Audi S6 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1995 Audi S6 2.2 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carAudi 90

Summary:

A fast 4 door sleeper

Faults:

Transmission was replaced under warranty as the 1st gear was too narrow for the torque of the engine.

General Comments:

I installed the Hoppen Stage 3 engine upgrade which included the RS2 Comp turbo, ECU upgrade with 3 bar sensor, RS2 exhaust manifold. I also installed ABT Springs/Bilstein shocks and 17 inch wheels. These upgrades are must-do's for the ur-S4/S6.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2004

27th Jan 2008, 16:23

Do you have to get the rs2 manifold to get the rs2 turbo? also, were did you get this and how much?

If you install this turbo upgrade, do you need a ecu chip to make it perform properly?

25th Feb 2008, 13:40

Depends how much power you are after. Remapped ECU, (or chips, go to any owner's website for info, s2forum.com is a good place to start) and full exhaust will see approx 270-280bhp.

The above with an uprated intercooler and hybrid turbo will see over 300.

RS2 conversion will liberate much more power, but depends how much you want.

7th May 2008, 13:11

You do not NEED the RS2 manifold for the RS2 turbo, but it is highly recommended or the engine can overheat due to the exhaust unable to keep up with the load. Also, you will need to have the ECU remapped (by MTM, 2Bennett, Intended Acceleration, etc...) to handle the added boost. In addition, you should do the MAP, injectors, an exhaust, and think about the exhuast cam for it all to run as it should. However, when it completed, it is well worth it. At that point you are looking at 320-350, depending on the ECU and exhaust.

1995 Audi S6 2.2 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Omega

Summary:

I'd buy another one tomorrow

Faults:

Valve cover gasket replaced - as it was leaking oil into the front spark plug.

Ignition leads replaced - very expensive, needed 5 at £27 each.

Driver heated seat no longer heats.

General Comments:

After the Omega, which despite the V6 engine, I got fed up with as it just felt too 'heavy' to drive. I decided I needed a smaller, turbocharged engine..

The 5 cylinder 20V turbocharged engine is splendid.. once the turbo kicks in at 3000rpm, you are very quickly in 6th gear and grinning for more.

The brakes are good (same as those on the A8) with ABS and EBD.

The Quattro 4 wheel drive system is fantastic, it really does corner like it is on rails.

The guys on the 'original S Cars' audiworld.com forum are very knowledgeable and helpful, providing lots of scope for modifying and improving performance.

The only complaint I have is that because it is so low, I can't go over certain speed bumps without having to endure horrible scraping noises from the underside of the car. Considering it's still on the original exhaust, it does worry me a bit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2003

13th Jun 2006, 07:12

Today I raced an Audi s6 with Opel vectra 1.9 CDTI. after 100km/h started to slow down (I'm not gonna drive insane in town) and realized that it is s6!!! before that he was checking my plates. Poor guy, he had his girlfriend watching :)

4th Jul 2007, 13:25

I realise no one will probably read this, given the last comment was 1 year ago, but that last comment is absolute rubbish.

No way, No how can a 1.9DTI Vectra beat an S6. Never. Ever.

I know diesels can be torquey, and give the odd petrol a surprise when caught off cam, but if the S6 was trying, YOU WOULD NOT HAVE STAYED WITH HIM.

I should know, I own a Mondeo ST diesel (very torquey engine) more than capable of giving my S6 a shock, but ONLY if I am not taking the S6 beyond 4k revs.

If the S6 is on full boost, there is not much this side of M5 that can stay with it. In fact, in 1995 the S6 in gear times were closer to the BMW than they should have been, given that the Audi was 2/3 the price, and gave away 100bhp on the BMW.

You are on a car website mate, try to not make comments that make you look ignorant.

8th Nov 2008, 18:55

I agree, a tiny diesel isn`t a match to an S6 2.2t. It is possible though that the car you raced was standard A6 with an S6 badge on it, but even then you would struggle to show your number plate.

3rd Jul 2009, 07:14

I just don't know why we need this kind of comments... won't help deciding to buy or not to buy.

You never know if the driver was pushing it or not... even a 30yr old Skoda can "beat" me driving my S4 Avant, if I'm just cruising around.

The modern diesels' powerband is stuck in 2000 rpm range (like 1500-3500rpm) if talking about the best... My S4's powerband is from 3000-6500, and already kicking from 2500...

Having 365000kms on the clock (with no overhauling yet), I can do 0-100 kph in 7 seconds flat... any modern diesel around the same weight and same power is left behind by far... would never ever change it to diesel... I changed from a 2.5TDi to this 2.2 20VT wonder, and it's gonna stay with me 'till it falls into pieces...

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 11 reviews