1998 BMW 3 Series Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1998 BMW 3 Series 328i Sport 2.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

The ultimate driving machine! It's true

Faults:

Replacement clutch fitted at 39,000 miles. BMW told me this was not uncommon.

General Comments:

This car is everything I could ever want from a car, the build quality is superb.

Don't doubt the performance of these cars either. I upset my friend after his 40k Porsche Boxster 2.7L could not pass me, he-he.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2001

1998 BMW 3 Series 328 CI M-Tech 2.8L petrol from Switzerland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8L petrol Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres
Previous carRenault Laguna

Summary:

Nice car - but be careful in deep snow :-)

Faults:

- Lambda-Sondd produced errors (replaced under warranty).

- Windscreen wiper electrics and motor (replaced by warranty).

- Damper shield of the left exhaust went loose (when driving in snow). Fixed by dealer at Swiss $ 0.--

General Comments:

Generally, this car is very reliable. There are some special technical things you have to get used to.

Everything is well built and solid.

Especially here in Switzerland, the M-Tech package (especially with the lowered down suspension) is not the best in snow - I lost an exhaust-shield.

Servicing is less expensive than with French cars here in Switzerland (lucky us!). In Australia and in America this seems to be "slightly" different.

The list price is high, but have a look at it after 200'000 KM... A BMW you still can sell... Try this with a Renault or a Fiat. And calculate what you've spent on a French car meanwhile. I really was surprised.

The 5-Gear automatic is OK, especially in town. You almost do not get the difference between a hand-shifted and an automatic looking to performance. Both cars are fast enough.

Overall petrol consumption is OK (about 9l Super-PLUS).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2001

1998 BMW 3 Series 318i SE Touring 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Great build quality and good value for money

Faults:

Automatic alarm/key fob battery leaked, I had to buy a new one for £70.00.

General Comments:

This car is really good looking, stands out in a crowd.

Handles well, Michelin tyres go on forever & stick to the road.

Acceleration is a bit disappointing, but it cruises well on the motorway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2001

1998 BMW 3 Series 328i 2.8 6 cylinder from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 6 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance28500 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

I urge all people to taste the 328i!!!

Faults:

Nothing that is a cause for concern. Bulb that illuminates the air conditioning screen blew. Replaced by the dealer at a cost of £24!!! That is the only gripe I have with this car.

Otherwise superb in every other respect. Overall the dealers are also helpful and good.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have ever owned. The BMW 'thing' definitely exists.

Mine is one of the very last E36 3 Series. It was an ex-demonstrator, passed then onto its first owner then me.

The attention to detail and little silly things bring this above any car I have ever owned. It's fantastic to drive at night, the orange glow of the computer, instruments, and climate control makes you feel like you are flying a plane. Also the engine is very smooth and powerful.

The leather is still very fresh and soft, and the paint is still in great shape. So it should be for a £28000 car!!

If you have never driving a BMW it is recommended. Recently test drove a new shape 325ci, that was out of this world. Next year maybe mmmmmm...!

To sum it up, a great ride, driver satisfied, powerful refined superb car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2001

1998 BMW 3 Series i 3.2 gas from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.2 gas Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired400 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carInfiniti G20

Summary:

Honda 'look alike' gets me no chicks!

Faults:

Rear windshield shattered for no apparent reason, car in garage - dealer of no help!

Cheap 'leatherette' interior is uncomfortable and wears badly.

General Comments:

Nice car, but would expect more for the price. The next model year, the car was completely redesigned leaving me with somewhat of an ugly duckling.

Very, very slow car. 6 cylinder performance is disappointing.

Tall drivers beware! You'll shut your head in the door!! gasp!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2001

9th May 2001, 16:38

There is no such 3.2 engine.

The owner surely means his car is a 320i. For E36 performance, try a 328i.

26th Nov 2001, 06:41

There IS a 3.2L engine existing. It's the M Engine with 321HP. But I don't think this review was on a M3... because M3s blow your socks off! I'd like to have one...

4th Mar 2005, 02:23

I don't think this guy knows what hes talking about.

16th Sep 2007, 22:06

He must be in a 320. 328i's run very well for what they are.

14th Nov 2008, 08:38

I drive an M5, so I know what fast is, and the 328i ain't slow even by my standards. I had one until last month - great car, looks good, goes like stink and holds the road well.

1998 BMW 3 Series 318i SE 1.9 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Very average (for the money)

Faults:

Steering rack completely replaced after 8 months.

General Comments:

Well, to pay £20k for this when you can currently pick up a Mondeo new for half the price seems a poor deal. Whilst feeling very solidly put together and with good handling, it still seems as though you're paying 25% for the badge. Still, we all continue to do so (Must keep those Bavarians happy).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th January, 2001

1998 BMW 3 Series 328i SE 2.8 straight six from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.8 straight six Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired520 miles
Most recent distance10200 miles
Previous carJaguar XK8

Summary:

Overall good although a little common. Buy a Jag instead

Faults:

Vibration at the back under hard acceleration (later found to be bad rear supension), puncture, boot lock failed to lock with central locking. Replaced motor under warranty quickly.

General Comments:

First thoughts were disappointing, a little sluggish considering the engine size and fuel consumption. Nice leather interior and build quality. Not as individual as a Jaguar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd June, 2000

1998 BMW 3 Series 318i E46 1.9 petrol from South Africa

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.9 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

There is a rattle from the driver's door window winder. Been in twice -- not fixed.

General Comments:

Magnificent car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2000

1998 BMW 3 Series 318is Coupe Sports Pack 1.9 4 cylinder - 140bhp from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.9 4 cylinder - 140bhp
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Front fidney grills loose on purchase - had to be replaced. Analog clock faulty - replaced - all under warranty.

General Comments:

The best value for money BMW - especially with all the (M3 type) S Pack extras. Fitted Schnitzer lowered suspension - did not make any great improvement in handling but car now looks even sleeker. Black metallic paint hard to keep clean - bird droppings need removing quickly or will damage surface. Car a magnet for vandals - has been scratched once but otherwise is a pleasure to own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 1999

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 33 reviews