1992 BMW 3 Series Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1992 BMW 3 Series 325i 2.5liter In-Line 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5liter In-Line 6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired149000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Vento

Summary:

True German Engineering, at its best

Faults:

Well, I had to replace the radiator when I first got it.

The driver side window failed to operate, but was easily fixed with a new switch.

The original muffler finally let loose.

The passenger side interior door handle fell off the other day.

Other than that...It's an awesome car.

Don't ever crack a headlamp...they're expensive.

General Comments:

The turns are crisp and true, the ride is firm and controlled, the engine is a work of art, and the car is truly impressive.

The seats are holding up nicely, the paint still has a great shine. I am hoping to get another 100,000 out of her. So far everything is looking like I will.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2003

1992 BMW 3 Series 318is coupe 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Well engineered and a pleasure to own - as long as you get a good one

Faults:

Rear suspension bushes replaced.

ABS sensor failed.

Cracked exhaust manifold.

New front wings due to corrosion.

General Comments:

I bought this car from a BMW dealer when it was 6 years old. Unfortunately, one of the mud flaps fell off a week after I took delivery to reveal some corrosion on the wing. Both wings were replaced even though the car was 2 months outside its corrosion warranty. My first six months were not to good. A failed ABS sensor and a failed rear suspension bush required a further three visits to rectify. The next two years were trouble free (the cracked exhaust manifold was fixed during a service) and since I sold the car to my father a year ago, its been fine.

The BMW coupe is an excellent compromise between performance and comfort. The cabin has excellent ergonomics with only a slightly offset driving position to spoil the otherwise excellent design.

Performance of the 140bhp engine is adequate... if you can afford it get either the 2.5 or 3 litre version.

Handling is excellent. In the dry, the handling is neutral, with a hint of understeer when pushing on. With only 140bhp and 245 section tyres, oversteer is very difficult to provoke. In the wet, more care is required as the car will oversteer if provoked, but the warning signals are their to be read...

The car is now 10 years old and could pass for a car half that age given the way it looks and performs. BMW's are expensive to maintain, but last very weel when they are.

BMW customer service is second to none and the warranty is excellent. Well worth purchasing as parts and labour are very expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2003

1992 BMW 3 Series 325i Coupe from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Coupe Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Fantastic car for the price of a newish Fiesta!

Faults:

Overall this has been a very reliable car. I drive it hard once up to full temperature and love that 6-cylinder engine :-)

A trait of the early e36's is water pump failure. BMW fitted water pumps with plastic impellers. Over time these break and your car overheats. If you are very unlucky then all the bits of plastic will be sent round the cooling system causing blockages. Also if you don't notice you may overheat and do serious terminal head damage. Read 1000ukp+ to repair.

Why am I saying this? I learnt the hard way! Luckily though all I needed was a new pump. I knew of this fault when I bought the car, but didn't replace the pump as a precaution. If you have a pre 95 with the M50/M52 engine then please change that pump! Its 27ukp from eurocarparts and is very easy to fit. Less than an hours work for an average home mechanic.

I also had a rear wheel bearing done.

The car just flew through its MOT and I was very happy and suprised.

General Comments:

This is the E36 version (91-98)

My cars first owner (chartered accountant) had it for 9 years. The first 3 of those were as his company car and then he bought it from the Lease Company. It's a fantastic spec and has over 5k worth of options. Sunroof, climate, air con, computer, cruise control, auto gearbox, extended wiring loom (???), spoiler. You get the picture! Total cost was 28k, nearly the same as the current 325i!

Second owner had it for 2 years and also looked after it very well.

I bought it in February this year. Even though it is now 10 years old I can say it still drives very well. Rear suspension may need some work soon, but there is nothing of major expense. I've added late e36 coupe alloys, white 'm3 style' light kit, parking sensors, sports interior from a 98 328i sport and my private plate. It looks just like a 98 car now. Tasteful mods I think and nothing overboard or non BMW.

The coupe handles so much better than the saloon as it has the full MTEC suspension. My old e36 318i was a bit like jelly in comparison, but still a nice car all the same.

These cars are currently crashing price wise. Grab a nice one now before the boyracers ruin them and it will last you for years. Much better than a 12 month old boring corsa or fiesta!

To be honest parts and servicing are also very reasonable. I get mine 'oil' serviced at a main dealer and do all the other bits and pieces myself. Last service including full valet and courtesy (e46 316I) car came to 70 quid! The dealer I use is Preston Hall in Stockton.

Go on, buy that BMW you have always wanted :-)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2002

15th Sep 2003, 07:40

I would like to say thank you to the guy who wrote this. I'm a 22 yr old girlie who loves the coupes. Just this morning I put a deposit on a 1992 J Red 318is Coupe - much against my families disagreement. They've heard the stories - oh they over heat - bad news etc. I can now go back with this... and a new pump in hand and say 'sorted'. As I know nothing about cars - its good to hear comments from those who know and can help others out. Cheers mate - hopefully my dad will stay off my case now :-)

21st Feb 2004, 11:41

My pleasure, glad to help.

I've still got the car and touch wood its still going strong with 130k miles. I was thinking of bottling out and selling, but as they are currently worth zilch and I still get a buzz driving it, she can stay!

If you need any help or advice with your BM give me a shout!

Cheers.

Ash.

21st Oct 2004, 14:25

Hi, I enjoyed your write up, and the lady I am about to take one on. K reg 325i Deep Metallic Blue, Boot spoiler, will have 'Angel Eyes' fitted, chrome over wheel arches and mirrors (may have these removed) low mileage and been in the family for 7 years, so I am fully aware of its history.

Selling my 'tired' Omega Elite. Great car, but I don't need a big car to cart all the baby gear around anymore. Plenty of room in the rear of the BMW for my little one. Think I may trying to relive my youth before I hit 40.

Great Comments about your car and looking forward to my delivery Dec '04'.

Please e-mail because I would be interested in the pit-falls of owner one of these.

Thanks

leecpearson@ntlworld.com

21st Oct 2004, 14:29

Sorry, forgot e-mail address

leecpearson@ntlworld.com.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 24 reviews