2001 Audi TT Quattro 1.8 turbo from North America

Summary:

Awesome roadster!

Faults:

The instrument cluster had to be replaced from a bad temperature gauge, but I bought the extended warranty which covered it.

Windows do leak a little in the rain.

General Comments:

People either love it or hate it, and I love it. I have a friend who had constant problems with her 1.8 180 HP coupe, but I have not had anything I didn't know about going into it.

I read these other reviews, and I guess people think this is a luxury sedan. It's a roadster people! It's built for windy roads and sporty driving. The suspension is way more comfortable than my old Mustang GT, and the handling is second to none.

I chipped it and added a diverter valve, and I highly recommend both. Neither will eliminate my warranty according to Carmax, and it helps decrease turbo lag and add responsiveness.

Don't think I will ever be able to part with it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2006

2001 Audi TT Quattro Roadster 1.8T from North America

Summary:

Buying this car is a costly and frustrating mistake

Faults:

Timing belt failed at 77,000 miles causing engine damage.

Mass Airflow Sensor Failed.

Combination Valve Failed.

Turbo cooling oil return lines leaked.

Instrument Cluster seriously malfunctioned and required replacement.

Headlight Assembly failed and replaced.

Turn signal relay replaced.

Heated mirror switch replaced.

Fuel Sender pumps failed and required replacement.

Ball joints worn prematurely and required replacement.

Engine mount disintegrated and required replacement.

Axel seal leaked and replaced.

Window seals leak when it rains.

Leather seats were permanently damaged by exposure to one brief rain shower.

General Comments:

This vehicle handles well - when it runs. Two failures have left me stranded on the side of the road in less than 8 months. Many other failures have required lengthy and expensive repairs. I would never buy another Audi or Volkswagen. I purchased this vehicle with about 55,000 miles on it and it now has around 77,000. All of these problems have occurred since my purchase.

Car is very sluggish off the line and remains so until approximately 3,000 RPM. Car is far heavier than I expected and absolutely must be equipped with very good all season tires or dedicated snow tires if it will be driven in the winter. Fuel economy is good (27-30 MPG) between 55 and 65 MPH, but drops into the low 20s or lower when driven around town or at higher highway speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th July, 2006

14th Jul 2006, 10:03

Its sluggish off the line because its only a 1.8 liter engine and the turbo doesn't spool up until 3000 rpms like most other turbos. Also when you do use that turbo a lot, the gas mileage drops significantly.

3rd Aug 2006, 03:40

I agree, sluggish off the line and does leak in the rain.

A chip and diverter valve really solve that though. Sounds like the person you bought it from screwed it up before you got it. I have driven mine from 40-55K so far with no service issues, and love driving it!

2001 Audi TT 1.8 from North America

Summary:

Quite a show car.

Faults:

Instrument cluster, battery-replaced.

General Comments:

Generally it is one of the best cars I have owned. It does required an adjustment to driving techniques because of the low height and several blind spots specially with the top up. The handling is excellent and I looked for the 180 hp motor for better fuel mpg. On the road it averages 35+ mpg at a steady 65-68 mph. The trunk size allows longer trips without difficulty. The brakes are outstanding.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2006

2001 Audi TT 1.8 from North America

Faults:

Original battery had a bad cell. Instrument cluster had to be replaced due to speedometer sticking. Winshield fluid container replaced.

General Comments:

This is a dream car for me. Took three years to find one at the right price. 2WD, 5 speed, convertible. Always getting compliments.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2006

2001 Audi TT Quattro 1.8 Twin turbo from North America

Summary:

Great styling, performance, poor German engineering

Faults:

Dome light shorting out battery.

Yaw sensor failure

Instrument Panel and dash going crazy.

General Comments:

Really nice performance. Handles very well. The Quattro is the reason I bought it for the mountains where I live. The bar that my leg must jam against to reach the gas pedal is uncomfortable. The dealership that I had been taking it to, MacDonalds Automotive Group provides the poorest quality service, every time failing to secure the undercarriage panel securely. I bought it for my wife on Valentines Day, but the needing to have it repaired often is disappointing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th September, 2003

16th Mar 2005, 10:54

My wife loves our 2001 Audi A4 Station Wagon, even though she has some difficulty seeing the instruments. I usually can't see the fuel gauge or speedometer at all, except at night. There is no variable light setting for the instrument panel and all I see during the day is a black section where the instrument panel is located, with the green display screen being the only legible area.

This problem is emphasized by our second car, a 5 year old Sentra, which has fully adjustable instrument lights and all guages are readily visible day or night.