quoted $5200 to fix. Will be soon headed for the scrap heap.

General Comments:

This is a great car from a styling and performance perspective, but I agree with the other posts - keep it beyond warranty only at significant risk to your finances.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2006

2001 Audi A4 3.0 Quattro tipronic 3.0 from Hong Kong

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance56000 kilometres

Summary:

Electrical system reliability is suspect

Faults:

The car had a complete loss of electrical power while stationary.

The battery was replaced, but after 3 weeks:

The remote door key lost its effect.

The anti-theft alarm came on without provocation.

It was not possible to cancel the warning siren by use of the remote key.

The windows on all 4 doors could not be opened or shut properly.

The rear doors cannot be unlocked by the central door locking device.

General Comments:

This is the first major electrical fault encountered on this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th August, 2006

2001 Audi A4 quattro 1.8T from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8T Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance52100 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

Satisfied with vehicle

Faults:

Head gasket in first 10K miles covered under warranty.

Small tear in lower bumper less than 1K miles, finally tore through & fell off totally @ about 48K miles - my fault entirely.

Dealer called me while car was in for oil change at about 45K miles to tell me there was a small oil leak that I should fix. I told them no as there was no evidence of oil drips in my garage nor burning oil smell on the engine. Next oil change at same dealer resulted in switch to synthetic oil at around 48K miles. Haven't heard a word about the leak since! Now find out it is recommended that Audi use synthetic oil due to issues with the 1.8T engine?

General Comments:

Dealer is recommending that I get timing chain replaced before I hit 55K miles since it is almost 6 years old & we have a dry climate rather than wait for 60K service. Looking to get feedback from other Audi owners as the dealer I use seems to like to up their revenue -they have made many suggestions on service since the vehicle came out of warranty that they never suggested when it was under warranty. Such as wheel alignments, wheel balance, oil leaks.

Otherwise very happy with car - comfort, mileage, color, maintenance; so far. Now car is out of maintenance so we'll have to see. So far have only had one tune up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th June, 2006

2001 Audi A4 Quattro 1.8T from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8T Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carAcura TL

Summary:

One of my favorite cars

Faults:

Nothing has ever gone wrong.

I use only high quality synthetic oil and change it every 5000 miles. I use only OEM filters and coolant. All else is by the book.

Those who have had significant problems must not maintain their cars very well. In fairness, the Audi recommended maintenance intervals (like most manufacturers) are too long. Pay attention to your Audi and use quality fuel, oil, etc., and you will be rewarded with a long lived vehicle.

In the long run, I believe higher end European cars to be superior to Japanese cars and much better than any American car. Sure, the Japanese have great quality, but most are uninspiring to drive and when they finally need repair the costs and magnitude of repair is enough so as to consider the cars nearly disposable. A good European car can be maintained well into the 300,000 mile range. And the driving experience is so much more enjoyable.

My early 90's BMW has 340,000 miles and has had no service other than normal maintenance. I expect the Audi to last as long.

General Comments:

I've owned dozens of Japanese and American cars since the late 60's. Switched to European cars for the last 10 years or so, due to boredom and frequent repairs.

The 1.8T, especially with the tip-tronic transmission, is quite slow from a standing start. Power is exceptional above 2500 rpm. In normal traffic, this is one of the quickest and best handling wagons I have ever driven.

The A4 has excellent highway cruising and spectacular bad weather traction and stability.

Stock, the power is more than adequate. Easily and reliably bumped to 210-240 hp with a simple computer upgrade if you desire.

Comfy and rather sporty driving position. Nice seats. Great handling.

The Audi design is very efficient. The drawback here is that the DIY home mechanic cannot easily work on this car. Timing belt / water pump change at 80k miles requires dismantling the entire font end. Do-able if you have the space and time, but certainly not the 1 hr job it is on my BMW or Chevy truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2006

24th Jul 2007, 16:25

Thank you so much, the key is MAINTENANCE!!! It's a turbo and it's a 20 valve, two key factors that normal cars do not have, so it requires more attention!!!

7th Dec 2009, 19:39

AMEN brother!!! AMEN!!! Thanks so much, I have a VW Jetta that purrs like a kitten and is a ton more fun to drive than stupid Japanese cars. It's only got 122K miles, but still, the mechanics I work with are like "My gosh, this car runs like it's brand new!" And it truly and most honestly does. Over maintain it, and it's a total charm.

All Audi's and VW's I've seen that break are because people don't maintain them. Thanks a ton for the review.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 48 reviews