2001 Audi A4 Reviews - Page 11 of 12

2001 Audi A4 SE 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz CLK

Summary:

Unreliable

Faults:

I have had 5 (five) coils fail in 18 months.

General Comments:

Car is nice. However, the coil problem makes the overall reliability record abysmal. 5 times it has broken down and left me stranded.

I can never feel confident of completing a journey in the A4. It is quite unsafe to drive as an immediate loss of power occurs when a coil "goes".

Currently off the road for a fifth time waiting for parts to arrive. Have been told it could be a week before they arrive - but it could be a month.

Audi customer "service" do not even reply to correspondence regarding to coil problem. It is being hushed up - big time.

Over 4,000 UK A4s are off the road at 8th Feb 2003 awaiting replacement coils. Trouble is, the replacements fail in time anyway!

Be warned. Avoid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th February, 2003

2001 Audi A4 SE Avant 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired19 miles
Most recent distance11500 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

A quality car let down by abysmal customer care

Faults:

Engaging reverse gear (Multitronic box) causes engine to stall unless taken very slowly - not much good for quick 3-point turns.

Ignition coil failed at 10000 miles (9 months).

Ignition coil failed at 11500 miles (one year).

General Comments:

A really quality car built as though it is hewn from a solid lump of steel.

I now know better, but when initially told of the coil problem I found that both the dealer and Audi were economical with the truth.

Failing ignition coils is an international problem of immense proportions so much so that my Audi is off the road awaiting delivery of a new coil. Even though 2 coils have now failed, Audi are refusing to replace the remaining ones so that even when I get my car back I will have no confidence in it getting me around reliably. Never an Audi again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th January, 2003

4th Feb 2003, 09:43

I had the same experience with a Seat Leon. also a VW product.

2001 Audi A4 TDi Sport 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance11900 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

Good, comfortable performer, but with poor dealer and manufacturer backup if things go wrong

Faults:

There were rattles in the dashboard from when the car was new which took several trips to the dealership to resolve.

The driver's door speaker cuts out intermittently which has remained unresolved despite several trips back to the dealer.

The controller card for the rear window heater burnt out the first time it was used, filling the car with smoke.

The speedometer and fuel gauge both failed taking two and a half weeks to replace.

Out of a year's ownership the car has spent around two months with the dealer - including a trip to the body shop for remedial work when the dealership scraped a wing panel. Through these periods, a replacement car of similar specification has never been supplied.

General Comments:

Handles very well.

Excellent acceleration.

Very economical to run.

Poor leg room in the back.

Poor visibility when reversing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th September, 2002

10th Feb 2003, 23:29

Audi claims it is just their A-6 Quattro that has the fuel gauge problem.

Please e-mail me at mrott@hr-o.com for more info.

2001 Audi A4 1.8T Avant 1.8T from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8T Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7798 miles
Previous carMazda MX5

Summary:

Finely appointed and finished Avant with early mechanical failure.

Faults:

Front brakes reshimmed at 7,000 miles.

Heater/air conditioner blower replaced at 4,000 miles.

Cam-belt tensioner malfunctioned and rattled causing replacement at 7,500 miles.

Rear hatch latch readjusted after malfunctioning at 7,000 miles.

General Comments:

Car handles superbly, but having so many mechanical failures on this Audi causes concern.

Audi USA still waiting for the next shoe to drop before replacement considered.

Best on the highway and foul weather.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th April, 2002

18th Oct 2003, 18:29

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: During one of the worst snowfalls in the Northeastern United States, an unlicensed, speeding, out of control driver slid directly into the Audi. The car was a total loss with extensive vehicle deformity, but a life was saved even with my injuries. A new 2003 A4 Avant was purchased and performs beautifully.

2001 Audi A4 SE Avant 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired60 miles
Most recent distance16666 miles
Previous carAudi A6

Summary:

A pain!

Faults:

I paid extra for the 'comfort' option of lumbar supports for the 2 front seats. I now have a constant backache. Before this car, driving an Audi was a pleasure - now it is a misery. I am of average height, but the 2 lumbar supports 'engage' the back too high and each at a different height. With the support fully retracted, the driver's seat remains the most uncomfortable seat I have encountered in over 25 years of driving. I told Audi that I got backache and they refused to address that issue. Instead, they told me that their products had no manufacturing defect and were correctly fitted. Either this product has not been designed properly or my lumbar supports are 'lemons' which they don't want to admit to. Surely, you shouldn't get back ache with 'lumbar supports'. Anyway, Audi refuse to exchange the goods (the seats) - or should I say the bads.

General Comments:

Audi may make quality cars in general, but my experience suggests that you shouldn't expect any joy from them if there is a problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th February, 2002

12th Feb 2002, 07:08

Don't slag the car off because you have a dodgy back, get a cushion.

5th Dec 2005, 07:05

You wouldn't want this person to sit at your table in an empty pub...

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 48 reviews