2001 Audi TT Reviews - Page 4 of 5

2001 Audi TT Coupe 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carAudi TT

Summary:

Sleek with quaility issues

Faults:

Engine coil recall--it was a big pain before the recall became official. They would only replace one coil at a time so you had to "wait" for the other coils to fail. Today they will replace them all.

Horn broke.

Headlight malfunctioned (took 2 service visits to resolve.

Button popped off emergency brake and needed service visit to reattach.

Several electronic indicators had to be be repaired.

Window has occasionally refused to go up all the way. Seems to be self correcting after time passes.

General Comments:

Very enjoyable car to drive, but some really annoying defects. I had an Acura and didn't need to go in for a repair in 100,00 miles. With this car it seems every 1000 miles something breaks. Its all warranty, but I am worried about when the warranty expires...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th September, 2003

13th Sep 2003, 01:00

I hope Audi is logging onto carsurvey.org and listening to the reviews of all these Audi's. Their vehicles look great (the TT is a good example) and they are comfortable and satisfying to drive. But there's no point producing a car (even in the luxury and prestige market) if it keeps breaking down and costs a fortune to repair. That's why most people in the know would rather buy a Lexus, BMW or Benz, even though the Audi's initially appear to be great value. Perhaps that's why Audi bought Lamborghini - they are too concerned with performance, when people really only want reliability.

2001 Audi TT Quattro roadster 1.8L 225HP from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8L 225HP Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16339 miles
Most recent distance17039 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

100 percent pure driving pleasure

Faults:

Everything has performed as promised so far. No problems.

General Comments:

I found this car at CarMax while looking for a weekend convertible. I was debating a Boxster over an M-series Z3 when I came across the Audi. I had never considered one, but I took it for a test drive. I bought it the next day after doing extensive research on the net.

This car has the most bang-for-the-buck of anything out there. I saved $15,000 over an identical 2003 model. It performs flawlessly, turns heads everywhere I take it, and puts a smile on your face that you can't wipe off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2003

2001 Audi TT 225 coupe 1.8 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Really attracts ladies

Faults:

Petrol meter is not always right.

General Comments:

The Audi TT is a great car.

Great for looks, style and handling.

I have owned an M3 before and prefer the TT.

The TT is one of two, four wheel drive convertables on the road.

I'm only 19 and have owned some of the fastest road cars under the £60k bracket, but the TT has to be the best of them all.

I have tried so hard to get the car to spin off the road in the low gears, but finding it rather hard thanks to the four wheel drive.

My 1998 BMW M3 EVO used to spin off at every tight corner, and is not that eye catching to the public.

I think the Mondeo driver needs to wake up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2003

28th Feb 2003, 09:46

If you had ever owned or driven both an M3 and TT, or if you could actually drive properly, you would never prefer a TT to an M3. Hmmm... let me think, driver dependent, perfectly balanced RWD sports saloon, or electrickery ridden 4WD poseur-mobile?? Which would appeal to any driving enthusiast more???

2001 Audi TT Coupe 1.8 turbo 180 BHp from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo 180 BHp Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance40133 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 145

Summary:

Built Like A Car Should Be Only Smaller!

Faults:

Drivers window do not always close.

General Comments:

A great tourer.

A very safe and secure ride.

Excellent build quality.

Still a good looking car that attracts attention.

Good performance when you need it.

The rear seats are a waste of time.

Space is very limited, even for a short weekend break.

I feel that it is now a bit of a has been.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2003

2001 Audi TT 225 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carAudi V8 Quattro

Summary:

The TT is an Ingolstadt master piece!

Faults:

The glove compartment door would not latch as we drove the car off the lot.

The memory board for the alarm was replaced due to malfunction.

The original tires had to be replaced at 4000 miles (Audi paid half)

General Comments:

On wet roads, the quattro system gives the car sure footed handling and grip.

Very rarely does the ESP kick in to correct any cornering misjudgments.

The TT is entertainingly quick and very predictable in Highway and country driving.

With the top up, the cabin is a bit noisy, but not unusual for a soft top.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2002

11th Nov 2002, 20:56

Steven.

My rear passenger tire cracked on its side last month and I have to replace it. Can you tell me why did you have to replace your tires after 4000 miles?

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 21 reviews