20th Jun 2010, 14:56

I've owned a used 2006 1.8t A4 for several months now.

People who buy Audis would be less disappointed if they talked to someone who OWNED an Audi first. There are several things you must be aware of. You find out a lot of these items by researching the car you're about to pay thousands of dollars for on the Internet.

The 1.8t is NOT a race engine. It is a tiny engine with a tiny turbo. You will not be "burning rubber" with it. Most of these 1.8t's have substantial lag, or hesitation on acceleration. If this bothers you, why did you buy such a tiny, fuel efficient engine? The engine has respectable power for its size, but it takes time to develop.

The 1.8t uses a little bit of oil, even new. It's normal, so relax already. DON'T USE conventional oil in the engine. It will eventually clog the oil passages in the turbo.

The A4 is a small luxury car. It's like dating a supermodel... higher than usual maintenance. Due to its advanced engineering, expect to take it to the dealer for things most people fix themselves. It's only an attitude change and more cash. If cash is tight, why did you buy an Audi, instead of a Volkswagen?

At 100,000, mine has it's quirks. I still love it, and so does my wife. We have a wonderful dealer who helps with darn near everything.

R. White

Midland TX.

8th Aug 2010, 23:11

I have a question for all of the people reading this right now.

Has anyone else with an Audi A4 1997 Quattro have any issue at all with their transmission? Or the clutch slave cylinder?

Do you have any comments on how to fix it also?

Thank you for reading this.

5th Oct 2010, 03:00

Excess oil consumption? Is that right? I change my oil every 5K and haven't had to top it off. I am thinking, all cars burn oil, but not all cars give you a digital readout. Dipsticks are gone in the new A4, because how many of us check them anyway?

11th Nov 2010, 05:49

I've had my Audi A4 Avant TDI for two years now (2009 model). No problems, and still feels like a new car... - and this is in Sweden with wet salty roads, long cold (-15 C) periods during winters. So, a great car for me this far... :-)

11th Nov 2010, 07:33

I just bought an Audi A4 1.8 petrol.

The mileage is around 2000 kms and the oil level in the MMI shows a little less than half. I have put a litre of oil in it as advised by the Audi dealer, now the MMI shows full, that is after 2 days. I am wondering if there is a function in it which shows extra oil, as I was told 0.5 litres is enough. I'm just wondering if I might have put 300 - 400 ml extra, if so is this OK?

Can I get some expert to advise me please. Thanks.

13th Jan 2011, 14:37

I would rather you have added 0.25L at a time and checked the oil level each time. If it is close enough to full, that would be OK. It is not good for an engine to be over-filled with oil.

29th Jan 2014, 12:13

For all the people calling oil consumption normal on a new vehicles, that is not true, no matter the vehicle.

Audi calls it normal because they don't want to replace a defective engine.

It's 2014, no new engine of any brand consumes oil. Be it Ferrari, Porsche, Honda or Hyundai. It's called engineering, and all engines have basically the same mechanics (an exception is the rotary engines found in some Mazda vehicles). All combustion engines, turbo or non turbo, are designed today to not consume oil unless there is significant wear (high mileage) or a manufacturing or assembly fault.

A car that consumes 1L of oil every 5000 miles from new has a manufacturing or assembly fault without any doubt. Yes, this is possible even with brands that have a reputation, such as Audi. Years ago, Volvo had transmission issues with many of their models; they never accepted responsibility for costly repairs.

It's Audi's fault, insist with the Audi representative for your country to have the engine replaced.

2nd Oct 2014, 23:06

"A car that consumes 1L of oil every 5000 miles from new has a manufacturing or assembly fault without any doubt."

I wholeheartedly disagree. It depends on the engine design, usage and operating environment. A forced-induction engine in a hilly environment, owned by someone who puts it in gear and drives off without allowing it to warm up first, will consequently consume more oil than one which is operated on flat land and operated at light load until the oil has come up to temperature.

A liter of oil consumption in a 5000 mile interval is actually excellent. ALL engines consume oil. Sending a sample of your oil in for analysis will result in the same advice. The most important thing to ask is WHY are you consuming oil. Consumption can and will vary, again because of operating conditions.

If you fire the car up in winter, drive it 8 miles on winding back roads to the office, you'll find your consumption is going to be rather high.

If you fire up the same vehicle on a warm stretch of summer, let it idle for a minute before taking off and drive gingerly until it's up to temperature, you will notice you consume less oil on that exact same drive over a similar mileage interval.

It's all about mechanical tolerances and operating load. The more load you place on it, the more it's going to burn and the more wear will occur. Forced induction engines have very high cylinder pressures, some of which slips past the piston rings as "blowby" and pressurizes the crankcase. This is a normal condition. The consequence however, is just HOW MUCH blowby you've got.

On a high mileage engine with worn piston rings, or a cold engine that hasn't come up to operating temperature, the rings aren't going to seal very well and the crankcase will see higher-than-normal pressurization from excess blowby. In turn, this is forced through your crankcase ventilation system and out into your intake tract, where it is sucked through and burned as a means of emission control. This pattern represents the primary method of oil consumption on most engines without significant mechanical wear.

To say that one liter of consumption in a 5000 mile span is excessive is to make an incorrect statement without regard to operating conditions. In general, 5,000 miles is actually quite GOOD by most standards. The brand and viscosity of oil will play a role in consumption to a degree, but the basic physics of engine operation cannot be ignored.