1993 BMW 3 Series Reviews - Page 3 of 7

1993 BMW 3 Series 325is L6 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission L6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

BMW go drive one then talk

Faults:

This car is very expensive to maintain, or maybe because it's 14 years old. When I bought the car I put over $2,000 into maintenance--the last owner just drove it and let it fall apart with age. I put new Bilstein shocks and struts, brakes and rotors, full dealer tune up, new tires, and a new passenger leather door panel. The CD changer in the trunk was broken when I bought it, so I installed an Alpine CD player.

Basically after maintenance the car is really in as-new condition, and will run another 100,000 miles no problem.

General Comments:

Wow, this car is really fast for a 2.5 liter making only 189hp.

The paint is excellent, bright red and looks new--people ask me all the time if I just had it waxed. The interior is so clean, I love the two tone leather door panels. I still need to replace the back leather panels, they were puffed out when I bought it. I just haven't gotten around to getting them replaced because of other little issues that came up.

This car is completely stock and has 16" sport tires and a stick; car handles good. I do want to lower it and add 18's or 19's and a strut bar to really make it handle like a dream.

I'm 19, so my friends and I are into speed. The Bimmer is in every car conversation and it usually wins because of the famous M-Power. We usually take long trips in my Bimmer because it's so comfortable. Sometimes I find myself on the freeway just looking to have fun with other sports cars.

I plan on always having a BMW; I don't want to sell my 1993 BMW 325is because I put too much money into it to get it to look and drive like new. So I'm eventually going to buy a 2000 E46 328ci, because I think it will be a nice upgrade in some ways from my 1993 325is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2007

10th Aug 2007, 20:13

This was my BMW review, I crashed it in Aug. I'm now looking to by a 1990 E30 BMW 325is with a stick.

26th Oct 2007, 10:23

Thanks for your review, shame about the accident. I'm sure you'll have more fun with a manual though.

1993 BMW 3 Series 325is 2.5L from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

BIMMER

Faults:

Just maintenance.

General Comments:

Great car I'm only 19, will keep buying BMWS ALL MY LIFE.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2007

31st Jan 2007, 09:56

How about reviewing the car please.

31st Jan 2007, 10:22

I too would like to know how you like the ride, how it drives, what you think of the interior.

Basically describe what you like and don't like about the car besides the fact that you like it overall (which you must have anyways to buy it).

31st Jan 2007, 21:23

Congratulations on graduating from the world of Dodge Neons to the world of BMWs. BMW world is a friendlier, more reliable place and you will be very happy here. I have been here for three years with a 1994 318i and I too will continue to buy BMWs.

1993 BMW 3 Series 2.5 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance181000 miles

Summary:

Love it, can't wait for the next 3 series

Faults:

Changed the radiator, water pump, fan clutch at about 100K. Then the fan clutch again abou 150K miles. Window switch failure all except drivers'. Driver seat starting to wear, finally. Computer gets wet above glovebox in the engine compartment. Dealer quoted me $700.00 but I just took out the computer and dried up the moister from rain. Need to replace plastic cover under windshield wipers, will fix problem. One lifter is sticking, but hasn't hurt performance.

General Comments:

The car seems to get better in performance year by year. It starts and runs like a clock, besides the tired lifter knock. I am a very hard driver, everyday, starting and stopping the car at least 10 times a day. I feel like the car never complains. Overall best car that I've purchased.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2006

21st May 2006, 13:30

I have a 93 325i, very fun & quick, not bad interior room either, I have become a 3 series fan for life.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 22 reviews