1993 BMW 3 Series Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1993 BMW 3 Series 316i 1.6 injection from Belgium

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 injection Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance194000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Nice as a first BMW

Faults:

Quality of interior could be better.

Electric windows are really cheaply made.

The noise could be reduced too.

General Comments:

Strong car, and really reliable.

The engine never dies.

It's a good choice between economy and power since the engine is a little too weak for that car.

Very low on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2002

2nd Apr 2005, 13:36

I can detail your phrase about fuel consumption.

After having driven a diesel car for many years, this car surprised me for it's moderate fuel consumption.

It is a heavy car and I could drive it as a diesel, which means that I you don't see me driving at more than 3100 rpm; I avoid stopping and speeding.

Driving long distances at an average of 90 km per hour on French highways, the car consumed 1 liter every 17 kilometers, measured at the fuel station.

Today, driving more on the short track, 1 liter every 14.25 kilometers, measured at the fuel station.

In addition to your comment I appreciate its luxury. It definitely needs a good music player. You may forget that you are driving a car. It is more like being in music and driving has changed from getting there asap into a gentle way to pass time.

Enjoy!

1993 BMW 3 Series 325i Convertible M50 Vanos petrol (E36) from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission M50 Vanos petrol (E36) Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance64500 miles
Previous carFord Capri

Summary:

A stylish practical convertible

Faults:

ABS light has shown.

Auto/power window sealer on the driver's door malfunctions occasionally.

Roof rattles.

Auto start inhibitor does not work (can start in gear).

Plastic rear window is scuffed and scratched.

General Comments:

This car is a work of art. The styling is timeless, quite square and aggressive. As far as convertibles go, it is practical yet still a load of fun.

The gear-box is smooth, the motor is powerful enough and it handles very well.

The seats are extremely comfortable and the interior (leather) is quite nice, although later models (E46) look smoother.

Despite being 8 years old it still has the style and feel of a much newer car.

The roof seals perfectly and wind noise is only slightly noticeable at motorway speed limits.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2001

1993 BMW 3 Series 318i 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carFord XR2

Summary:

Superb car, spoiled by high dealer costs

Faults:

Driver's window came off its rail (apparently a design fault in the early 3 Series, but reportedly fixed before my car went into production).

General Comments:

Comfortable drive, marred by excessive wind noise (not a quiet car).

BMW dealers are notoriously expensive, and not worth it. GBP 26 quoted for topping up the antifreeze. Unnecessary work done, so honesty not prevalent with BMW dealers. Don't bother keeping the FBMWSH up, go to a BMW specialist instead, not a dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2001

19th May 2001, 03:39

Yeah the dealers are expensive. Part prices are not too bad, it's the labour costs that are silly.

I had the same problem with my window (1993 318i), I had a Haynes manual and found the problem. Went to dealers for parts, cost me £3.00 in vat!! And my window has never played up since.

BMW has realised their costs are taking away the older cars and have now introduced the four plus scheme. Mine's in for a second inspection next week. Going to cost £275 inc VAT, but this is little money to pay for piece of mind on a beemer cos when they go wrong... well lets not think about it!!

10th Jun 2003, 05:38

I am currently experiencing the same problem with the driver side front window of my 1986 3 series BMW running out of the rails when opening/closing the window. (Electrical mechanism).How do I solve this and what can the cause of this be? Advice greatly appreciated.

Regards

Johan.

1993 BMW 3 Series 318 SE 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired123500 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carTriumph Spitfire

Summary:

Gorgeous German Beast

Faults:

Nothing.

It's had one lady owner from new and has been thoroughly serviced by BMW. She traded it in for a new Porsche.

Even though 127,000 shows on the odometer, this car still drives and feels like brand new, everything is still really tight.

There were a few things easily sorted such as dash lights etc, nothing that caused any expense. How many other cars at eight years old can still be this mint?

The body and interior are unmarked, no scuffs scratches or dents.

General Comments:

I'm only 19, so insurance is a bit of a killer but worth every penny just for the attention and pure German quality. Stands out wherever it's stood.

One hint, if you are going to buy a used BMW don't worry about mileage but make sure that it has a full BMW service history.

A well serviced one will go on and on whilst a badly neglected one will be a big pit for all your hard earned cash.

If you can afford it, go for a 6 cylinder engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2000

17th Dec 2000, 13:14

It is a very good, good looking car.

1993 BMW 3 Series E30 318i Convertible Lux 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Bought car for £10,500 - May 28th 1999, 61,500 miles.

Had look over on 21.06.99 for:

Cam belt replacement - routine.

Fan clutch.

Fan belt.

Timing belt.

Exhaust.

PAS belt replaced - but there still is sometimes a groaning noise when turning the wheel - remedy still not found.

Bill came to 574.93 at my local main dealer.

General Comments:

It is one of the most gorgeous cars in the world. I love it to bits. The only problem is the performance it is SO slow. But it IS a 318i. Next time round I will go for a 325i, 328i or an M3 Evo.

I would recommend anyone to buy one of these cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 1999

1993 BMW 3 Series 318i 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

When the sunroof is fully open, the plastic fittings around the opening have a tendency to rattle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 1997

1993 BMW 3 Series 318iS Coupe 1.8 16 valve petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.8 16 valve petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

ABS sensor (under warranty). Central locking (under warranty). Rear shock mounts (under warranty).

General Comments:

Had it three years, can't bring myself to sell it. Wonderful handling but a little under powered. Less fun to drive than the old three series but easier to live with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 1997

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 22 reviews