1996 BMW 3 Series Reviews - Page 14 of 15

1996 BMW 3 Series 316i 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

The mutt's nutts

Faults:

Nothing.

That's right, nothing.

General Comments:

This is the best car on the road. I'll never have anything else now. It is a bit pricy to maintain, but definitely worth every penny.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2001

14th Jul 2001, 05:30

Do you not find the 316 a bit slow?

I drove my old mans 318 a lot and I found it a tadge under powered. Fantastic handling though. The older model is actually a lot more fun to drive than the newer version.

23rd Dec 2005, 20:07

Hi I agree it's a very sound car, I just wanted to ask if it would be too much to install 18 inch mag wheels, has any one tried this? need feed back.. thanks.

1996 BMW 3 Series 318ti Compact 1.9 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.9 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

A high priced rip-off - Buy a Golf GTi instead

Faults:

Starter motor.

Electric windows.

Engine electrics.

General Comments:

Performance good, as is the image, but the car is very overpriced, for what it offers. Too many niggling faults to consider buying another.

Water runs in onto seats when the is window open.

Tailgate doesn't open high enough - anyone over 5'0" bashes their head.

Upholstery stains from rain water.

Difficult to get in the back seats.

Exhorbitant buying, & servicing costs.

Dealer service no better than Vauxhall/Ford/VW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th August, 2000

21st May 2001, 08:04

Would the water still come in if you closed the windows/sunroof??!!

4th Jun 2004, 09:44

I agree with the comment 99% of cars let water in if the windows are open.

18th May 2005, 19:33

I as well hate rain water stains in my ride, so I roll up the window. Interesting isn't it.

19th Jan 2007, 00:18

LOL.

I have owned a number of cars, and being a smoker I crack the window in any weather. Anyhow I have noticed that some cars pour more water through a cracked window than others.

I think the original poster must have meant something like this, but it was funny the way he worded it.

9th Aug 2007, 17:58

I understand what the original poster was trying to say. I have a 1995 Geo Metro that, amazingly, can have both windows all the way down w/o much rain at all coming in. It's like there's a Force Field around the car. Must have something to do with the great aerodynamic design of the car. The wind (and thus the rain) are forced up & over the car.

12th Dec 2007, 12:14

If you want perfection then buy a new BMW; or better still, a Rolls-Royce or Bentley.

22nd Dec 2010, 18:50

No, I have a 318ti, and although I love her to bits, it did strike me as a bit silly that every time I use the windscreen washers at speeds much above 15mph with the window open, water comes into the car.

1996 BMW 3 Series 318 Ti Compact 1.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles

Summary:

Good for ignoramuses about cars, like me

Faults:

The best thing about this car is that nothing went wrong in almost three years without any servicing.

General Comments:

Positive side:

1. Reliable

2. Rrgonomically optimized for the driver (everything is exactly where you need it)

Negative side:

1. Rxtremely noisy on the motorway at 70mph (worse than a Ford KA)

2. Underpowered for BMW

3. BMW image (if you care about that)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2000

7th Jul 2002, 02:06

No service in 3 years??!! Maybe explains why it was noisy.

4th May 2005, 20:19

I agree with your review, I own this car for 1 1/2 years now and nothing went wrong. I love it.

23rd Mar 2009, 10:40

I think, I bought your car and now have had to do all the maintenance work that you did not.

1996 BMW 3 Series 316i Compact 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

An average car with a high price tag and all for a badge

Faults:

Absolutly rubbish on icey roads, with the rear wheel drive pathetic, it took me 30 mins to get out of my drive!

Too cramped in the back

Drivers side lock very stiff.

General Comments:

In all a fairly average car, the looks of it are what sell it, the 1.6i engine didn't come close to my old Mazda 323 1.6, having said that the 16v edged it for the Mazda.

If you really want a BMW you must really go for a 32x i.e. 325, the extra pounds will really add to a better deal, it#s just too small and basic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2000

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 58 reviews