1992 BMW 3 Series 318i 1.8 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Classic BMW style and elegant simplicity

Faults:

Normal wear and tear for a car of this vintage: the air conditioning needed to be re-gassed and the radiator needed replacing. Other minor things all to do with the age of the car, and totally normal.

General Comments:

It's a great car, it has that classic BMW style and 'connected' feeling to the road. It handles very well on the road and in parking situations its just fabulous. The steering is just excellent.

The seats may look thin, but are quite supportive and comfortable. The performance is not blistering, but is enough for what I need (the car really loves to perform in the high rev ranges).

The quality of the interior is my one quibble, not of the high standard you may expect (the door trims and quality of the cloth and some plastics). Expect saggy door trims as standard.

Not as much room in the back, but actually I rode in the back today (a friend was driving), and it was actually really comfortable and smooth.

The safety is also quite good, with ABS brakes, and clever deforming crumple zones and side intrusion bars - definitely good for a car of this era.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th June, 2010

1992 BMW 3 Series 320i 2.0 straight six from Norway

Summary:

You feel at home in this car

Faults:

Water-pump changed at 170000km

Shocks where totally shot at 215000km

Changed differential at 230000km

Changed fuel-pump at 295000km

The car wears bushings out quickly, might be the wide tires I used on it.

Some rust on the doors, not much.

General Comments:

I really enjoyed this car, I owned it for 7 years and not many things went wrong with it.

3 owners, every one was 18-25 year range, so the car is driven in a more sporty manner :)

The engine still purr nicely, it's strong and it has all the original parts except the water-pump.

The seat-fabric it very strong, shows almost no wear after 16 years of good use.

Young people have used this car for 14 years and it still is good-looking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2008

19th Oct 2008, 09:44

I'm 20, and my 3 series still drives and looks as nice as it did when I bought it.

1992 BMW 3 Series 325i 2.5 from North America

Summary:

NICE!

Faults:

Low washer fluid.

General Comments:

Fast after high rpm, but no low speed pick up. Bad low end torque.

Fun to drive. Great handling, comfortable, and lots of looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th September, 2008

23rd Sep 2008, 13:13

If that's the true mileage then it'll last many more years as long as you look after the bodywork.

28th Oct 2008, 21:15

Who lists low washer fluid as something that has gone wrong with a car? That's a basic need for a car. That's like saying the gas tank ran low.

1992 BMW 3 Series 325i Coupe 2.5 from Lithuania

Summary:

Good-looking reliable performer - all you need

Faults:

Alternator belt holder flew off while driving. Purely my fault for not replacing it when purchased the car.

Speedometer has started showing random things, but somehow fixed itself 2 days later. No problems anymore.

So basically nothing wrong with the car itself whatsoever.

General Comments:

The car is a perfect example of BMW engineering. It has been built 14 years ago, but after being well looked-after, the Coupe is still a head turner and above all an amazingly great performer.

For certain reasons I had to buy an automatic, but the disadvantages of this gearbox are easily compensated by the 192 horses under the hood. The pull is so excellent, it's really hard to keep yourself within the speed limits. 0-100 km/h is easily achieved in 9 seconds. I took it out to a 4000 km trip to Germany. Entire distance was driven in the speeds varying from 160 to 240 km/h. The gears apparently are quite long, because while at 210 the tachometer shows only slightly over 4k rpm. And only mere 5k rpm when driving at 240. So knowing there's still a thousand revs left until the redline, I assume it can easily exceed 250 km/h barrier. All that without a minor breakdown. Think of another affordable vehicle with that kind of performance and reliability.

It also survived the track test brilliantly. The over-steer caused by rear wheel drive is easily killed with a light opposite steer. It handles absolutely perfectly. Lapping Nurburgring Nordschleife was a sheer driving pleasure, just like BMW itself says.

Expensive pleasure though. With me at the wheel, in city area it consumes nearly 15 liters / 100 km, while out on the freeway with constant 140 km/h, it's easy to stay within 8-10. So relatively economic on the other hand too.

Backseat space isn't perfect. But if you look at it with the Coupe standard in mind, it's a real limo. In other cars of that kind, there is literally no leg space in the back, while in this BMW 4 people can travel really easily. Maybe not around the world and not like in a sedan, but surely better than in any other Coupe I can think of.

After all the 10.000 km in total that I've driven it (and I've driven it really, really hard), it still works like brand new. Absolutely flawless.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2006