1996 BMW 3 Series Reviews - Page 12 of 15

1996 BMW 3 Series 323i Coupe 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired74500 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

A smooth mover

Faults:

The one touch up facility on the passenger side electric window is playing up. I think this is a fairly common problem on these and it will be fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

I'm the third owner, but the car looks as though it's only had one.

Not as many toys as my Clio 172 (have really missed the climate control with the recent hot weather) but it's so much nicer to drive. Comfortable too with the fully adjustable sports seats.

Although I've got 17" rims on mine, a long motorway stint recently showed how smooth and relax the car is. Even with only 170bhp for a car this size, putting the right foot down feels as though there's a lot more under the bonnet.

Fuel consumption is not good, but it's what you'd expect for a 2.5 litre 6 cylinder motor.

Now, how long will it be before I can get my hands on a M3...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2003

1996 BMW 3 Series 328i 2.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

Excellent second-hand buy

Faults:

Fuel gauge needle has stopped working, so cannot tell the level of fuel left in the tank.

Some wind noise from window, seal probably needs replacing.

General Comments:

This is a superb car. Performance is extremely good, as is fuel economy - over 30 miles to the gallon. Handling from rear wheel drive set-up is brilliant. The straight six engine is so smooth, it is an absolute peach. No serious problems - touch wood. However, I did buy one with a full BMW service history.

My only gripe is the comfort, I do not find the seats particularly comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2003

23rd Aug 2004, 20:46

I too have the same pleasure while driving the 328i. My previous car was a 2.0i 16v Vauxhall Calibra, which I no longer pine for since buying a BMW.

The only down side are the similar petty faults. The sagging glove box is certainly not a major drama, but the electric windows only going up when they want to is some what annoying. These are things I will happily fix, because the car is fantastic.

15th Mar 2005, 12:10

Bought my 96 328i in February of 2005. It was a one-owner with only 36K miles on it (elderly couple). I love it, looking for excuses to take it out in search of curves to fly through. Noticed the temp gauge dropping close to blue "cool" range at freeway speeds - one shop said no problem, another said no, it should not run that cool, could tend to run rich and damage things like catalytic converter etc over time... had them replace thermostat (and factory plastic mount) and it runs with the needle straight up at all speeds now. I repeat, what a blast to drive...

1996 BMW 3 Series 328i Sport Coupe 2.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Looks, performance and economy

Faults:

The ABS warning light came on and a fault was found in the braking system.

General Comments:

For a car with such a powerful engine it is surprisingly easy to drive and easy on fuel.

Don't even atempt to venture out on snow covered roads unless Ballet is a favorite.

Handling in the dry is precise and driver involving.

M3 looks with 318 insurance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2002

1996 BMW 3 Series SE 320i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 320i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance85250 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

A well built, high performance and affordable car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A joy to drive, the straight six engine is a beauty. Compared to my previous 318 it's in a different league.

The engine is superb, fast enough for our roads and very fast when driven hard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2002

1996 BMW 3 Series 328I 2.8L V6 193BHP from United Arab Emirates

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8L V6 193BHP Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired29 kilometres
Most recent distance55497 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

High Performance Bavarian bargain!!!

Faults:

Passenger Window Motor.

Accelerator Box keeps burning out (if you give it a kick-down, the car will stall in 3rd gear and rev up without changing even if you released the accelerator), this has happened around 3 times from accelerating and then braking.

Speedometer bulbs burn out.

Nothing else much except changing of oils, lights etc (all the regulars).

General Comments:

My 328I is a very nice, powerful, comfortable, attractive and durable for a BMW car, I like it more and more after each race, I beat S-Classes, E-Classes and even C-320's with this baby.

I got my 328I in 2000 as it was an overstock from 1996 and they sold them brand new for very good prices, its loaded green metalic with beige leather.

I advise this car to any Bavarian lover, I also would advise all other BMW's, but sadly I have to say that if you want a 5 or a 7 Series, you have to have a full pocket to run it, you should also have a spare car like a land-cruiser when its in the workshop, but overall I think BMW's kick ass!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2002

19th May 2003, 05:59

Your car doesn't have a V6 engine. BMW use in-line sizes, and the 2.8 liter used in the 328i is no exception. Also... unless you have added performance upgrades, then the driver in the C320 was simply not trying to race you - it's a faster car, plain and simple, especially considering yours is an automatic.

4th Aug 2003, 05:37

I think your just being pedantic of the 6 cylinder engine bit there and you are also wrong about the C320. The newer C320 does 0-62 in 7.8 seconds. The 328i does it in 6.8 for the latest shape, or 7.3 for the previous shape (up to 1999). So get your facts straight first.

30th Dec 2006, 12:29

Bmw 1996 328i does 0-60 in 6.4 sec. stock

The m52 engine has a lot of low end torque because of VANOS system.

25th Aug 2008, 14:47

Just curios why your telling him his engine is an in line instead of a v6 when he doesn't mention it in the review.

24th Jan 2009, 15:20

Ehhh... he did. Check the title of the review.

17th Mar 2009, 11:56

Claimed 0-60 times for the e36 328i range from 6.4 - 7.3 seconds.

Personally I could just about manage 7 (0-65 allowing for error)

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 58 reviews