2001 Audi A4 Reviews - Page 7 of 12

2001 Audi A4 Sedan 1.8T from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8T Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

Too expensive without warranty

Faults:

60k - Timing belt and engine seals

60k - Blinker switch and relay

56k - ABS control unit

50k - Cruise control switch on stalk

46k - Broken vacuum line

40k - update ignition coils

38k - Driver seat cover tearing (I'm normal 180lbs)

35k - Drivers seat heater broken

35k - headlight out

32k - Bose premium rear speaker fuzzy/torn (No, I don't blast my music)

30k - valve cover gasket leaks

29k - door speaker blown

25k - oxygen sensor broken

22k - Bose premium rear speaker fuzzy/torn - replaced

22k - Bose premium main unit replaced

19k - Bose premium rear speaker fuzzy/torn - replaced

16k - Engine light/ electrical repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th June, 2005

2001 Audi A4 Quattro 1.8T from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8T Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Always in the shop; fun to drive

Faults:

The ignition coils went bad twice at about 20-30,000 miles. Prior to the recall, Audi told me there was nothing wrong with the vehicle.

As soon as the warranty ran out, the brakes went.

Then, the water pump went bad costing 1000.

Then, the timing belt and numerous other items went costing 3000.

Additionally, both headlights went within a week of one another costing 700 a piece.

General Comments:

Of the last three months, I have only had my car for about three weeks because of being in and out of the shop.

This car was a blast to drive, handled great, great in the snow, was beautiful, however who can afford the maintenance???

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2005

2001 Audi A4 Sport + CVT Box 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carAudi A3

Summary:

Great build, great engineering

Faults:

Electrics - headlights & rear lights failed: fixed under warranty

Windscreen wiper arm broken.

General Comments:

My overall opinion is that this car has been a fantastic purchase and I have been very happy with it.

The CVT (Continuously Variable Transmission) gearbox is just fantastic. The whole car drives so smoothly. When you take off from the lights just set the revs (e.g. 3000) and the car accelerates staying at 3000 revs the whole time - the gearbox changes not the engine. Your ride is smoother as there is no jerk as the engine is disengaged from a gear and a new one selected. Brilliant.

The interior is very comfortable, the climate control works and is quiet and it is very easy and comfortable to drive over long distances.

Services are more expensive, but not cripplingly so and the car is picked up and delivered back polished inside and out. A free courtesy car is available (if you book a little bit earlier). the car tells you when it needs to be serviced - more often in you drive the car hard, but less often if you are gentle with the engine.

I can recommend this car to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2005

2001 Audi A4 Sport 1.8T from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8T Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

Incredible well built car that handles like a dream, drives quick for a 4 cylinder/luxury interior

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car. It has driven like a dream. I couldn't ask for any better of a car. Audi rocks.

For all of you people out there who have had a problem with Audi, it's because those Audis are probably lemoned.

All you have to do is make sure you find a good, well built Audi (every company has their flawed cars and lemoned cars), and you should be just fine. I know many relatives of mine who have had Audis that drove 200K miles plus; Audi is an excellent company!

General Comments:

This car flies for a 1.8T. Ever see a 4 cylinder do 155? Hehe.

The handling is incredible.

And the quattro is untouchable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2005

20th Mar 2006, 18:57

Nor will yours!! 143 is tested speed.

2001 Audi A4 1.8T Quattro 1.8 turbo from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Summary:

I'll never buy another Volkswagen family product

Faults:

At 7300 miles I had a speaker and the fuel sending unit replaced.

At 9,000 miles an ignition coil was replaced.

At 13,000 miles an ingnition coil was replaced.

At 22,000 miles the check engine light came on, but the technicians couldn't find a problem. The left rearview mirror and a speaker were replaced and the car was serviced for a water leak that soaked the carpet twice. The fuel guage was operating erratically, but technicians could not duplicate.

At 25,000 miles the cruise control switch, an interior light, all the ignition coils, and the front armrest were replaced.

At 29,000 miles a headlight was replaced.

At 30,000 miles the windshield and headlight washer pumps and left rearview mirror were replaced.

At 36,000 miles another part on the windshield washing system and front brake pads were replaced. The brake pads had apparently cracked and were barely hanging on. The technicians also couldn't find a problem with the engine surging.

General Comments:

After my last appointment the engine almost died at an intersection and again on the interstate on my way home from the service center. Currently the sunroof intermittently won't close, the fuel guage is providing erratic readings, and the engine still surges and can't decide whether to downshift, upshift, or utilize the turbo charger on hills, but I refuse to take it back until it dies or I reach the next scheduled maintenance period (40,000 miles).

I recently contacted Audi Customer Care about replacing this car or terminating the lease and allowing me to purchase another vehicle from the Volkswagen family. They offered to let me purchase a new Audi at sticker price and roll my remaining lease payments into it's cost. In other words, they want me to give them back the care, reward them by purchasing another, and keep paying for the one I don't have any more.

I get approached by other A4 owners in public wanting to compare the problems we've had.

I've found that using 83 octane fuel versus the recommended 91 octane actually makes the engine run more smoothly and doesn't seem to reduce the power too much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th November, 2004

10th Nov 2004, 14:01

There is a very big problem concerning all volkswagen/audi turbocharged 1.8t engines. There is a very big flaw in the design of the engines that lead to ignition coil failure.

17th Nov 2004, 11:37

I thought it was the COILS themselves that were defective.

Is there new information that I haven't heard about the 1.8 liter turbocharged engine?

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 48 reviews